You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Listen to Posts with the New TEXT TO SPEECH Feature

in About PeakDlast year

Notes: in both Firefox and Edge, the TTS voice said, "asterisk," when it found Markdown code for italics at the start and end of my latest post where I am quoting some song lyrics. I added a '>' to make it into a quotation, and that eliminated the first TTS glitch, but it still recited "asterisk" at the end of that section. This seems to occur only for a block of italicized text, though, not for short words or phrases where it adds emphasis in a larger sentence. Hopefully that makes sense somehow. Maybe I need to adjust my own aesthetic sensibilities here to accommodate the robot.

Sort:  
 last year  

Thanks for reporting. I'll see if I can improve it to skip those characters 👍

I know stomping bugs is a pain. Overall, the feature is solid so far. Not bad at all for a mere beta release!

 last year  

Found a way to improve the parser to detect more of those special characters. Please refresh the website and give it another try 👍

Tested without refreshing, it repeated the "asterisk." Refreshed the page, and it didn't. Seems like a success to me!

EDIT: I also removed the quotation angle bracket and it properly read the lines without mentioning either asterisk.

 last year  

Nice, let me know if you find other glitches that we can work on 🙏