National Museum of Anthropology of the Philippines | Let's Unearth Treasures Together!

in Pinmapple23 days ago

✨ Hello, friends! ✨


We made our way into the National Museum of Anthropology of the Philippines even though the sun was beating us down. I felt my sunscreen with 50 +++ SPF was fading away, feeling the trickles of sweat beads on my back. It was uncomfortable but we were determined to expose ourselves to the world of art and history.

54museumofanthro.jpg

53museumofanthro.jpg

We reached the entrance of the museum and were relieved by the cool breeze of the air conditioner. Before entering the room exhibits, we were asked to leave an ID. Luckily, my friend always carries his ID. For groups, one ID will suffice.

4museumofanthro.jpg
5museumofanthro.jpg

If you happen to bring a big bag, you can surrender it at the baggage counter and they will give you a number tag. Small bags and purses are fine to carry.

1museumofanthro.jpg

2museumofanthro.jpg

52museumofanthro.jpg


The Balete Tree

The first art that caught our attention was this big, blue craftwork installation made of plastic water containers. From afar, it looks like a tree because of its shape. It resembles a Balete tree, a popular subject for horror movies in the Philippines. 😱 People, specifically elders, believe that this tree is where elementals dwell, and so, people try to avoid looking at or even passing by this tree. 🤯

7museumofanthro.jpg

We investigated more by looking at the inside, and wow! The sun rays passing through the plastic containers were giving a soft blue filter. It gave hues of blue and green as if you were inside an aquarium. We got closer to seeing more of the details of the work and imagined how the artist came up with this idea. Very cool! 🤩✨

11museumofanthro.jpg

12museumofanthro.jpg

10museumofanthro.jpg


Bird Art

8museumofanthro.jpg

Another piece of art on the right is a bird figure made of plastic. We cannot go further closer as it was hung up.😅 I am not sure what material those were, but it seemed like a shredded plastic bottle resembling the bird's feathers. The colors were beautifully arranged, evidently when touched by the light.

9museumofanthro.jpg


The elegant Stairs and Hallways of the Museum

33museumofanthro.jpg

The museum’s hallway was quiet and dimmed with warm lights. If I can describe the smell, I can say it smelled like old paper. 😄 Polished and clean floors. Not a single hair strand can be seen. I can say that this museum is well taken care of. The stairs were too elegant not to take a picture. It was an elegant and timeless design. Even the stairs are art, right? 😁

14museumofanthro.jpg

34museumofanthro.jpg


Jars and Cooking Pots Artifacts

Entering the room of pottery artifacts surrounding the history of clay pots and earthenware. "Palayok" in English means pot. These jars have different stories to tell such as their origin, uses, and even how it was retrieved. These items were as far back as 4,000 years ago. Just cool. 🤩

21museumofanthro.jpg

17museumofanthro.jpg

For example, the rectangular-shaped earthenware was used as a coffin. The particular shape of the clay coffin has a cultural significance as it was believed that the shape makes the dead comfortably journey to the next life.

25museumofanthro.jpg

19museumofanthro.jpg

29museumofanthro.jpg

27museumofanthro.jpg

24museumofanthro.jpg


Footed Vessel, Stoneware Saucer, Spouted Earthenware Vessel

This was my first time encountering a foot vessel. I never heard that this was used, perhaps widely used back thousands of years ago. Based on what I have read, this vessel elevates the foot for it to rest. Aside from functionality, it also symbolizes the connection of the ground.

30museumofanthro.jpg
The earthenwares have different shapes and functions for everyday use way back when our ancestors were still hunting for food. I can just imagine how resilient these are as they survived up to this day. Each piece gave a peek of what the kitchen looked like back then. So what's the counterpart of modern Tupperware? Hehehe. 😆


China Porcelain

32museumofanthro.jpg

Here, I encountered a different ware. It is a blue and white small plate from China. The Philippines and China have a long history of connection and trade. These chinaware were transported and scattered throughout the country during the Ming Dynasty. It was also used by our ancestors for food preservation, storing water, and other uses. I wonder what is written in Chinese characters. 🤔


Wooden Dolls and Anitos

35museumofanthro.jpg

I believe these are “Anitos”. These wooden dolls are believed to be inhabited by spirits, which is called Anitos. Up to this day, some people carry one for protection and guidance. Others, for attraction and blessing.

As I stare at the small wooden craft, I imagine stories in my head. For the wooden horse, I thought of the tikbalangs, a mythical creature in a humanoid shape. The tikbalangs are known to victimize travelers by confusing their routes.

On the other hand, a wooden craft of two people back to back. I think they are arguing or making a telepathy. I wonder what was the inspiration behind this. Maybe one of them burned the rice and gave each other the silent treatment. 😆

36museumofanthro.jpg


Mixed Media Assemblage

37museumofanthro.jpg

An artist made these dolls representing the Spanish Royal Court and Commoners. The Spanish colonial period stayed on the land for up to 333 years. No wonder why the Philippines is mixed with the Spanish culture in food, art, history, etc. I see this exhibit as an educational artifact representing the fusion of the two cultures.

39museumofanthro.jpg
Spanish Royal Court

41museumofanthro.jpg
Commoners


The Marble hall

I felt like a Disney princess waking in this grand hall. LOL 😂 The picture did not give the best shot to showcase how elegant and sophisticated this room was. But in my head, it screamed a fairytale setup just like the movies. The floor is gleamingly shiny, what a shame to like a shoe mark, haha. 😁

42museumofanthro.jpg

On the walls were the colorful glass windows with an arched frame. Too bad, I did not capture the chandelier here, but my eyes shifted to the hexagonal design of the ceiling. I can imagine the hard work and time poured by the architects and artists on this art.

43museumofanthro.jpg


Living Treasures of the Philippines

45museumofanthro.jpg

Big pictures of renowned artists all over the country. Below the pictures were their stories and mastery of art in any form such as pottery, painting, etc. I felt their dedication to their craft and their willingness to preserve the culture through art.

44museumofanthro.jpg

46museumofanthro.jpg

This room gave me the tap to be reminded of honoring and remembering people who loved art. Weirdly, I felt like I was being watched. Ugh! 😆 Frankly, art in my country is not seen much of value, but through these people I believe someday, lots will understand and embrace it. This would be another topic at some time. 😌


Hand Made Clothing

47museumofanthro.jpg

48museumofanthro.jpg


51museumofanthro.jpg

Leaving the museum gave me a happy heart and enriched wisdom of our culture and heritage.

I learned more about the origin, heritage, and craftsmanship of our ancestors. It felt like a quick teleport to the past which connected me to how the world was used to be. It was quite an art journey for me who is creating art in the form of digital. It inspired me to hold on to my creativity and to my culture. I can’t wait to show another museum discovery! 🥰

Disclaimer: Some parts of the blog might be out of my knowledge or inputted the wrong description. Feel free to educate me. 😊


📸 All photos are owned and taken by me, otherwise credited. ©️jijisaurart

👾 NFT Showroom: nftshowroom.com/jijisaurart
🥰 Open for commissions!!! DM me at Discord! Username: jijisaur

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

This was my first time encountering a foot vessel.

Me too. I think it's too hard to rest their feet. Baka kaya di uso nun yung varicose veins kasi naka elevate yung mga paa nila lagi hahaha

Whhahaha. They haven't discovered compression stockings yet. 🤣

!PIZZA

Grabe ang nice naman jiji!

I have been in this place way back in 2018. It was just a quick visit since my main agenda was at the International Research Congress at DLSU. I hope to be back here once more jie. Amazing!

Wow! Yeah, definitely worth to come back, and also check the National museum just a 3 min walk from here. 😊

!PIZZA

Did you get any inspiration for your next artwork?
Ang cool ng balete tree hehe

Yes, especially the artists 😁 the balete tree is super big! 😊

!PIZZA

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2206.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I felt my sunscreen with 50 +++ SPF was fading away, feeling the trickles of sweat beads on my back.

Travel is life but suncreen is lifer. Eme 😂 ganda naman dyan ate ji! 🤩 ang gagaling nila lalo na doon sa plastic bottles.

Hahah I think I have an addiction with sunscreen lately. It has to stop hahaha

!PIZZA

Sunscreen reveal ji!

untitled.gif

Alam mo ba, may nakita akong girl na kumukuha ng pictures same sa angle kong pano mo kinuhanan ung Balete tree, Bird art ang hallways 🙃

Hahah, many people were taking a picture that day.