Cormancer, the King's Sorcerer Part Three

Cormancer flew over the Delannes River on his elephant-sized raven, and landed in a forest that was unlike anywhere else on Earth.

He looked around, smiling. "I never tire of the beauty of the Diamond Forest. The rainbow trees and glowing mushrooms are as exquisite as they are magical," he whispered.

He patted the raven, then unfastened his harness. "Please stay close by, but don't land unless I call."

A soft voice immediately filled his mind, coming from everywhere and yet nowhere. "You have not requested an invitation, Cormancer. According to Fae law, your life is forfeit. Explain yourself."

Cormancer bowed. "My deepest apologies, Guardian. I am here to inform King Vale and Queen Orchid of a traitor in my lands. This man has plotted to cause a war between the Fae and the humans under King Lowell's rule."

The air in front of Cormancer shimmered, as if in waves of heat. A dragon whose size made the mighty rainbow trees seem like saplings appeared in front of him.

The dragon arched his neck, looking down at the sorcerer. "I will take you to the palace. What happens next will be decided by my king and queen."

Cormancer nodded. "I thank you, Guardian."

The dragon casually wrapped his tail around Cormancer, and tossed him on his back. With a few flaps of his powerful wings, he launched himself in the air.

Cormancer grimaced. "Guardian, may we please take the slow route? In recent years my old bones ache every time I timewrap."

The dragon huffed. "Call me Cyan. And no, we can't take the slow route. If what you said is true, I must get you to the palace as soon as possible."

Cormancer sighed. "It is urgent Cyan, but there is enough time. I just left King Lowell, and he wants to meet with His Majesty and Her Highness."

Cyan growled a deep, rumbling laugh. "Faster is still better. Hang on!"

A sudden change in air pressure was accompanied by wind and a high pitched squeal.

Cormancer scowled. "I hate that sound. It's like a legion of piglets at feeding time."

Cyan began to chant as he flew ever higher. Then he roared, and what had been blue sky turned black. They flew into it, and instantly up became down.

The black resolved back into day, and the intense pressure eased. Below was the Fae palace.

Cormancer groaned, and held his back. "This wasn't necessary."

Cyan chuckled. "Old man, the day you become frail is the day I become a baby sparrow."

Cormancer and the dragon flew into the courtyard. Before the sorcerer could climb down, another dragon slammed into them, hard.



To be continued!



Describe what you see:
I see a dragon in a magical forest. It's a beautiful place!

Describe what you feel:
I feel like the dragon belongs there. Maybe he's a guardian of the forest.

#pic1000

Participation link
Image source by @wakeupkitty

Sort:  

A magical tale!

Thanks so much, I'm glad you are enjoying it :) The next part will be soon ♥️

It's a delight to read you again. Cyan has humour 😁

Thanks :) Yeah, the Fae are never boring!

!LUV

freewritehouse, wrestlingdesires sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.