5 Minute Freewrite: sweet and sour

in Freewriterslast month

Find the prompt here: https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@daily.prompt/8-may-2024-mariannewests-freewrite-writing-prompt-day-2366-sweet-and-sour

Sweet and sour

Sweet and sour. One of my favorite dishes at a Chinese restaurant, the sweet and sour fake chicken. There was this Chinese restaurant in Everett, or somewhere further south, but not all the way in Seattle, that had really yummy fake meat options. My friend Adam introduced me to it. Adam and I met in the theatre class one of my first quarters at Everett Community College, the class where I met other influential folks...something about a theatre class to bring people together. Adam I thought was kind of cute and fun to hang out it. Angie became my best friend, for awhile, or at least she considered me her best friend, and I felt like I was some kind of image to her. Renee, who became our roommate some time later. But anyway, Adam and I stayed friends for at least one more quarter, during which we both took tennis. I liked hanging out with Adam, but I found him annoying at the same time. He talked about himself and his issues a lot. He had a really cool car, though, like some kind of vintage car, and one time I rode with him in some vintage car thing in Everett. And I really liked the way he and his car smelled. But I remember one time going to that Chinese restaurant with him...or rather, I journaled about going to that Chinese restaurant with him and how annoyed I was with him about complaining about his life and being morose the entire time we were eating out. I was so bored by his problems, which didn't really seem like problems. So I guess I wasn't the best friend to him, considering my lack of sympathy. Let's see, other things I remember about Adam. He had a twin, not identical. His last name was Seal. He lived in that part of south Everett on the other side of the freeway from the Everett Mall. He was a Christian. That's about it. I guess we just lost touch after taking tennis together.