Oranjestad Aruba

in Pinmapple15 days ago

20240124_142808~2.jpg

Oranjestad Aruba is a common stop on many Carribean cruise packages and it was the second destination of our recent vacation, so thats what I will be showcasing in this post.

Port days on any cruise are always a little exciting, but all the more so if you haven't been to the location before.

20240124_081313~2.jpg

Not only do you get to set foot on land again, a major plus, but you also get to explore a new country and city for the first time. I had never been to Aruba so I had pretty high hopes for it overall.

We arrived early in the morning of an overcast and gloomy sort of day and set out to see what the city had to offer.

20240124_085514~2.jpg

The port was located close to the old town and near a few resort hotels that were located along the water.

20240124_093211~2.jpg

We walked through one of the resorts without really even realizing it.

20240124_093718~2.jpg

It had a monument of Anne Frank out front, which actually felt a little odd and somewhat out of place to me. I realize that Aruba is a Dutch colony but Anne Franks story took place in the Netherlands so I don't fully get why the monument is there. Maybe there is a good reason though?

20240124_093827~2.jpg

We got caught in the rain twice during our visit, but we were able to snag a table at a local cafe to wait out the rain with a nice coffee. It was a torrential downpour.

20240124_090758~2.jpg

We were able to take advantage of the cafes free wifi though, to quickly check in with folks back home and with our social media pages, Hive and all of the other stuff that you miss when you don't have access to the internet.

20240124_093747~2.jpg

The rain only lasted 10 minutes or so and we carried on with our exploration, now in the warm blanket of humidity.

20240124_084856~2.jpg

We noticed a lot of blue horse sculptures scattered around the city with information plaques that provided some interesting tidbits of historic facts about the country and its relationship to livestock and horses.

20240124_084903~2.jpg

One plaque mentioned Arubas beginnings and how it experienced 20 years of upheaval and turbulence when the English and French fought for its control. The ordeal completely depleated the country of all of its livestock.

20240124_104058~2.jpg

Later, in 1817 Aruba became a Dutch colony and gained back some of its stability, but changes to the country ended up being unfavorable to the livestock and the horse trade as well.

20240124_103308~2.jpg

Changes to the industry's taxation laws, as well as a newly discovered gold rush in the country, lead to the steady and rapid decline of livestock ownership. We found the info that we came across to be pretty interesting and enjoyed reading the various boards on our self guided tour.

20240124_103411~2.jpg

We walked through the old town of the city and came across a few historic buildings.

20240124_104155~2.jpg

The city was brightly colored in pinks, yellows and blues, just like many of the cities in the Carribean. Despite the color though, I actually found the city to feel a little run down and depressed in a way.

20240124_084933~2.jpg

It could have been the weather that day though, and the dreary skies that we were experiencing. Weather can do that to me when I visit a place.

20240124_103646~2.jpg

Nonetheless, I did still find a few cool buildings that I liked.

20240124_103729~2.jpg

Sometimes I like them a bit grungy anyway.

20240124_100327~2.jpg

This bright yellow building (below) is one of the oldest houses in the city. It was built in the mid 1800s and has remained in the possession of the same family for over a 100 years. We got that from another information board.

20240124_103513~2.jpg

The building is now a restaurant.

20240124_102037~2.jpg

We also headed over to the beach for a bit, just to check it out. It was within walking distance from the ship.

20240124_100517~2.jpg

I always heard that Aruba had some great beaches. This one had white sand and blue water but almost no people.

20240124_102343~2.jpg

We ended up seeing this guy doing some bait fishing with his net in the shallow water though.

20240124_102558~2.jpg

20240124_102521~2.jpg

It was an entertaining experience to come across.

20240124_102426~2.jpg

He was accompanied by a swarm of hungry birds just waiting to snag some of his catch and claim it for their own.

20240124_111119~2.jpg

We checked out a local market as well but it was pretty lame overall. All that was being sold was super cheap touristy crap and nothing at all looked like it was produced locally. It was more like a mass produced shipment that came from China or something. I didn't even bother to take photos in there. Picture a lot of silk screen t-shirts and poorly made stuffed animals that look like they were manufactured to be a prize in a bowling alley "claw" arcade game.

20240124_105843~2.jpg

We did a big loop of the area and headed back through a different portion of the old town before making our way back to the cruise ship.

20240124_105905~2.jpg

We had fun exploring the city but all in all I wouldn't say that it was my favorite destination in the Carribean.

20240124_093249~2.jpg

If I were to go back again I would definitely get out of the city and go check out a different part of the country. I'd Maybe check out a better beach or look for a hike or something different to do. Have you ever been to Oranjestad or Aruba in general? What did you think? Let me know in the comments.

20240124_111455~2.jpg

Well thats it for now. Until next time, thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

I do like all those colourful buildings.

That's the thing I hate about a lot of markets nowadays is that they are all full of the same homogenous plastic mass produced tat. Grr

Yeah I agree. I like it when they have locally produced stuff. Like the wood carvings and shit that look like they were crafted by the vendor or at least like they were produced in the island somewhere. I'm sure that a lot of that stuff is mass produced too, but it at least gives the impression that it's hand crafted by someone - even if it is an illusion 😆.

It's an illusion I have happily fallen for at times! 😀

Me too! 😆

I'm very close (Venezuela), however I have never been to Aruba. I don't doubt that it is very beautiful, but I have always had the impression that it is a super commercial place, so mass tourism type, and that's why it doesn't call my attention, but surely it must have another side to discover. Greetings!

I would say that it definitely commercial. It caters to a lot of cruise ships and resort vacationers. So yeah, It wouldn't be for everyone.

Ahh Aruba! Such a beautiful, Colorful dream destination! Someday...!

I wasn't thrilled by the city we went to but I bet there are nicer spots on the island. Hopefully you get to see it if it's a place you want to visit.

@leaky20 Undoubtedly very beautiful photos and an island with a palette of colors in its facades that I loved.

I like colorful buildings as well 👍

See this is cool, A while back I was in Aruba and i did exactly the opposite of you. Getting out of town immediately, and only visiting mostly the North and the south and staying in the low rise, leavinf oranjestad for what it is.

Cool to see the other side of it. So you were here just for the day?

Yea it was just the day while ours ship docked. Maybe 8 hours or so. I'd go check out another location as well if I ever went back

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks for the support

Aww
The view is really lovely. I’ve never been on a boat cruise before and that’s because I’m scared of what could happen and maybe the boat could capsize😅

I suppose anything is possible. Ships aren't for everyone.

Colorful building makes the image more beautiful, also I admire how design.

Yeah I like colorful buildings as well

the magic of the caribbean sea islands is impressive

😀👍

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Travel Digest #2195.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Ah, it's the first I've seen photos of Aruba. Of the 3 ABC islands. I've only been to Curacao, but I had a few friends in the Netherlands who were from Aruba. Curacao is pretty too with colourful buildings, and it's nice to see that it's the same for Aruba. Bonaire is popular amongst scuba divers because they don't need to have a dive master to go diving if they are certified.
The beach at the SuperClubs resort that I stayed at was lovely, and I even went on a banana boat, and I got motion sickness 😂

It was a nice holiday until I went to the town and a local tried to follow me with a big long snake. That ended up ruining my holiday and I had no urge to go back 😏