Christmas at the Campus

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

Hello, December! Christmas spirit is now officially in the air so let us start exploring lights of the season.

One of my high school batchmates migrated to Canada with her family. On the second week of November, she posted on FB their photos taken in a Christmas village at Benguet State University or BSU which is in our town. I found it funny for myself. I commented on her post in our local dialect.

"Good for you to have already visited that place even when you came from very far. I who is just in the "neighborhood" haven't!"

She replied.

"Hehehe, come now and let's grab the opportunity while there is still no entrance fee."

I did not pay attention to the entrance fee that she was saying. Over dinner few days later, I was telling my housemates about my batchmates's comment regarding the entrance fee. One of my nephews confirmed that there was indeed an entrance fee when they went there few years ago while I was still living in Manila. I asked how come there is none this time. He thinks it is still early and that they may charge entrance fee by December.

So I grabbed the chance one night when I got late going home. It was not my plan but when I saw the lights as the jeepney passed by, I suddenly hailed the driver to stop. I dropped off and went inside the campus instead of going home.

This is the main entrance of the university along the highway. To the right inside the campus is the BSU Centennial Park which is being turned as the Christmas village during Christmas season.
20221122_190921.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

I thought the entrance to the village is right after I entered the main gate and I almost went inside immediately. Thanks to people who were busy taking photos and blocking the way. They gave me the chance to glance sideways and saw the EXIT marker.

Few meters straight from the gate is the university facade with its lights on.

20221122_183339.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

To the right from facing the facade is a line of stalls with different souvenir items and street foods for sale. Before the start of the line at the corner of the streets is the entrance to the village with its public advisory.

20221122_183419.jpg

20221122_183429.jpg

Right after passing through the entrance gate, one will be greeted by a BSU marker. It was was being blocked by two ladies that time. They were sitting on the foot of the marker with their backs to the marker itself. I stood right in front, aimed my phone at them and asked if I can take a photo of the marker. They immediately got up and cleared the view. While taking a photo I made them a comment of how they are treating the marker which is not supposed to be. I did not get an answer. I hope they took it positively and did not think of me as a bitch.

The marker tells a short story of the university in Filipino language. Let us get to know it more with this translation.

Started as a farm school in 1916. Took the lead in promoting secondary education and education for agriculture for indigenous students of the provinces within the formerly Mountain Province (now Cordillera Administrative Region). One of those who took the lead in reforestation efforts for Baguio and nearby towns. Became Mountain State Agricultural College in 1969 and Benguet State University in 1986.

It did not say what its very first name was but just started as farm school.
20221122_183452.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

The village seems a perfect rectangular shape and not so wide. According to Google Earth, the area is around 2,324 square meters. The crowd was not yet so heavy as it just started to get dark but I knew that will certainly change in the next minutes.

Many say that Christmas is for children and they appreciate the lights more than adults. While that may be true, I was amused to see parents carrying babies. I wondered, is it worth to expose your baby in the cold when they won't even understand what they are seeing?

20221122_183548.jpg

20221122_183507.jpg

Okay, so let's go and check the highlights of the village. The exit is to the right from the entrance so let's start from the left side.

There is this heart photo booth decorated with dried branches where Christmas lights were hung. In front of the booth are two stumps as chairs for photoshoot. Really intended for couples, huh? Well, there is this stone in between the stumps for solo shot. Or with third party? Valentine theme on Christmas. Why not?

20221122_183731.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

Trees with no leaves and all white. Winter wonder land? No snow though. Other Christmas villages use soap for artificial snow flakes or snow balls. We did this when I was in highschool and I was not really a fan of it. I thought it is not environmental friendly so I'd rather that Christmas villages keep from using it.

20221122_183915.jpg

In front of the winter land is a carriage which unfortunately cannot carry expectators. People had to go behind it and try so hard to pose like they are riding to have pictures.

20221122_184133.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

20221122_184111.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

In the middle at the end side of the village is what seemed to be a center stage. I can tell from afar that it is the belen. They picked a good spot for that. It seems "overlooking" all other lights in the village. I just thought it could have been more emphasized if they made the platform higher.

20221122_184211.jpg

I waited for some time for the stage to be cleared from people taking photos. My hands were already getting weary while aiming my camera but haven't had the chance yet for a clear view. I have been waiting and yet new comers just kept on blocking the view while I was there feeling like a fool. Some people are just insensitive. I respect people's chance to take photos but if they don't then I do what I have to. I went in front of their camera man and became photobomber so I can take my shots. So far, I did not hear any complain. After all, I immediately cleared their view in few seconds.

20221122_184411.jpg

20221122_184554.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

Around the village are trees that are adorned with decors and lights. All of them have this pure white lantern. I loved its contrast against the dark.

20221122_184724.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

On the side parallel to the highway is an arc with two Santa Clauses and their sleighs climbing up stairways from both ends of the arc. On top at the middle of the arc is another belen. Below at the middle of the arc is a good spot for more photoshoots.

20221122_185051.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

Along the middle line of the village is also a line of highlights. Across the center stage belen is a declaration about the school. I love BSU!

20221122_184650.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

At the back of the declation is the tallest structure in the village, the Christmas tree. It seems to be in the centermost part of the village.

20221122_183830.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

There are also small Christmas trees here and there which I wasn't able to figure any specific formation. Placements seem random.

Behind the Christmas tree from the center stage is a European icon replica, the Eifel Tower. I can't help smiling to see the tip slanting a bit. At first I thought it could be the camera angle but it was still slanting in all my other shots from different sides of the tower.

20221122_185127.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

20221122_185203.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

20221122_185737.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

Next to the tower is the enclosed huge university logo marker. Around it to the right is towards what seemed to be an enchanted forest. The different light colors looked amusing from afar. I loved the chaotic mix of colors. Inside the forest was crowded with many people taking photos here and there. I looked around and noted that I won't be able to take a good background with the very near trees. I could only take trunks so I moved on towards the exit.

20221122_185817.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

The exit is a bridge tunnel of lights. Foot traffic was already heavy at the tunnel entrance. Just like the belen at the center stage, my hands have grown weary waiting with my camera pointed out but the crowd just didn't clear up. I just selected a time with the least people in the tunnel.

20221122_190440.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

I couldn't pass through the rest of the tunnel due to the crowd. It was a good thing that there is an opening in the middle at the side of the tunnel so I just skipped in between the arc lights and was out to the side.

Even at the other end of the tunnel at the final exit was heavy of foot traffic. People were catching up with photoshoots while a few new comers just got inside through the exit.

20221122_190519.jpg
Click here for a full view on a separate window.

It is given that temperature here in the highlands is cool even during summer (max of 25°C). It is way cooler this time of the year until March. I was just in my shirt and did not bring jacket because again, it was not my plan to be out late at night. I felt cold after the tour but it was a good one. I will no longer feel naive about a tourist spot which is supposedly very near our place. Now I can relate to stories of relatives and friends who went and will go there.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @afterglow ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you very much @afterglow for sharing my content! 💖

Yun oh, added that the temperature diyan ay feel na feel ang christmass uwu. Oww malapit ka sa BSU hehe someday makakapunta din ako diyan hoping na mag-aral ng plant pathology.

You gave me the idea to mention about temperature so I edited the post. Thank you!

Yap, feel na feel na ang Christmas. Ang daming nag-Christmas lighting last 01 Dec... parang kakaiba namang puro ganun ang post ko. 😄

Do you plan yo take anything about agriculture? If yes then BSU will be a good choice.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you.

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much @brumest and @qurator team! 💖

Dear @macoolette,
May I ask you to review and support the new HiveSQL Proposal so we can keep it free to use for the community?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner

Thank you!

Dear @macoolette,
Your support for the current HiveBuzz proposal (#199) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May we ask you to review and support the new proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can support the new proposal (#248) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Done

Thank you for your support @macoolette, really appreciate it! 👍
Without imposing and as we are in a renewal period for proposals, if you could take a look at the HiveSQL Proposal Renewal as well 😁

Dear @macoolette,
Your support for the current HiveBuzz proposal (#199) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May we ask you to review and support the new proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can support the new proposal (#248) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Done

Thank you for your support @macoolette, much appreciated! 🌹🌹🌹