Travel Journal ~ Exploring Los Padres National Forest

in Pinmapple14 days ago (edited)

From family reunions to dinners with friends it is easy to feel overwhelmed by the sudden increase in socializing when I leave the shelter of my hermit-y home. Escaping into nature to re-charge is so necessary to my mental health and a key part of getting through these trips feeling appreciative of visits to my homelands of California.

Yesterday my mom, sister, and a family friend decided to explore some trails in one of my favorite national forests. Los Padres is a huge area of protected land. Some sections are quite remote with picturesque peaks and dense forests. Other trails can be easily accessed right outside of the town of Ojai. So, while some of our group wanted to do some shopping we strolled along these beautiful paths through the vibrantly green hills.

Having grown up in Northern California I still associate the state with the years of drought I remember from my childhood. But, after a few years of consistent rain I am glad to see the mountains, hills, and forests lush with green and flowers and returning to the abundance that this landscape is known for.

Rain from winter and spring run through the streams and we stopped to enjoy the shade and humidity. I washed my face in this stream in particular and may even return to bottle up a bit of this enchanted water for some abundance working to take with my to wherever I will go next.

As we walked my mom noticed that the elder flowers are in full bloom. These particular flowers we simply admired but will certainly be harvesting lots of them when we get to her garden in Northern California in just a few days.