I cry and sleep

in Freewriters17 days ago

One of the cruelest things written in Algerian literature
My sister and I slept hungry most of our childhood. My mother would lie to us. So she says, Count the stars and we will have bread... a lot of bread!
Every time we got tired of counting and fell asleep.
This is how we kept our heads held high even when we were starving!
My little sister died with her eyes fixed on the sky. My mother told me that she had finished counting!
They gave us a lot of bread on the day of her funeral. We ate until we were full and fell asleep, but my sister never came home. I missed her every day so we could play together.
-Mother, tell them to go back to my sister and take their bread. I'll count in her place and they'll take me. But they refused and my sister did not return!
She didn't come back and I still miscounted today..
One
two
my sister
four
I cry and sleep..

Sort:  

This is heart wrenching. That brother will forever miss his sister no matter the years that go by.

It's really painful