My Paternal Hometown: Sukkur

in Pinmapplelast year

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience



We used to live in Karachi whereas my paternal grandmother and uncles, they all live in Sukkur. Since childhood, I remember that we used to visit them twice a year on special occasions. I have also shared some of the stories in my past posts about our horrible journey to Sukkur once. But we always find it interesting and excited to be there with our cousins and uncles. I was trying to find some old albums of Sukkur to share in Hive and I found album of 2011.

Beige Minimalist Black Friday Product Box Collage Instagram Post.png

Sukkur have many historical places and their different theories and stories. I remember that in childhood, we once visited a palace or house of Mughal King there, it was really nice but the way to that house was not that appropriate, full of dung. There was shamshan ghat (cremation ground) as well, to which I really got scared as my bros told me some scary stories and I believed them all hehehe I still remember we do have pictures of that visit but never mind, some other time.

DSC_0961.JPG

These are the pictures of our visit to Sukkur in 2011, after the wedding of my bro, our uncle invited all of us to Sukkur for a dinner lol. After having 6-8 hours of drive to Sukkur, we just cant have a dinner, also if we do have a newly wed couple with us. We hired a Suzuki minibus and went to few attractions of Sukkur.

101_4966.JPG

101_4979.JPG

101_4980.JPG

First of all, we went to Sateen Jo Aastan (local Sindhi Name) Saat Saheliyon ka Mazaar (In Urdu) Tomb of seven Sisters. The actual meaning of saat saheliyan means seven female friends and its their tomb. There could be a reason of all of them dying at the same place and people made their own stories, I didn’t believe any of them because I was there to enjoy an outing and taking some pictures with those ancient looking tombs.

101_4983.JPG

101_4984.JPG

101_4985.JPG

Its on top of the hill, reached there by following lots of stairs. It was too windy up there. We spent a lot of time there because the views were amazing.

101_4987.JPG

101_4973.JPG

101_4974.JPG

Ayub bridge can be seen from there too.

101_4992.JPG

101_5001.JPG

101_5007.JPG

101_5008.JPG

Then we spent little time near Ayub Bridge, watching the boat and Indus river.

101_5014.JPG

We all got a bit tired, very tight and busy schedule. We headed to the Inter-Pak in Hotel, where my uncle used to work and had arranged a party/dinner for the newly wed couple and family. Since childhood, I remember that this was the only bestum best hotel and restaurant in Sukkur but as of now, things has been changed and it is no more, there is new management and new hotel but that too my bro told me because I have not visited Sukkur for a long time.

101_5015.JPG

We also went to Sukkur Barrage, one of the best of its kind, but it was too dark and unable to take pictures so no picture of that place.

101_5027.JPG

101_5038.JPG

101_5039.JPG

We had a lot of fun together, specially with my uncles. Time passes by so fast and quickly, looking at these pictures looks like it is of couple of years ago. I always wanted to visit my paternal hometown and meet my uncles but for last four years, I am unable to plan for Sukkur. Hoping for the best, will definitely plan with family in near future.

All above pictures are taken by my camera model : KODAK EASYSHARE C433 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMERA


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @rosecane! You received a sweet smile from TravelFeed. We love your work so keep up the good job. 😊

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.