A Great Start for the Year: An Unexpected Solo Travel at MacArthur Landing Memorial National Park

in Worldmappin5 months ago (edited)

Days went by so fast and again, the joys and excitements of the holiday seasons that were shared with my family, in the blink of an eye, were finally over.

And there I was, with a heavy heart, packing up my bag again to go back to reality. It was my scheduled flight back to the city.

IMG_20240103_184222.jpg

I was dragging my feet to the airplane knowing that it would take me miles away again from home.

IMG_20240107_123047.jpg

But sometimes life has funny and unexpected or should I say, beautiful ways of reminding you that "everything is ok".

It so happened that I was the only passenger in the van on my way to the airport.

And to my surprise, we passed by the MacArthur Landing Memorial National Park which is located in Brgy. Candahug, Palo, Leyte, a town adjacent to Tacloban City, most commonly known as MacArthur Park. When people are visiting the Eastern Visayas, they always include the MacArthur Park on their list of places to visit and of course, have a mandatory selfie with the statue of MacArthur in the background.

It was my first time to pass by this place because it was not the usual route of a passenger van on our way to the airport. Since I was the only passenger, the driver took the short cut road to the airport.

Like a child, my eyes were beaming with joy as I took a glimpse of the place, I even asked the driver for confirmation (despite it being quite obvious) if it was the famous MacArthur Park, and with a smile, he kindly answered me "yes Ma'am, it is!"

"If only I could drop by and explore the place for a while." It was what I had in mind with a sigh since I knew it was not possible. I did not have the nerve to beg the van driver to drop me off for a while.

But I guess, the universe must have been very kind to me on that day (I thank God so much) when I heard him say, "Ma'am would you like to stop by here and enjoy a quick stroll since your flight is 7:55 PM and it is still very early for your flight, right?" It was around 3:00 PM then and the airport is just 15 to 20 minutes away from McArthur Park.

"I still haven't eaten my lunch and might as well refill my stomach while you're exploring the park." He added with a laugh.

I got confused because he had mentioned to me earlier that he had to fetch his relatives to the airport who were supposed to arrive at the airport at 4:00 PM. He said he just received a text from one of them that their flights as being delayed so the rescheduled estimated time of their arrival will be 5:00 PM instead of 4:00 PM.

And with a slightly shy and huge smile, I sincerely thanked him.

And he answered back, still with a kind smile on his face "No worries Ma'am, and take your time!"

IMG_20240107_124245.jpg

And so, let the unexpected stroll begin.

So everyone, allow me to take you on a virtual tour around this historical park as I have an unexpected and impromptu visit to this place which was declared a National Historical Landmark in 2004.

It's a good thing that the park does not require any visitors to pay an entrance fee.

Upon entering, I read and signage that said:

The MacArthur Memorial Park built to commemorate the historic return of Gen. Douglas MacArthur to Philippine shores on October 20, 1944, is a joint project of the Department of Tourism, the Province of Leyte, and the Bureau of Forest Development upon the direction of President Ferdinand E. Marcos.

IMG_20240107_124536.jpg

As I started walking towards the park, there were only a few people this time. Another good thing about going to famous tourist spots when it's not peak season is that you have the privilege to have your feet and eyes wander around its beautiful scenery and enjoy the serenity of the place as well. Also, you can take lots of beautiful photos without worrying much about photobombers, lol.

IMG_20240107_124511.jpg

And then you can see here inscribed in a marble wall in front of the statues is General Macarthur's fulfilled promise to return.

IMG_20240107_181121.jpg

IMG_20240107_181140.jpg

It's funny to think that even though I am a native of Leyte, I have only heard and seen this place in history books during my elementary and high school years. Since Palo is a 3-hour road travel away from my hometown, I did not have the money back then to travel to this place. Even when I grew up into an adult and earned my own money, still I was not able to visit this place.

And now, I am in awe knowing that unexpectedly, I was setting foot in one of my province's significant and historical landmarks and finally having a gaze of this bronze statue of General Douglas MacArthur in the flesh. Alongside him, are the statues of his landing Filipino companions - the former President Sergio Osmeña, General Carlos Romulo, and four other soldiers.

As I was standing in front of these statues, not minding the scorching heat of the sun, it was like I was flipping again the book Philippine History, but this time, seeing it right before my very eyes. It reminded me that this is not just a park or a usual tourist spot. In this area I am standing, before Gen. Douglas MacArthur has fulfilled his promise to return, was where the largest naval battle took place.

IMG_20240107_124307.jpg

As I explored behind these statues, I was welcomed by the idyllic seafront scenery and clear skies of the vast mesmerizing Pacific Ocean. According to history, during World War II, this was filled with battleships, wreckage, and fighter planes. Knowing that this calm and serene beachfront has been a mute witness of how many lives perished during that great war, allowed me to see it in a different light.

IMG_20240107_124337.jpg

IMG_20240107_132922.jpg

On the other hand, nowadays, this park gives everyone a relaxing picnic or stroll with family or friends that offers a breather from the mundane. It's a huge laid-back park where you can also get to enjoy its fresh air and lush greenery - a relaxing escape from the chaotic city.

IMG_20240107_160744.jpg

IMG_20240107_132948.jpg

IMG_20240107_134033.jpg

And there are varieties of snacks/foods and beverages to choose from along the roadside, at very affordable prices.

IMG_20240107_134341.jpg

On my way back to the van, I bought two tokneneng/kwek-kwek (a tempura-like Filipino street food made by deep-frying orange batter covered with hard-boiled chicken/duck or quail eggs) for 20 pesos each/0.36 USD and 2 mountain dews for 25 pesos each/0.45 USD. One for me and of course, the other one for the kind van driver.

IMG_20240107_134616.jpg

With a happy and grateful heart, I will bid farewell to this place for now.

But just like what General Douglas MacArthur said during World War II that "I shall return" after he was forced to leave the Philippines in 1942 as a promise to the Filipino people he would come back to liberate the Philippines from Japanese occupation, I too promised myself and to this soil, will always return to this beautiful province, Leyte, where my heart belongs.

Indeed, a great start for the year. A beautiful beginning for "a series of fortunate events this 2024", hopefully.

To more beautiful moments worth keeping and sharing like this!

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your experience. enjoyed reading your story

I'm glad you enjoyed reading @nnurdiani. Thank you so much 🤗

Just visited this place last froday with my family

Wow, that's great. I was there last Wednesday, sayang di sabay. Baka nagkatagpo sana tayo dun 😁.

Thank you @intoy.bugoy for dropping by. ❤️

Nakatindog na ug balik ang mga statuwa det heheh. Cge ra kog labay dri pero wa ko kasud. Baktason ra jud unta ni ug gikan mis deped office heheh

Sayang ren, laag ta mo. Aw sabagay, balik2 raman pud kaha mos DEPED office, anytime pwede ra mo balik diri. Ako kay once in a blue moon ra 😅

Di naman mi patravelon kaau adto. Ag mga layason officers na lng hahah.

Sayang ren, so near yet so far na diay hahaha!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Been there a few times. It's good to try drinking fresh buko juice there ☺️ such a relaxing place and weekend retreat for the fam...

Ay sayang di ko nakita yung buko juice huhu. Nagmamadali na kasi ako sis pabalik sa van baka nainip na yung driver kakahintay hehe.

Btw, thank you so much @jane1289 for dropping by. Have a good day! 🥰

Taga san ka pla? So for sure, malapit lang samin hehe

I am from Hindang. Malapit na sa southern part of Leyte. How about you sis? 😊

Samar sis.

😉🌈🤙 yay 2024! lookin' good so far..

wow.. u had me at .25 mountain dew!! :P

but that place sure looks interesting.

It was even 20 pesos last time. Inflation has caused it to increase by 5 pesos. 😆

Yeah, it is! I love the beachfront, it is very relaxing. You can spend the whole day just to sit back and relax.