Visit Sam Poo Kong, The Oldest Pagoda in Semarang

in Worldmappinlast year
Hi everybody. Back with Me, Nurdiani Latifah. I want to say that I am in a Happy state. Because soon will meet the weekend. We need to celebrate the weekend lazily. Including, the business I'm developing. However, in this article, I will discuss Sam Poo Kong, a pagoda located in Semarang.

You know, last year, I visited Semarang. During my visit to Semarang, I took the time to come to this pagoda. Yes, this pagoda is also a very famous place and must be visited. For that, I visited this place. I visited with my friends.

This place, the Sam Poo Kong Temple, is one of the tours which is also a place of worship for people who are of Chinese descent in Semarang. This pagoda is also known as a place of worship for Admiral Zheng He. Admiral Zheng was from the Ming Dynasty. In Indonesia, Admiral Zheng He is known as Cheng Ho. Admiral Cheng Ho was known to be a Muslim and spread Islam.

From the information I have, Admiral Cheng Ho built a mosque. Then, how does this temple have to do with him? Sam Poo Kong is the name of the owner of the ship driven by Admiral Cheng Ho to sail. However, both of them share a mission to spread Islam while trading. However, from other information, Admiral Cheng Ho and Sam Poo Kong are the same characters.

Long story short, Admiral Cheng Ho came to Semarang. The area visited by Admiral Cheng Ho began to be occupied by residents from China. Gradually, the place developed into a Chinese settlement with a profession as a trader and farmer. Currently, the Sam Poo Kong Temple is considered a means of seeking fortune. It is believed, if you pray in this place, that person will get blessings and good luck. In this place also found several altars and tombs. The meal is the belief of the people of Admiral Cheng Ho.

What about the current condition of the Temple? The temple here is dominated by red. There are several statues in this temple. The statues here are like people who are readily recommended. Another thing, besides being a place of worship, this place is often a music concert.

There is something I forgot to mention, in this Temple there is also the worship of the God of the Earth. The God of Earth is believed to be the god of sustenance and blessings. There is one story about the god of the earth. Initially, people of Chinese descent prayed to ask for soil fertility and abundant crops. However, the God of the Earth has a trusted bodyguard in the form of a black tiger named Houw Ciang Kun. The tiger is believed to bring blessings and fortune. I also have lots of photos in several spots with my friends. I hope my story is interesting. Don't forget to comment on my stories. See you on my next trip.

IMG_20220612_081042.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20220612_080828.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20220612_080848.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20220612_082705.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20220612_082647.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20220612_082724.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20220612_082735.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20220612_082735.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20220612_083035.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20220612_083055.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20220612_083122.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20220612_083416.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20220612_083430.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20220612_083849.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah





About Author

Nurdiani Latifah

My name is Nurdiani Latifah. I currently live in Jakarta – Indonesia, after 25 years I live in Bandung. I am a media staff at an NGO in Indonesia. I have worked in this institution for almost 2 years on issues of women and peace. I had been a journalist in Bandung for 3 years.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What a cute colorful place! 🙂 It's simple inside but I love the ceiling and those lanterns...

Thank you for sharing! 🙂