St Thomas USVI

in Pinmapple3 months ago

image.png

kayak.com

My day in St Thomas was a bust. I was really excited to visit St Croix for my first time, but a couple of months before the cruise they announced some sort of issue with the port and a change in destination. We stopped in St Thomas at like 6 am which is not conducive to a relaxing cruise stop.

St Thomas history

St Thomas was colonized by the Dutch and was used for producing sugar cane. The United States bought St Thomas along with St Croix and St John in 1917 for $25M.
Interestingly people still drive on the left side of the road even though the United States generally use the right. As an old tour guide in Jamaica once said "the left side is the right side and the right side is the suicide".

How to get there

St Thomas is a BEAUTIFUL island in the Caribbean. You might call it picturesque or idyllic. Roads in the Caribbean are frequently pretty chaotic. The pace on St Thomas is very organized and pristine. I felt safe walking anywhere on the island.

Things to do

St Thomas is known for beautiful beaches.

Magens Bay

image.png

tripadvisor.com

Secret Harbour

image.png

tripadvisor.com

Brewer's Bay

image.png

tripadvisor.com

Why my day was a bust

I set my alarm for 6 am. I got up and wound up in the bathroom for an hour. I had been in Puerto Rico the day before. I don't know if this had anything to do with the local food there or water that I was in. I thought it might be best to lie back down before I ventured off the cruise ship.
I got off the cruise ship a little before 9. I put directions to the scooter rental place that I had picked out and started walking. I had looked the night before and found K's rental. When I put in directions it was a little further from the port than I had expected (almost 2 miles) It was a beautiful day and I was feeling better, so I decided that I would still walk. When I arrived at the address on my iPhone, there was no scooter place. I walked into a nearby restaurant and asked some locals if they knew where it was. They had no idea. I stepped out of the restaurant and called the place. The said that it was downtown and that they were open and that they would text me the address. I received no text. I ended up stopping in a souvenir shop. After taking the souvenirs back to the ship it was lunchtime and I didn't want to cut it too close getting back to the ship, so I didn't venture back out.
Based on the Pinmapple map, the scooter place was probably just around the corner from where I had gone, but oh well.

Other members of my part visited the various beaches that I mentioned and enjoyed it. I think a couple of them hiked across the island to Magens Bay. Some got a scooter to share from a place closer to the ship and some just took a cab everywhere.

I'm still new to the Pinmapple community, this is my fourth Pinmapple post. I do plan to share another post about the last port from my cruise and I'm not sure when I'll next have an opportunity to travel.

I'm sorry to not be using my own photos from this trip. My phone drowned in the Dominican Republic. I plan to make that DR post using photos from online and will plan to use my own photos for subsequent trips.

What sort of information do you like to see included in Pinmapple posts? I’m hoping to keep them fairly short and sweet. What do you think of my format for this post? Any constructive criticism is appreciated, but use your words. Telling me to make my posts better is not helpful without examples and/or descriptive words.

I hope this post has been helpful and informative. Thanks for reading and thanks for all the upvotes, reblogs, comments and follows.

Lastly, I'm hoping that this community will be interactive. I would love to hear your comments and considerations if you happen upon a post about someplace you've lived or visited. I'll try to do the same for you when I stumble onto a post about somewhere I love to visit.

Sort:  

Qué bello es St Thomas, he escuchado mucho que este lugar es conocido por sus hermosas playas. Yo he viajado 4 veces en cruceros por las Islas del caribe, de verdad es algo maravilloso, conocer y pode viajar en un barco durante tatos días y con una atención que generalmente es buena. Gracias por compartir tus fotos, lastima que no la pudiste tomar desde tú teléfono celular pero siempre hay como resolver a pesar de que tu teléfono celular había muerto ahogado en República Dominicana. Saludos amigos y ojalá pronto vuelva otra crucero y puedas dar paseo como este que acabas de dar.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!