Czech Republic 2#: John Lennon's Wall and Prague Castle [ENG-ESP]

in Worldmappin10 months ago (edited)

Hi! Continuing with my trip around Prague, on the second day I went for a walk and took some pictures, so I can tell you a little bit about my tour.

If you didn't read the previous post about the historical center of Prague, you can read it here.

Walking away from the Charles Bridge, I found some works on display, made with fruits.

¡Hola! Continuando con mi viaje por Praga, el segundo día me fui a dar un paseo y a tomar algunas fotos, así puedo comentaros un poco mi recorrido.

Si no leíste el post previo sobre el centro histórico de Praga, puedes leerlo
aquí
Walking away from Charles Bridge, I found a leprechaun.

Alejándome del puente de Carlos, encontré un leprechaun

20190926_110013_HDR.jpg

I continued walking in the direction of the famous John Lennon wall, in the Malá Strana neighborhood. Before reaching it, there is a bar with the same name that shows the measure of how far the water reached when the river was rising. Next to it, there was a wall full of graffiti dedicated to John Lennon, love, freedom and peace in general. It is a living mural, because people are painting on it and it is always being renewed.

When the singer was assassinated in 1980, the young people of Prague painted this mural, which is still maintained to this day. The messages of John Lennon's songs were deeply felt by the people of this city, because of their subject matter. Since at this time they still lived in a communist Czechoslovakia where there was not the freedom that there is today.

Continué caminando en dirección al famoso muro de John Lennon, en el barrio de Malá Strana. Antes de llegar a éste, hay un bar con el mismo nombre que recoge la medida de hasta dónde llego el agua cuando el río crecía. Junto a él, estaba el muro lleno de Graffitis dedicados a John Lennon, al amor, a la libertad y a la paz en general. Es un mural vivo, porque la gente va pintando sobre él y siempre se va renovando.

Cuando el cantante fue asesinado en el año 1980, los jóvenes de Praga pintaron este mural que se sigue manteniendo a día de hoy. Los mensajes de las canciones de John Lennon calaron en la población de esta ciudad, por su temática. Ya que en esta época todavía se vivía en una Checoeslovaquia comunista donde no había la libertad que hay hoy en día.

20190926_105828.jpg

20190926_105814.jpg

20190926_110347.jpg

20190926_110651.jpg
I made my way to the Prague castle, although before that I passed by a brief open-air exhibition of photographs of the fall of the Berlin Wall, and also by some monuments or buildings that stood out for their architecture, the drawings on their exterior walls. I also photographed a very nice tree.

Me encaminé hacia el castillo de Praga, aunque antes de ello pasé por una breve exposición al aire libre de fotografías de la caída del muro de Berlín, y también por algunos monumentos o edificios que destacaban por su arquitectura, los dibujos de sus paredes exteriores. También fotografíe un árbol muy bonito.

20190926_113934_HDR.jpg

20190926_114004.jpg

20190926_114628.jpg

20190926_115819.jpg

20190926_115533.jpg
And finally we had the Prague castle in front of us. The best way to photograph it was from the viewpoint, because once inside the enclosure, with so many people, and the tall buildings it would be difficult to take the whole picture with my cell phone camera.

Y por fin teníamos delante el castillo de Praga. La mejor forma de fotografiarlo era desde el mirador, porque una vez dentro del recinto, con tanta gente, y los edificios tan altos sería complicado sacarlo entero con la cámara de mi móvil.

20190926_120137_HDR.jpg

I have to say that I only toured the castle grounds, but I did not enter the castle or the cathedral of St. Vitus. I only saw it from the outside. This was the entrance, which led us to some stately buildings.

He de decir que sólo recorrí el recinto del castillo, pero no entré en él ni en la catedral de San vito. Sólo lo vi por fuera. Esta fue la entrada, que nos llevaba a algunos edificios señoriales.

image.png

image.png

20190926_121822_HDR.jpg

What is striking about this medieval door is that instead of being written "anno" as it should be in Latin, it is written "ano" missing an N and it's funny, because ano in Spanish means ass 😁.

De esta puerta medieval, lo que llama la atención es que en lugar de estar escrito "anno" como debería de ser en latín, está escrito "ano" le faltó una N y es gracioso, porque ano en español significa culo 😁.

20190926_121835.jpg

And here we have the majestic cathedral.

Y aquí tenemos la majestuosa catedral.

20190926_124356.jpg

20190926_123838.jpg

20190926_130436_HDR.jpg

Currently, the president of the country resides in this building. It was formerly the seat of the kings of Bohemia.

Actualmente dentro de este recinto reside el presidente del país. Antiguamente fue la sede de los reyes de Bohemia.

20190926_130450_HDR.jpg

Nearby was the alley of gold, which was where those who protected the castle resided.

Por aquí cerca estaba el callejón del oro, que era donde residían los que protegían al castillo.

20190926_131004.jpg

20190926_130726_HDR.jpg

I made my way down the alley and out to another lookout.

Me encaminé por el callejón y salí a otro mirador.

20190926_131757.jpg

20190926_133157_HDR.jpg

When I left there, after all the walking I had done that day, I went to eat and rest. I went to a place called Mlejnice, in Staré Mêsto. There I ordered a garlic soup, and for the second course I had some pork with bread dumplings and sauerkraut. Of course, accompanied by a good beer.

Al salir de allí, después de todo lo que llevaba caminado de ese día, me fui a comer y a descansar. Me acerqué a un lugar llamado Mlejnice, en Staré Mêsto. Allí me pedí una sopa de ajo, y de segundo un poco de cerdo con dumplings de pan, y chukrut. Por supuesto, acompañado de una buena cerveza.

20190926_140826.jpg

20190926_140708.jpg

I say goodbye with a photo of Charles Bridge seen from the river banks, with its ducks and swans.

Me despido con una foto del puente de Carlos visto desde las orillas del río, con sus patos y cisnes.

20190926_150327.jpg

20190926_150439_HDR.jpg


All photos have been taken by me, with my then LG Q60 cell phone. The text is 100% of my authorship

Todas las fotos han sido tomadas por mí, con mi entonces móvil LG Q60. El texto es 100% de mi autoría


Other trips in Czech Republic


Otros viajes por República Checa



My social networks/Mis redes sociales:
Writer Instagram | Travel Instagram | Twitter | Facebook| Linktree

Sort:  

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1962.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

thanks ! ❤️

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @ayneblood! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 3
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2

I visited Prague twice and I hope I can visit it another time, Prague it's really a charming city with a special atmosphere ❤️

Yes, it is. Thank you very much for commenting !😄

Maravilloso recorrido el que hemos vividos a través de tus fotografías y tus textos. Simplemente sublime el paisaje de Praga, sus estructuras arquitectónicas . Indudablemente, un lugar que hay que visitar. Saludos, @ayneblood

Tu post ha sido votado por @celf.magazine, proyecto curatorial y revista digital sobre arte y cultura en Hive. Únete a nuestra comunidad y comparte tu talento con nosotros.
Your post has been voted by @celf.magazine, curatorial project and digital magazine about art and culture in Hive. Join our community and share your talent with us.



Muchas gracias!❤️

Wait! You were to my hometown and hadn’t told me you’re coming? Shame on you! I could have taken you to the best places!

haha no, I was there in 2019, I still didn't have Hive so sometimes I'm rescuing photos from my trips to create posts. And I alternate recent trips like the one I posted today, with others from a bit longer ago. When you come to Spain let me know! In Prague I was with two friends, Jana and Petr who also took me to good places and good beers. They haven't come to visit me in Spain yet, but I hope they will soon. 😄