Beyond The Looking Glass - Words of the Unseen - Chapter 14

in Freewriters28 days ago (edited)

Beyond the looking glass.jpg


𝓦𝓸𝓻𝓭 𝓫𝔂 𝓽𝓱𝓮 𝓪𝓾𝓽𝓱𝓸𝓻

Beyond The Looking Glass is the second book in the Unseen series, a story that came to me from the other side. A story where I thought I was just the narrator until I heard the Words of the Unseen.

This second story goes beyond time and place and mixes the long ago with the here and now. Because history keeps repeating, until we learn and do something about it.

Click Back Button to Start At The Beginning

previous-145675_640 (1).png


Beyond The Looking Glass - Words of the Unseen - Chapter 14

Dear Reader, there are things we do not talk about?

That does not mean that they are not real, or that they only happen to you.

Nor does it mean that your perception is not normal, perception is shaped by the world surrounding you, your frame of reference.

That framework is based on the average of the narrow-mindedness that surrounds us, can you imagine how flawed it is therefore?

2154993 (1).png

Sei doesn't say more than necessary, although I occasionally get the feeling that there is much more bubbling beneath her surface. I wouldn't be surprised if one day it erupts like the volcano we are heading toward.

For the time being, however, I don't even see a cloud of smoke. I may be completely wrong, it wouldn't be the first time either.

When we arrive at the edge of Retsj's forest I have to swallow twice, I can still see him walking into this meadow with those long strides and fixed gaze, leaving his domain behind him, knowing that he would never return

With the same rapid steps, I now enter his forest again, to me this remains his kingdom.

How simple and narrow-minded I was back then, how could my view of the world have changed so much?

Until I left my village it had always been the center of my universe. When I was confronted with those hunting Retsj, they were the first group of people I met that was not from my village.

Something I experienced as very threatening at the time. I laugh at my own country bumpkin mentality, what a limited worldview I brought with me on this journey.

Now that I have seen hundreds of villages and a few towns, it might be impossible to feel at peace with the elders of our tribe, those who probably still prefer life in isolation above all else.

Somehow I understand them, their last real contact with other people had been with the Krotan Dua. Probably in times when villages were not yet connected as they are now. But I have lost my fear of outsiders forever, "It will be difficult to adapt again soon," I say out loud.

“My tribe is quite private, you know.”

Sei nods, "I know, and there's nothing wrong with that."

After those words, she speeds up her pace slightly. I continue to be amazed at how she can create magic with just a few words.

I had hoped to be out of the forest within a day, but that is quite impossible on foot. It meant I should start looking for the ruins where I had previously stayed with my companions.

I am in luck, sometimes things are where you leave them, is what I think when I see the collapsed roof a bit uphill.

The ruin hides most of the flames from our little fire and as the nights still get pretty cold.

As I stare into the flames I hear a voice, coming from afar again, although I am pretty sure I am awake.

"Martio," it´s like a whisper.

"Yes, you old .....man," and then a giggle.

I look up from my dreamy absence, Sei is sitting against the other wall, the fire between us. She also seems absent.

_dee3c265-889d-4be8-9867-e6a292dab33e.jfif

"Did you hear something?" I ask softly, trying not to say what I thought and heard.

She looks up, and her face is almost angry. As if I'm disturbing her while she's peeing, "No, nothing," she sounds snappy and turns her eyes back to the fire.

Then it starts again, "You shouldn't have done that, old man, now she'll think you're crazy. Maybe she´s right, maybe you're crazy."

"A little too much tea maybe, a little too little oxygen to the leftovers of your brain. None of this may be real." Again I hear something in the background that sounds like an ominous giggling far away from where the sound is coming from.

I shake my head and rub my hand over my face, then I put the saddle under my head and try to get some sleep.

Old Man..... What does she mean?
Previously I was the traveler, that I understand.
But old man?

The worst part is that recently I started to feel old next to Cabilah and Kreytuu during their honeymoon.

And it was even worse when I was alone with Sion and Numico.

Compared to them I was indeed an older man, even next to Dadrie I was old.

Lady Kyra was the only one with whom I didn't feel the need to compete with a younger generation, even though we were still a few summers apart.

But old man, I wasn't...not yet, right?


Click The Next Button for The Next Chapter

forward-145679_640 (1).png


Click Back Button to Start with Book One

previous-145675_640 (1).png


Thank goodness you made it till the end Pees, Love and I am out of here!


The Closure A Personal Story With A Soundtrack:
Personal Story With A Soundtrack - A New Adventure - Part 1
Personal Story With A Soundtrack - A New Adventure - Part 2


The Closure - Greatest Hits For A Never-Ending Story:
Greatest Hits From My Book "Beyond Doubt: Whispers of the Unseen"

The Closure - Alice in ArtWorkLand:
ALICE In AI ArtWorkLand - A Crazy Man´s Revelations



[Source Pic](All pics by MYI & AI unless watermarked or mentioned)