Stairway to Heaven | Cateel, Davao Oriental

in Pinmapplelast month

Hive_Panimahawa_Cover Photos (30).png


I didn't know I had a quirky fascination with waterfalls until I started writing in Hive. Writing article after article, a realization hit me: I've been to countless waterfalls in my country from the one closest to home to as far as Batad in the North and Sulu in the South. Every time I'm backpacking, a waterfall has always made it to my must-visit list. A telltale that my country has been blessed with the most beautiful waterfalls on Earth.

Today, let me take you to another of nature's magnificent creations. After a chilly morning in the mountains of Maragusan, I was back on the road ready for the adventure that awaits. A heavy rain poured the night before this trip and as mentioned in my blogs about Maraguasn, there's an insane volume of groundwater in this part of my country. The heavy downpour caused landslides to spill over some of the National Road connecting Maragusan to Nabunturan. Gravels, and muddy soil covered parts of the road but thankfully nothing serious to impede transportation.

IMG20230222085436.jpg

IMG20230222093344.jpg

IMG20230222105000.jpg

IMG20230222093453.jpg

Locals were eager to hear about my next destination; I told them I should be in Cateel, Davao Oriental by sundown. To accomplish this, I should travel approximately 105 km or an easily achievable 2.5 hours of road trip. They were so friendly that I forgot to check how reliable their advices were. The next thing I knew I was in Tagum only to find out that there was no direct bus route that would take me nearer to Cateel. The downside is that I had to travel back to Nabunturan to ride the bus to Montevista. My heart sank knowing I had thrown my precious time going back and forth between bus terminals; but I was still eager to accomplish what I had set forth that day.

IMG20230222105032.jpg

IMG20230222115533.jpg

Despite the delay, reaching Montevista was no sweat. Right there and then, when I alighted at Montevista Overland Transport Terminal, the bigger challenge presented itself. There are no direct buses or even a van going the path I had in mind that day. A bao-bao (tricycle) driver later learned of my dilemma and offered to drive me there for a minimal fee. Montevista is around 64km away from Aliwagwag Falls; time wasn't on my side and should I delay further, I might find myself homeless for the night.

IMG20230222130225.jpg

IMG20230222125234.jpg

IMG20230222130228.jpg

After agreeing with the one-way fare to Aliwagwag Falls, we began traveling. Montevista rests in one of the most dramatic, unreal, and heavenly valleys I've been to. Mountains on all sides surrounded Montevista making our journey closer to Cateel, where Aliwagwag Falls is located, one I won't forget in my lifetime. I was smiling from ear to ear the entire time! 😁

IMG20230222132644.jpg

IMG20230222132649.jpg

The bao-bao might be small in stature but it moved like lightning; a few minutes on the road then we're up the mountains and hills. I know what you're thinking and perhaps, wondering. "Aren't you scared to be in the middle of nowhere with a stranger who can drive you off-road and do the nastiest thing one could think of? Thankfully in my years of traveling, I haven't encountered such things; I believe in the goodness of humanity.

IMG20230222142040.jpg

IMG20230222142409.jpg

A little over an hour, the bao-bao driver halted on the side of the road; it was the signal I'd been waiting for. "We're here!" the happiest thought that crossed my mind that day. I gave him the amount we agreed on and thanked him for his service. It wasn't clear yet where Aliwagwag Falls was, I could only see an uncrowded bridge and stored lined up in the street.

IMG20230222152836.jpg

IMG20230222151311.jpg

IMG20230222152825.jpg

IMG20230222153642.jpg

I walked nearer the bridge and a view I'd been dying to see was there; its beauty raging, unstoppable. Unlike most of the waterfalls I've been to that require at least 10 minutes of trekking, Aliwagwag Falls is right beside the road. In fact, the best view of Aliwagwag could be seen at the bridge. This bridge became a viewing deck of Aliwagwag; many passers-by would take a break here and take photos.

IMG20230222145731.jpg

IMG20230222150129.jpg

IMG20230222145650.jpg

IMG20230222150129.jpg

I was asked why I decided to take this less traveled route in my Davao backpacking when there's just one destination here. They told me it might not be worth my time. But when I saw Aliwagwag Falls in its full glory under the calm afternoon glow, I knew I didn't made a mistake in sacrificing an entire day just to see this stunning destination.

Here are more photos of Aliwagwag. Be the judge. ❤

IMG20230222145816.jpg

IMG20230222150225.jpg

IMG20230222150231.jpg

IMG20230222150120.jpg

IMG20230222145822.jpg

Okay here's another catch: there's NO mobile signal here. I had to navigate my way out of this challenge. I needed to arrive in Aliwagwag no later than 3 PM; I've arranged for another driver to fetch me from Aliwagwag to Cateel proper then to my hotel. I arrived before 3 PM but when he didn't show up by 3 PM, I stayed positive and waited.

While waiting, I sat by the bridge and enjoyed Aliwagwag. Asked a ton of strangers to take photos of me, too! 🤣 Before 4 PM, my driver arrived. I was already planning to hitchhike to Cateel but no need since he was there already.

IMG20230222145310.jpg

IMG20230222145327.jpg

IMG20230222145304.jpg

IMG20230222145801.jpg

IMG20230222150006.jpg

IMG20230222150256.jpg

This day was undeniably filled with a lot of stressors but I'm glad I made it out alive. 😁❤ Go out of your comfort zone and the usual travel routes, surprising destinations await you on the off-beaten path. 💖

IMG20230222151042.jpg

++


image.png

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potential. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

Sort:  

This one is so amazing! One of PH pride 👌

Couldn't agree more! More people should see this!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Travel Digest #2191.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks, Kim and Pinmapple!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Safe b maligo Jan? Parang hndi allow hehe
Rainy days are coming, mganda pumunta sa mga falls..

It's closed @jane1289, may part dati na pwede naman maligo but may mga lubid as guide.

Parang delikado din kasi . Lakas ng current ng tubig

As in Jane and to think, I went there summer pa. imagine during rainy season hehe pero if open Yung Eco park, maliligo pa rin ako hehe

Wow! What a stunning destination. I have never been to Davao Oriental but I see it is a great place and indeed a perfect destination for an outing with family and friends.

It's rarely on the limelight @pinkchic. Underrated, if I may add. But worth the visit!

I love the photos of you in the green on the bridge, very beautiful, really does look like Heaven in those photos

Meeee too! I couldn't stop thinking about how everything perfectly fits in!

wonderful 😀

I fell in love with the beautiful landscapes that nature gave you in this great tour, the waterfall looks imposing among the trees.

the waterfall looks imposing

Scary at some point, right? 😁 Many wouldn't dare to swim here.

After all the problem you've face on that trip, finally! My God, that is one perfect creation on Earth! It's magnificent! It's like a Paradise. I can't say much coz I'm speechless for its beauty. What more if I see that with my own eyer. I'm sure i'll be more dumbfounded, lol.

that is one perfect creation on Earth!

I know right @ruffatotmeee! I'd visit again once the eco park is open and I can finally take a freaking cold dip in this waterfalls.

Share that too, once nangyari na, uwu.

Congratulations @patsitivity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 17000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 18000 upvotes.
You received more than 85000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 90000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You are right, it is very fun to get out of your comfort. This waterfall which looks like a staircase is quite scary and thrilling.