Watching Oppenheimer reminded me of that time in Hiroshima

in Pinmapple10 months ago

Hello everybody and welcome to another travel post of mine. For anyone who's new here, welcome! My (cyber)name is nomnomnoodle, a full-time foodie and a part-time traveler from Thailand. For now, just these 2, but I figured when I´m confident enough to write a post about something other than these 2, I´ll then embrace more sides of me.

Last couple of days, I went to the cinema and watched Oppenheimer, aka the father of the atomic bomb, the destruction that put an end to World War II. And of course, Nolan always reaches our expectations. The biographical movie is neatly and cinematically done and needless to say, I was impressed and reminded of the unfortunate history of WWII. As a consequence, I want to write a post about the time I went to Hiroshima with my family back in 2018 and show you guys the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum that I visited.

Me writing this post with such empathetic feelings for all losses and pray that our world never has to face anything horrible like that again. So, it´s our duty to learn from our past and this museum is one of the places that struck me hard. It might be some disturbing objects from the museum that makes you feel uneasy, but nothing bloody or scary, I promise.

Here we go, in 2018 we took a train for a day trip in Hiroshima.
Screenshot 2023-07-25 192317.jpg

IMG_2310.JPG

Coming out of the station, the first thing we saw are the origami paper birds, the symbol of peace.
agimvlo9.jpg

We walked to the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum. We can see the ruined building "A-bomb dome". The bomb was detonated almost right above this dome.

IMG_2331.JPG

IMG_2315.JPG

IMG_2314.JPG

IMG_2313.JPG
"The ruin shall be preserved forever"

IMG_2319.JPG

IMG_2322.JPG

Screenshot 2023-07-25 194126.png
The actual roof tile that they picked up from the water.

Then there´s a memorial for the loss.
IMG_2345.JPG

IMG_2347.JPG

You can see a lot of art, painting.
IMG_2350.JPG

Peace
IMG_2353.JPG

IMG_2365.JPG

It´s time to go inside the museum. "No more Hiroshimas."
IMG_2383.JPG

The size of the bomb compared to a human.
IMG_2384.JPG

The damage of the bomb on a single glass bottle, compared to a normal glass bottle.
IMG_2390.JPG

IMG_2393.JPG

The glass
IMG_2398.JPG

The fused lump of small glass bottles. Shows how hot it was.
IMG_2400.JPG

This is a school uniform that was donated by 2 families of the boys who were deceased, The cap and belt were donated by the Kurakichi family, and the school uniform by the mother of Fukuoka Hajime.
IMG_2394.JPG

The dress. She managed to crawl out from the ruin but unfortunately died afterward.
IMG_2408.JPG
I also heard in some survival video saying that wearing white clothes did help deflected some radiation too.

The rusted tricycle was buried for 40 years before it was brought to the museum.
IMG_2395.JPG

The melted lamp.
IMG_2407.JPG

"Help me"
"Water please"
IMG_2401.JPG

IMG_2402.JPG

"That was hell."
IMG_2406.JPG

We left the museum very heartbroken and even now that I wrote about it, still very hard for me to not be emotional for the victims. Still, being able to learn and see how many people desire no more war. I'm hopeful and determined to be one of the forces to pass and move forward to the next generation as a lesson for humankind to never repeat this tragedy ever again.

Thank you so much for sharing this experience with me and I´ll see you in the next post.
Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @nomnomnoodle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 6
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 5
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 4

A beautiful and meaningful museum in Japan. Your sharing is so exciting. Thank you for your sharing.😍

Thank you so much for reading and share this emotional experiences.

Haven't seen the movie yet so I can't say too much about that but I'm pretty sure most of the people on this planet heard of the disaster in Hiroshima and it's painful for everyone whenever we remember those times. I'm really sorry to see all those remains from the museum and it definitely changes someone's mood while walking by. Thank you for sharing with us <3

Thank you for reading :) I highly recommend the movie, though it´s complicated for me to understand all the political situation and such, but at the end I think it´s understandable how hard it must be to be named the father of such destructive invention.

Hello nomnomnoodle! It's great to see your travel post. Being a foodie and traveler from Thailand sounds like an amazing combination. I'm curious, have you discovered any unique culinary experiences during your travels that have left a lasting impression on you? Can't wait to read more about your adventures! Keep exploring and embracing all the sides of you. Happy travels!

Wow thank you :D that´d be the topic of my next post for sure.

What a life!! It sounds super fun!! :D I love your trip, for me (I’m in Argentina right now), that’s a very exotic destiny and it looks an amazing place to visit! I studied the Hiroshima episode at the University, since I’m a Geographer right now, and I can’t even imagine how hard and shocking could be visiting the place. Thanks a lot for sharing such an experience!

Being a geographer is so cool! and I´m lowkey envy that your university covered Hiroshima, I´d love to learn more about it.

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1951.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I love being able to see these images through people who can document it. When I was a high school student, I had a presentation about Julius Oppenheimer and I found his story and the making of the bomb very interesting, as well as his later regret for having created it.

I know it was so sad, that's why in the movie he quote from Bhagavad Gita because he must felt exactly the same when Arjuna felt sad how he has to kill the family in the story of Mahabharata.

also terribly sorry for the late reply. Thank you for your comments :)

Congratulations @nomnomnoodle! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with this rare badge

Post with the highest payout of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 7
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 6
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 5

The images from the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum are incredibly remarkable. Seeing the "A-bomb dome" in its ruined state is a stark reminder of the devastating impact of the atomic bomb. It must have been a deeply emotional experience for you to visit the museum and reflect on the lives lost. Thank you for sharing this heart-wrenching reminder of the importance of peace.

Sorry for the late reply, I haven´t been online for the long holidays here, but thank you so much for sharing this with me and although I´m back already I still remember how I felt then.

The movie is very good

Thank you for this timely reminder of the terrible consequences of nuclear weapons. It should be compulsory for every head of state which has nuclear weapons to visit this memorial.
Did the memorials mention the 'black rain' ie the radioactive rain which fell on the survivors hours after the bomb had exploded? As I understand it this radioactive rain killed thousands who drank it not knowing how toxic it was.

I actually dont remember exactly where it mentioned in the memorial, but I´m pretty sure they have a section about what happened after too. Thank you for the informative comment. I´ll read more into it.

That is an emotional for the victim that you walked to the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum! They have of historical documents there. I hope you get to visit soon and learn all about the significance of the place.