Little Presque Isle Park: A #wednesdaywalk

in Pinmapple10 months ago

20230711_113158.jpg


Believe it or not, I am still working through content from the first vacation I took this summer. I'm actually writing this post while I am on my second vacation of the summer. One thing I can say is that Michigan makes it very easy to come up with amazing photos for posts. It's almost like this state was made to be shared on Hive.

For this weeks #wednesdaywalk post sponsored by @tattoodjay, I was going to share one of my recent trips to the disc golf course, but instead I decided to change gears and I am going to share a trip we recently took to Little Presque Isle Park just a little bit up the coast from Sugarloaf.

Not to be confused with Presque Isle Park that I wrote about earlier this week, Little Presque Isle is a little smaller in stature, but not so much in beauty as you can see from the opening photo.

20230712_123425.jpg


It's actually a funny story how we made out way to Little Presque Isle. We were standing on the top of Sugarloaf Mountain and @mrsbozz said "I wonder how you get to that beach over there." Since we were on top of a mountain, we had pretty great cell service, so I pulled up Google Maps on my phone and plotted a course.

That took us down a road like the one above, and then another more bumpy road until we finally found a parking lot.

20230711_112601.jpg


That parking lot sits on the edge of a pine grove like this one and then if you look really hard just beyond the grove, you can see the shores of Lake Superior.

20230711_112638.jpg


As you can see from these shots my wife took, my nephew was pretty enthralled with the forest. I have to admit, it was quite impressive. I always love the way the lower portions of the trees become bare where the light has trouble reaching them.

That being said, the small peaks of sunshine through the trees were pretty amazing.

20230711_112653.jpg


I was taking care of some stuff on my truck, but I eventually caught up with @mrsbozz and my nephew and we continued our walk down to the shoreline.

20230711_112716.jpg


Not before grabbing a few more shots before we got there.

20230711_112720.jpg


Oh, and let's not forger my nephew feeling the need to play daredevil on one of the fall trees in the forest.

IMG20230711113327.jpg


Once we got there the view was absolutely amazing and the short walk was more than worth the view. I mean just look at this!

20230711_113108.jpg


Of course we needed to have a rock skipping contest and then we had to stand and look at the water and say "aaaah" while contemplating the deep and complex mysteries of the universe.

20230711_113139.jpg


We even took our shoes off and took a photo with our toes in Lake Superior, after all, what do you use for a #wednesdaywalk besides your feet?

20230711_113434.jpg


Let me give you some facts about Lake Superior while I am talking about it.

You can find these facts and more at this site

  • Lake Superior is the largest freshwater lake (by surface area) in the world and it holds 10% of the worlds fresh water.

  • The average depth of Lake Superior is 147 meters with a maximum depth of 407 meters.

  • All the water from the other great lakes plus three Lake Erie's can fit in Lake Superior

  • The shoreline of Lake Superior is 4385 Km long.

  • Lake Superior is the coldest of the Great Lakes with an average temperature of 2 to 4 degrees C.

Needless to say, we didn't keep our feet in the water for very long!

IMG20230711113559.jpg


I was trying to do some research to see if you can walk across the distance between the shore and Little Presque Isle. I'd love to try it one day. Looking back, we should have walked down the shore to check it out. We didn't have a lot of time though.

I have read that there are a couple of walking trails on the island, so it would be really cool to check it out sometime.

IMG20230711113240.jpg


It was a really great vacation, but I have to admit, this was one of my favorite parts of the whole trip. I think because it was just something spontaneous that we decided to do on the spur of the moment. Needless to say @mrsbozz loved finding out how you get to that beach!

IMG20230711114115.jpg


I have to admit, the walk back to the truck was a little bittersweet. It's kind of hard to be sad when you are in the woods though. There is just something really peaceful about it. There were so few people at this park that I could have stayed here all day and really had a great time. The wind made it a bit chilly though.

I hope you enjoyed this #wednesdaywalk, if you ever get the chance to check out this part of the country, I highly recommend it!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

Sort:  

Wow, I love the pictures. This place looks wonderful. Thanks for sharing with us ☺️

It was pretty pristine! I can't wait to get back up there again sometime.

It's a very beautiful beach and yeah, I do admit that taking pictures of your toes is just about right for #wednesdaywalk. In the meantime, that view is more or less perfect. I doubt I'd do any better than your nephew and just gawk at the awesome forest.

No kidding right. It was absolutely breathtaking. I am missing it already.

A lot of my friends love to go to Michigan and I always wonder why they love to go there so much...
The pictures here explains it all...
Enjoy summer!

It's amazing. What part of Michigan do they usually go to?

Walking through the forest is a magical experience that often leads to discovering something truly magnificent. Nature has a way of surprising us with its beauty and wonders.

Yes it does!

It's a very beautiful beach, the natural scenery there also looks still well maintained

Hello, how are you, I really like your content, I'm new to hive from Venezuela, I'll take notes on your content because it's very interesting! I hope you also like my first post and support me.

Thank you!

That is beautiful scenery! The forest and Lake Superior right at the edge of the forest. What a great vacation! I certainly wouldn't want to swim in that cold water though!

The kids have done it once or twice. I am sure I did when I was a kid too. They are pretty resilient. Just putting my toes in was enough to give me a chill!

Lovely little trip and a nice beach to go with the amazing walking trails. That seems like one heck of a nice relaxing day we all need to take.

Yeah, it was absolutely amazing!

WOW love this walk post such beauty there from the amazing forest to the beautiful shoreline, how could one not walk bare feet on the sand and in the water they say it is very healthy

!PIMP

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk


You must be killin' it out here!
@tattoodjay just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @bozz.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Yes, it was one of the highlights of our trip! Thanks for stopping by!

It does look breathtaking, but 2 - 4 degrees ... ouch!

Yeah, it's nuts!

Amazing looking beach. Your photos are very well blogged if i can express myself that way. Just WOW! :)

Thank you !

Those are some serious facts about the lake... 10% of the world Fresh waters...... Wow , great pictures !!

Yeah, it is quite an amazing body of water. Nothing to be trifled with especially in the winter.

A place where the forest meets the sea shore.

Gorgeous! There is nothing quite like it, in my opinion! The parks, the shores of the Great Lakes and the feeling that you have it all to yourself.

Why is it so perfect? I could never guess, but, I wouldn't complain either. Tell @mrsbozz that the pictures are awesome!! Love the one of all of your toes!

The beach is very beautiful and I love the amazing pictures, wish to be there

Thank you!

wow what an amazing sight i enjoyed it 😍

I'm glad you did!

Love the pictures. Thank you for sharing. Wish i would get to visit this wonderful place sometime.

If you get the chance, you totally should!

Los árboles del bosque sorprendentes todo hermoso.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Que bonitas fotos y que linda experiencia 😌

Beautiful photos! Looking at these makes me want to hop into the car right now and drive 4 hours north.

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 52000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 54000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 7
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 6
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 5

!LOL

My neighbors listen to really good music.
Whether they like it or not.

Credit: reddit
@bozz, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of gameexp

(4/6)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

Que playa tan inmensamente bella la de la primera foto parece de ensueño.

Los árboles del bosque sorprendentes todo hermoso.

!LOL

Why can’t you trust an atom?
Because they make up literally everything.

Credit: marshmellowman
@bozz, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of phillarecette

(5/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM