the sand dunes that took my breath away.

in Worldmappinlast year

This is a continuation of my last post, on day 1, we traveled 466 km by land to Ilocos Sur, Philippines. This time, we traveled some 165 km from Ilocos Sur to Ilocos Norte. On Day 2, we dropped by so many destinations, that I think one of them deserves a post of its own. You can consider this post a Part 1 of 2. 😆

Some notes before I start my oversharing: We took so many photos of ourselves, that it's pretty impossible not to share them. However, I am uncomfortable showing our faces, so I had to blur them. Please bear with it!

20221219_090327-01.jpeg

how it started

We had a wonderful stay in our B&B for Day 1 in Ilocos Sur. It just happened that... we realized that only one of us (out of 20) actually brought a toothpaste. To be fair, I seriously thought that Aunt T would haul in the tons of toothpastes she actually brought home from Dubai. It turned out that we collectively thought the same, but it didn't seem to be the case. 😅 We ended up having to queue for the sole toothpaste we had as early as 3:00, because we were leaving for our destinations at 5:30.

📍 Paoay, Ilocos Norte

20221219_075152-01.jpeg

san agustin church in paoay, ilocos norte

Compared to La Union and Ilocos Sur, Ilocos Norte was decidedly much colder. As soon as we alighted our cars in the San Agustin Church, it was pretty obvious I would be needing a jacket. I was wearing shorts and a school t-shirt only, with only slippers on my feet, too! You bet I was shaking.

Because of my outfit, I felt uncomfortable entering the church. I didn't really know that our first stop was a church, though, so I cut myself some slack. 😅 I ended up spending some time outside, just enjoying the view of the old church's face and the rows upon rows of white bougainvillea ledges at the front.

then some adventure.

Soon enough, we left Paoay to find some place to have breakfast. We didn't really like the options we found, so we ended up going to our next destination instead:

📍 Bacsil Onse Reef Sand Dunes, Paoay, Ilocos Norte

The thing is, this was another one of those suprise destinations. I didn't really know what to expect, but when I heard sand dunes, I thought we were going to ride an ATV!

Oh, boy, I was reminded of that one time I rode an ATV in Albay in the Bicol Region, crossing rocky terrain and even creeks! I was hoping that it was the same case here, except it will be on sand dunes.

image.png

I was kind of disappointed that it was going to be on a 4x4 off-road car driven by a professional. Who would have thought I'm someone who would look for risks. 😆

But! I actually had so much fun! When we started riding, I realized that the reason why it wasn't ATV was because it was going to be pretty dangerous. Some of the dunes were pretty steep... but that definitely didn't stop our (decidedly) playful guides to drive us through them. I seriously thought I would lose voice simply from shouting.

20221219_091213-01.jpeg

Many times, it felt like the car was about to flip over to the point that we would tumble to our deaths. Thankfully, that wasn't the case. There was a pair of guide for each 4x4. One of them drove, the other took videos. I would have shared the videos here, but there were parts that showed our funny faces that got blown by strong winds, that I thought, "Nope. Won't show it to the world!"

20221219_090910-01.jpeg

20221219_091109-01.jpeg

The guides led us to the seasides, and it was beautiful! There, the wind literally shook and blew me away. But it was worth it! The view was worth the jumpy 4x4 ride. Naturally, we took the opportunity to also just take so many pictures.

Kudos to our Kuya Guide for handling my beloved phone so carefully despite the intensity of the ride, and taking rather good pictures, too!

on our way back, we indulged our inner child

When we were kids, my cousins and I would walk our way to this coconut plantation just at the back of our homes. There were many slopes of earth on there, were we would slide in using fallen and dried coconut leaf stalks.

It was such a precious childhood memory that I didn't think this was a... tourist thing.

20230211_132709.gif

Here's me indulging on my inner child. It was pretty steep, but nothing I couldn't handle. 😎 Kidding. My cousins (who I used to play this with!) were surprisingly scared of it. It took us a lot of convincing before they actually decided to go with it. (And together on one board, too! Now that's up to you to imagine. 😅)

I honestly would have gone another round, except for the fact that it was very challenging to go back up. It was starting to get really hot and the tires they placed to serve as makeshift stairs didn't really help all that much. Despite that, I had really fun here!

so we need to move on.

"We need to leave soon," said one of my cousins. I got pretty sad, because I wanted to stay longer and maybe ride again, but it was what it was. We had many other destinations to go to, and he promised it was going to be better.

Needless to say, I held onto that promise. And that's going to be a post for another time.

Sort:  

What a fun and great adventure. Ganda talaga sa ilocos

it was! 💕 and yes, ang ganda nga ng ilocos. di ko alam anong ieexpect ko nung umpisa, pero definitely would love to go back someday!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1787.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Now that looks like an awesome adventure!!

it definitely was! ✨️

Nakakatuwa naman kayo tingnan. ☺️
Gusto ko rin mka experience ng ganyang adventure with family and friends. Ilocos is one of the most beautiful places to visit. ☺️

thank youuu! 🥺 bilang taong-bahay, muntik na akong hindi sumama sa family trip hahaha. so glad i went with them!

Ilocos is one of the most beautiful places to visit. ☺️

so true; i initially didn't know what to expect. it certainly went above and beyond expectations. 💕

You're welcome. ☺️

find some place to have breakfast. We didn't really like the options we found,

Baka naman naghahanap kayo ng Lomi overload? Bakit ang hirap nyo pasayahin?!😂

LOL sa toothpaste.

ang lala nung toothpaste dahil paniwalang paniwala si ate tess na may at least isang makakaisip na magdala ng ilang kahong toothpaste. eh pano yon, lahat kami ganon ang inisip. 🥴

syempre dadayo na lang sa malayo, yung kakaiba namang food trip ang nais. wag naman silog 🥲

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @erang! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Valentine's Day Challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!