Entering the exclusion zone at Chernobyl, traveling back in time.

in Worldmappin3 years ago (edited)

I can vividly remember the day that my mother called me inside the house and warned me not to play in the open grass outside. A nuclear disaster had happened in Russia and not much was known other than the radiation readings were high up in many parts of northern Europe.

Russia was forced to admit something bad had happened after Sweden had raised the alarm after extreme radiation rises. It was early may 1986. Days after the disaster at Chernobyl. A few years later the Soviet Union collapsed and Ukraine inherited the problem of Chernobyl.

Twenty years later, back in 2006 or so I came across the website of Elena Filatova, an Ukraine girl who road her motorbike trough the desolated and restricted areas surrounding the former facility of Chernobyl. She documented those expeditions online and provided a lot of extra information and history about the area, the disaster and Ukraine history in general. The website is still online today and is occasionally updated.

IMG_2737.JPG

I backed her project with some dollars and we exchanged a few e-mails. As I wrote in my introduction I have a broad interest in the unexplored areas and history in general. Eastern-Europe already was a place I liked to visit much and quiet soon Ukraine was next on my list. Elena told me it would be difficult to enter the zone, but for me there was no turning back.

IMG_2380.JPG

In September 2008 I took a plane from Amsterdam to Vilnius, Lithuania and from there to Kiev, Ukraine. I had about the week time to figure out how things worked over there and get myself into the exclusion zone. But soon I learned that almost nobody spoke English and people were not very eager to speak about Chernobyl(understandably). The times I was able to have a conversation people showed me the way to the Chernobyl museum a few blocks away in center of Kiev.

IMG_2389.JPG

IMG_2451.JPG

IMG_2495.JPG

It felt as a mission impossible, like I had run into a wall. I decided to visit Odessa for a few days as an alternative, I had never seen the black sea anyway. But even purchasing a train ticket seemed impossible. I got some help from a friendly gentleman who spoke English. I didn't had the guts to ask him how to get into Chernobyl, I was already happy with my train ticket to Odessa in a sleeping cabin instead between the cattle or worse.

IMG_2570.JPG

IMG_2565.JPG

The night train to Odessa took about 12 hours. I brought some vodka and soon I had made friends with the couple I was sharing the cabin with. Each wagon was separated from the other wagons and each one had a (not so friendly) lady serving snacks and drinks. I have to say, although the train was terribly slow, it was a pleasant ride. The next morning I arrived in Odessa.

IMG_2573.JPG

IMG_2598.JPG

Odessa had a pleasant almost Mediterranean vibe, the architecture reminded me somehow at Barcelona. There were plenty of restaurants where you could sit outside and enjoy the vibrant streets. I'm not sure how things work in Ukraine, but somehow it seemed to be international wedding day or so. There were so many brides everywhere...

IMG_2584.JPG

IMG_2586.JPG

IMG_2585.JPG

The next day I went to Arcadia beach at the black sea, and it was raining and cold. I took a taxi back and while chatting with the driver it suddenly hit me. If you want to know something or have anything done in a city anywhere in the world, talk to cab drivers. At least that was the case in the pre-Uber time. Cab drivers hold the key, but be careful they might get you into some nasty places too!

IMG_2700.JPG

That evening I was back on the train to Kiev, knowing exactly where to go to get me to Chernobyl. The big taxi stand in front of the central station. Why didn't I think of it earlier? I had two days left after I arrived in Kiev. I asked around at the taxi stand and within a few minutes I found a driver that would bring me to exclusion zone. He knew someone over there that could get us in. Total costs $150. (About a months salary in Ukraine at the time)

IMG_2694.JPG

IMG_2695.JPG

The next morning I was picked up at the hotel and we drove for about an hour or more towards the north. Through small villages and lots of woodlands. Until we arrived at the border of the zone. The gate was closed. I was not allowed to take pictures and the military dressed people who told me that looked not very inviting. They only repeated the words: problem, problem, and needed my passport. We waited two hours until a car came out of the zone and the guy within was the person that would bring us in. Again we waited an hour and the words "problem" seemed the only thing that was actually said.

IMG_2704.JPG

Eventually the gate opened and we could enter the exclusion zone. Within a few minutes we arrived at the town called Chernobyl, ten miles south of the reactor. It was surprisingly busy as I had imagined no people would live there. It turned out to be mostly military people and I was told the town was save to live in since the reactor's fallout had gone north-west and not in this direction. Which I knew was true.

Again we were stopped, problems were uttered and documents signed. I took the time to take some pictures off odd looking military vehicles whit nuclear radiation warning signs in front of them. I was not allowed to leave the car.

After the problems and documents were taken care off we went towards the river Dnepr.

IMG_2712.JPG
IMG_2718.JPG

There was a vast amount of ships that were left there to rust and rot away. The ships were too heavily exposed to radiation during the disaster that they could not be used anymore. We continued our way towards the reactor and passed many overgrown houses on our way there. Until we arrived on a bigger straight road towards the north and were stopped again by military people. We had arrived at the 5 mile zone, the most heavily contaminated place surrounding the exploded reactor #4.

IMG_2724.JPG

This time no problems and after some paperwork we could continue towards the reactor. But first we pulled over to stop by the memorial site of the liquidators. A site erected in memorial of the fire fighters that went inside the exploded reactor to pour concrete underneath the melting core to prevent it from sinking into the riverbed. Which would have caused an even bigger disaster by polluting the water for ages to come. The fire fighters all died, most of them within 30 minutes due to radiation disease.

IMG_2723.JPG

We continued our way and soon the reactor site came into sight. And surprisingly a lot of activity too. I saw many people entering and leaving reactor #1 and #2 while we passed them. Also there were many military looking people driving around in the area. I really did not expect that, since I learned all the reactors where shutdown after the disaster with reactor #4. I sincerely doubt if that was the case back in 2008. Maybe that was the "problem" why it was so difficult to enter the site?

IMG_2727.JPG

We drove around the Nuclear complex and stopped at the memorial site near reactor #4. I was told only to take a quick picture and get back in, as the radiation in that place was so high that it was similar to 8 x-ray photo's per second. It was both scary as somehow exiting to actually stand in front of the reactor, the place I had read so much about. I took a few pictures and quickly went back in the car.

IMG_2737.JPG

The next stop would be in Pripyat. The town that housed about 50.000 people prior to the disaster on April 26, 1986. It was founded as the ninth "atomgrad" a type of closed town in the former Soviet union to serve a nearby Nuclear Power Plant complex, such as Chernobyl. The disaster happened on April 26, the town was evacuated in the morning of April 27. A few days prior to Labor-Day, for which a funfair was already setup.

mads-eneqvist-IM4b4ytWetg-unsplash.jpg
(source unsplash)

We stopped at the town square, a completely overgrown place what used to be the vibrant heart of the town. The place where restaurants, a theater and many activities took place. Now it was a desolated and creepy place. Surrounded by high-rise housing blocks. The thing I remember the strongest was the silence. There was no sound at all. Somehow this place was utterly dead, but it didn't scare me. It felt peacefully in a way. I know that might sound strange, but it is not a scary place. But when you think about the people who lived there, that were moved all over Russia after the evacuation (a way to hide the actual death rate) a sad feeling crawls in.

IMG_2734.JPG

IMG_2754.JPG

IMG_2744.JPG

IMG_2745.JPG

IMG_2752.JPG

IMG_2736.JPG

IMG_2751.JPG

IMG_2749.JPG

Pripyat is not a safe place to be for a long time as most of the fallout and radioactive dust and particles went right over the town after the explosion. Also its close to the reactor which is still emitting strong gamma rays. So we did not stay very long. We visited the former police station and drove a few streets passing the swimming pool and the funfair in a distance. My taxi driver had enough of it and the guide was not very willingly to go inside buildings. He had had relatives living in Pripyat and the whole place reminded him about the horror that had happened to them.

IMG_2755.JPG

IMG_2769.JPG

IMG_2756.JPG

IMG_2782.JPG

IMG_2767.JPG

IMG_2771.JPG

IMG_2759.JPG

IMG_2790.JPG

IMG_2789.JPG

IMG_2770.JPG

IMG_2784.JPG

IMG_2758.JPG

IMG_2757.JPG

IMG_2783.JPG

IMG_2773.JPG

IMG_2766.JPG

IMG_2787.JPG

IMG_2779.JPG

IMG_2778.JPG

IMG_2791.JPG

IMG_2786.JPG

We left the area without any question or problems. But we had to do a radiation screening to check if we were between the limits of acceptable radiation. How much that was in Ukraine 2008 I honestly don't know. Probably much more than we would find acceptable now a days. The signs were all green and we were back outside the exclusion zone.

IMG_2794.JPG

IMG_2795.JPG
IMG_2796.JPG

IMG_2801.JPG

IMG_2800.JPG

On our way back to Kiev the driver had to get some fuel. A few miles after that the car began to fail. He had put gasoline into a diesel car or the other way around. Anyway, we were in the midst of a forest, it was after sunset and it became pretty cold. He called someone and I could not make any sense out of it. Problem, problem again.

I'm not sure how long it took, but eventually two cars showed up. Fast and the furious kind of cars with lots of noise and bling. Two, not so trustworthy looking, guys came out and talked with the driver outside the vehicle. They had multiple cellphones and looked like the kind of guys that made a business out of shady stuff. This was the first time I felt uncomfortable. The driver had my passport and I was pretty much defenseless against anything they would have came up with. And there I was in the middle of a dark forest somewhere in Ukraine.

IMG_2419.JPG

But things are not always as bad as they seem. The guys were able to get the fuel out of the tank and replaced it with the right stuff. They drove along us until we entered the suburban areas of Kiev again and then suddenly left. At the hotel I had a good old tourist trap like issue with my driver. All of the sudden he demanded a lot of extra money for the "extra's" had provided. Fortunately I was able to get my passport back from the glove box in the car during the fuel issue.

Eventually I gave him my $5 watch and told him it was expensive it and was all I had to offer. He accepted and left. The next day I flew home.

Final thoughts.

In the summer of 2021 I went back to Kiev for a city trip. I was harassed by greedy and shady cab drivers at the airport. I took an Uber and payed $15 for a two hour heavy traffic drive to my hotel in the center of Kiev. It saved me $150 probably.

2021-06-11 15.18.43.jpg

2021-06-10 19.42.40.jpg

2021-06-12 15.15.49.jpg

2021-06-11 15.27.38.jpg

Thinking back of my adventure in 2008 I might call myself reckless or crazy at the time. But at the time I did not felt like that at all. I saw an opportunity to travel back in time. Back to history were the time had stopped all of the sudden. It was a way to experience something of the former Soviet Union. I was not scared at all, somehow the world felt more accessible to me than it does nowadays.

Nowadays tourist are lining up for a Chernobyl trip and daily "Exclusion zone" excursions are organized from out Kiev. Okay, there is a new sarcophagus build to cover the reactor, and gamma rays will be lower now, but nothing changed on the beta or alpha rays. The stuff that grows and the buildings of Pripyat that still exist have not changed.

Looking back, it was not the danger of radiation that kept me from going or made me reckless. I was going for an adventure without knowing what could happen. And that adventurous part of going for the unknown is still something that lives strongly within me. I sometimes think that nowadays we're somehow over protective and scared in a way. Everything is dangerous. My experiences as a traveler are the opposite.

The unknown might feel dangerous, but it's not. It's you not able to let go. As long as you think everything in your live is controllable you will find danger and risk in every corner. Living your live without that control burden is a way to become more free, and yest it's scary as hell to let it go.

Thanks for taking the time to read about this adventure and follow me for future post about my other adventures.

Best Thijs

Sort:  

Phenomenal post! Incredibly informative and spine-chilling. Well done and thank you for sharing these incredible images and your story.

Thank you very much for your interest and reading my post. It’s sad to see today’s images from Ukraine…

Geweldig post ! ik heb het hier heel goed naar mij zin gehad met deze post, ik kon niet meer met uw eens te zijn over hoe spanneng het is om naar de onbekende kante te gaan! congrats!

Dankjewel! Wat leuk om te lezen! Ja, het was best een spannende onderneming zo. De taal niet spreken en de iets doen waar niemand op zit te wachten. Bijzondere ervaring geweest. 😀🙏

Chernobil, a city full of history. Congrats for your post

Thank you very much!

Wow an amazing blog, even I wish for a long time to get to Kiev and of course Chernobyl.
Did you ever feel unsafe visiting Chernobyl, what are the people like, and with which travel agency and how much did the visit cost you?
Cheers!

Thanks for reading! I never felt unsafe, I knew a lot about the risks and the amount of radiation to know it was OK to visit for a few hours. Today it is even safer, as the former reactor is now covered.

The people in Ukraine are very friendly and polite. In bars and restaurants they speak some English, but they prefer German as a foreign language.

I did not use any travel agency as those did not exist at the time. Nowadays there are plenty like this one: https://chernobylvisit.com/

Thanks for the advice!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks a lot!😀👍

What an epic journey, and so glad that you found a taxi driver who really delivered what he said he'd do. Thanks for sharing

Thanks for reading my story! Yes, I was glad with that too. But eventually it was still a guy trying to make as much money out of it as possible. I can’t blame him for trying. This kind of travelling has learned me so much in so many ways. 😉👍👊

That's true, if you look at it from his point of view, he has the ability to offer something that wasn't easily available on the market. The free market always exists even in communist countries!! I think the most important thing is the value and experience that it brings to you and whether you think it's worth paying $150 for. My guess it is 😉

That is exactly what's its all about! In my experience in lots of communist countries (and former communist countries), the free market is the thriving market behind most of the grey curtain of states.

People and markets will always find each other. No government can change that. ;-) And yes, the 150 was definitely worth it, and I still believe that I payed that driver a fair amount for his efforts that day.

Chernobyl is such a different world from anything else you can visit in the 21st century. A real piece of history that can haunt you for days or even make you feel some of the past on your skin with all the radiation still going on. You were brave to take that trip!

Thank for reading. Yes, it’s a trip back in time. You literally go back to the day they evacuated the place. Everything is left behind. It’s both creepy as interesting.

Such a detailed post you have here! This is quite a story!
Your place in Top 3 is well deserved! Love your writting here, Thanks for taking us here, in this virtual tour around Chernobyl!

Thank you very much! 😀🙏🙏 The story was in my head for a long time, I thought this to be the right place to write it down. I feel honoured by so much positive responses. ☺️

Well, I think it is a good post, full of interesting things. It's not that usual to see posts like yours in places like Chernobyl! And it's really really a good post! Your writting is amazing!

Thank you so much for your kind words! ☺️🙏

You're more than welcome!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1448.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you so much! I'm really honored to have made it into the top 3! 😊🙏

Amazing summary of your trip. Such a historic important place. Probably one of the reasons the risks of nuclear power entered the public consciousness at all. I´m also happy to see read that you got your passport back during the fuel stop and the guys did not try anything.

Thanks for sharing 😀

Thanks for reading! 🙏 Yes, this disaster definitely put Nuclear risk on the map. Literally..
That fuel issue, really was the most scary part and I’m glad those guys were busy outside so I could get back my passport unnoticed. 😅

Your journey with all the setbacks you went through to achieve it has great value and meaning.
I never imagined that things would be like this even after all this time.
These experiences become windows for others.@thijsvermeer

Thank you very much Eva! I guess that's true. ;-)

Excellent publication, I liked it, very narrative and your photos are a bit sad, it was not easy to live in that place.

Thanks for reading! It must have very hard to live there. There is not much beauty to be found there to photograph. It’s more of a documentary.

beautiful photograpy!

Thanks a lot!😀🙏

Quite an adventure you had there! Funny I always though of Chernobyl as an abandoned place, learned something new today.

Thanks for reading!

Yes, I always thought the same. Recon my visit was in 2008, about twenty years after the disaster. Although I cannot prove anything I'm sure both reactors 1 and 2 were still in operation during my visit.

Maybe not for civilian power purposes, but something was going on there. The amount of military people and labor people suggested that the place was still in full operation and that somehow something important was till going there.

I'm not a conspiracy guy, but at the time I thought the idea made sense that the place was very useful to train "post nuclear" military strategies or to test equipment in high radioactive environments.

From a military perspective it is a very useful place to train and test post nuclear situations. And as no other country has such a place to practice it becomes a military advantage by itself.

Again, I'm not a conspiracy person but I never underestimate the other mans willingness to gain an advantage.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @thijsvermeer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What an interesting journey; thanks for sharing. It must have been quite an experience. Although I must confess that I don't think I would dare to visit Chernobyl even today.

Thank you for reading! It was quite an experience indeed! 😅

I would not recommend anyone going there, it is still a dangerous place to visit. Probably for many decades to come. Although a short visit is comparable with a transatlantic flight in regards to gamma (x-ray) radiation.

The biggest and most underestimated risk is in alpha and beta radiation, and in strontium-90 particles. Alpha is like al layer of particles on top of everything, like dust and beta is accumulated inside organic tissue like plans, mushrooms, animals and also old trucks and other metal objects. Strontium-90 is everywhere and very toxic. Ukraine government stopped measuring it in 2013, I guess to cover its risk in general.

**One should know about those dangers and decide upon their knowledge about radiation to go or not.
**
Today's bus tours visiting the area are pretty safe in my opinion. They avoid heavily contaminated areas as the "red forest" and places with a high accumulation of radioactive particles. And since the reactor is shielded with a new sarcophagus the amount of gammy radiation has dropped to acceptable levels for a short visit.

I am not encouraging anyone to to take risks. Read about it, judge for yourself and base your decision on your own research.

Cheers,
Thijs

As interesting as I find the experience, I'm sure it's not for me. I would rather not visit a few places in the world, and Chernobyl is among them. I guess we are all different in terms of risk tolerance or what we prefer to take risks, and for me, exposing myself to radiation is not one of them. And if I had any doubts, the images of the HBO series on Chernobyl dispelled them completely. Anyway, thank you for all the information regarding the dangers involved in a visit there.

But it still seems to be a great adventure that you went there and even more in the time when you visited it when it had not yet become a "tourist" destination.

So thanks again for sharing your experience. Cheers!

Remember heard on documentary something about few families/people that live there. If I'm not wrong... they refuse to got out or they went back after.

That’s correct, the area is quiet big and several small villages are there. Some people still live there. They eat from the land and drink the water. They seem to be fine. Also a lot of animals and wildlife, like wolfs and wild horses, live there. The absence of men gives them a lot of freedom and the radiation does not seem to harm them…


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.