Kalimera! Awesome bike trip from Adelianos Kampos to Rethymno on the island of Crete. Pirate ship, riding along the seaside promenade, charming surrounding towns 🇬🇷 / Wycieczka rowerowa na Krecie

in Worldmappin6 months ago

20231016_193116.jpg

20231016_193046.jpg

20231016_193145.jpg

20231016_193109.jpg

I'm passionate about cycling. I ride almost every day, all year round, even in winter. When I went on a trip to Greece, I missed this activity and decided to rent a bike and ride around the area. I noticed a bike rental shop near my hotel. I talked to its employees, looked through the offer and was surprised when I came there the next day and it turned out that there was no one in the rental office. I thought maybe they were on their lunch break, so I went to the beach, swam in the sea for a bit, and returned to the rental place after about an hour. Unfortunately, it was still closed, so I had to look for another one.

Jestem pasjonatką jazdy na rowerze. Jeżdżę prawie codziennie, przez cały rok, nawet zimą. Gdy wyjechałam na wycieczkę do Grecji brakowało mi tej aktywności i postanowiłam wypożyczyć rower i pojeździć po okolicy. Niedaleko mojego hotelu zauważyłam wypożyczalnię rowerów. Pogadałam z jej pracownikami, przejrzałam ofertę i jakież było moje zdziwienie, gdy przyszłam tam następnego dnia i okazało się, że w wypożyczalni nikogo nie było. Pomyślałam, że może wybrali się na przerwę obiadową, poszłam więc na plażę, trochę popływałam w morzu i mniej więcej po godzinie wróciłam do wypożyczalni. Niestety nadal była zamknięta, musiałam więc poszukać innej.

20231016_162359.jpg

Fortunately, I quickly found another rental place, this time it was open. When I went inside, I saw wallpaper covering the entire wall with a view of a Greek tenement house. It looked quite peculiar, but also cool. This rental company had only two bikes to choose from (the previous one had a dozen or so, including electric ones). I quickly chose a pink bike, put my things in the basket and moved forward, towards the larger town of Rethymno.

Na szczęście szybko znalazłam inną wypożyczalnie, tym razem było otwarte. Gdy weszłam do środka zobaczyłam tapetę na całą ścianę z widokiem jakiejś greckiej kamienicy. Wyglądało to dość osobliwie, ale też fajnie. W tej wypożyczalni były tylko dwa rowery do wyboru (w poprzedniej kilkanaście, w tym elektryczne). Szybko wybrałam różowy rower, włożyłam moje rzeczy do koszyka i ruszyłam przed siebie, w stronę większego miasteczka Rethymno.

20231016_162548.jpg

It was very hot, about 30 degrees, and I noticed that drivers in Greece don't pay much attention to passersby. When I wanted to cross the street at a pedestrian crossing, they usually didn't slow down and let me pass. So I had to be careful on the road. As I was driving, my attention was drawn to local pubs and nature. For example, a plant like the one in the next photo below. A huge cactus that looks like a sculpture.

Było bardzo gorąco, około 30 stopni, zauważyłam, że kierowcy w Grecji niezbyt uważają na przechodniów. Gdy chciałam przejść w przez ulicę na przejściu dla pieszych przeważnie nie zwalniali i mnie nie przepuszczali. Musiałam więc być ostrożna na drodze. Gdy jechałam moją uwagę przyciągały lokalne knajpki i przyroda. Na przykład taka roślina jak na kolejnym zdjęciu poniżej. Ogromny kaktus wyglądający jak rzeźba.

20231016_162806.jpg

20231016_163204.jpg

I also passed a lot of chapels and the local Orthodox church. When I'm in my home country I usually follow a familiar route, but here there was so much to discover. Every now and then there's something new, different in appearance from what I'm used to. An ordinary bike ride turned out to be an adventure. I was delighted with what I saw.

Mijałam też sporo kapliczek i lokalny kościół prawosławny. Gdy jestem w Polsce zazwyczaj jeżdżę znajomą mi trasą, a tu było tyle do odkrycia. Co chwila coś nowego, innego z wyglądu do tego, do czego przywykłam. Zwykła przejażdżka rowerowa okazała się przygodą.

20231016_163305.jpg

20231016_163308.jpg

I'm riding a bike and suddenly there's a huge date palm. I envy people living in warmer climates that have such trees by the roadside 😉

Jadę, a tu nagle ogromna palma daktylowa. Zazdroszczę ludziom mieszkającym w cieplejszych klimatycznie miejscach, że mają takie przydrożne drzewa 😉

20231016_171804.jpg

20231016_171828.jpg

20231016_171821.jpg

20231016_163641.jpg

At one point I decided to take my bike to the beach, leave it on the sand and swim for a while. The water was lukewarm, but swimming in it and swinging on the waves in the sea was something amazing. I appreciated that I had this opportunity at all. Refreshing yourself in sea water during a ride in the heat, something wonderful! 😊

W pewnym momencie postanowiłam pojechać z rowerem na plażę, zostawić go na piasku i popływać chwilę. Woda była letnia, ale i tak pływanie w niej, bujanie się na falach w morzu to było coś niesamowitego. Doceniłam, że w ogóle miałam taką możliwość. Orzeźwienia się w morskiej wodzie w trakcie przejażdżki w upale, coś cudownego! 😊

20231016_165835.jpg

20231016_172141.jpg

20231016_172413.jpg

20231016_184551.jpg

The best part of the trip was riding the bike path by the sea in Rethymno. I happened to see the sunset, in interesting colors: purple, orange and pink. It was cool to see him in the distance as we drove through town.

Najlepszą częścią wycieczki była jazda drogą rowerową przy morzu, w Rethymno. Trafiłam akurat na zachód słońca, w ciekawych barwach, fioletowo,pomarańczowo-rożowej. Fajnie było patrzeć na niego w oddali, jadąc przez miasto.

20231016_190119.jpg

20231016_190151.jpg

20231016_190038.jpg

At one point I saw palm trees decorated with lights and illuminated in blue and purple. I sent this photo to a few friends and asked them where they thought I was. Everyone replied - Las Vegas? 😉🤣

W pewnym momencie zobaczyłam palmy ozdobione światełkami i podświetlanr na niebiesko i fioletowo. Wysłałam to zdjęcie kilku znajomym i zapytałam, jak sądzą, gdzie jestem. Wszyscy odpowiedzieli - Las Vegas? 😉🤣

20231016_192541.jpg

20231016_192513.jpg

20231016_192532.jpg

I had a great time riding the bike and also exploring the city. I looked at the buildings I passed and tried to find a good restaurant to eat there.

Świetnie mi się jechało na rowerze, a jednocześnie zwiedziało miasto. Przyglądałam się budynkom, które mijałam i próbowałam wyhaczyć jakąś dobrą restaurację, żeby zjeść w niej dobry posiłek.

20231016_192718.jpg

While driving, I suddenly saw a large Rethymno sign made of... plastic waste bins 😲😵😳 cool idea 😁

I jadąc nagle zobaczyłam wielki napis Rethymno zrobiony z... koszy na plastikowe odpady 😲😵😳 niezły pomysł 😁

ret7aa.jpg

20231016_191449.jpg

20231016_191612.jpg

20231016_191443.jpg

20231016_190853.jpg

Later I reached the port and saw a huge pirate ship called Captain Hook. You could sail somewhere on it and feel like you were in a fairy tale for a moment.

Później dojechałam do portu i zobaczyłam taki ogromny statek piracki o nazwie Kapitak Hak. Można było na nim gdzieś popłynąć i poczuć się przez chwilę jak z bajce.

20231016_192046.jpg

20231016_191938.jpg

20231016_191127.jpg

20231016_190859.jpg

20231016_191329.jpg

20231016_193125.jpg

At the end of the ride I reached the famous Rethymno lighthouse
and the Venetian port. This is where I end my stories. When the bicycle path ended, I got off the bike and explored the old town on foot.

Pod koniec przejażdżki dotarłam do słynnej latarni morskiej w Retymno i
do weneckiego portu. Na tym kończę moje opowieści. Gdy skończyła się droga rowerowa zeszłam z roweru i zwiedzałam stare miasto na pieszo.

20231016_193037.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow 🤩 Because of your post, I’m excited to do a Photo-Cycling tour here Singapore as well 😅 You had a nice adventure, thanks for sharing about it and the nice photos you took.

I'm glad you came up with this idea after reading my post 😊 Cycling trips are great. I'd love to read about your bike ride around Singapore 🤩

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2077.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

It's always awesome to be among the featured in the Travel Digest. Thank you very much @livinguktaiwan 😊🌷

Hello katiefreespirit!

It's nice to let you know that your article won 🥇 place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by blind-spot

You and your curator receive 0.5071 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 10.79% share of the reward from Daily Report 135. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUGOLD token for taking 1st place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START