5 Minute Freewrite--Hit pause

in Freewriters4 months ago

Find the prompt here: https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@daily.prompt/18-february-2024-mariannewests-freewrite-writing-prompt-day-2286-hit-pause

Hit pause. Hit pause on life, a common theme I return to again and again, a longing, a desire for rest, for unlimited anything I want, but mostly as much sleep as I want, as much time to check every undesired to-do task off my list and leave as much time as I want for anything I want. This is my life and I do get to do what I want. What's that song? That song about, you can't please everyone, so you got to please yourself. I mean, yeah. So we make decisions about what to do or not do, and some people just go through life really not doing anything and I'm not saying that's what I want to do with my life, but I guess I'm just saying, we're all doing the best we can. You know, I hate that anyone gets into the field of childhood education without a core belief that children are doing the best they can. That if they are having a hard time, it means they need help. I am sick of hearing annoyance in the tone of a teacher's voice. A teacher's voice should be understanding and patience. I know I get annoyed sometimes and I know we all have to cut ourselves some slack, too, but well, there's one particular teacher at my kid's school that just seems ill-suited for the job. I haven't really seen enough of her teaching to be able to say that unequivocally, but what I heard her say to another teacher about how she feels about the kids (first graders) and her expectation that they should know better makes me think she knows nothing about child development and I think that's a freaking shame for a teacher to be so ill-equipped to be understanding.