A simple Vanlife Getaway to the Italian Coast

in Pinmapple8 months ago (edited)

A simple Vanlife Getaway to the Italian Coast

Today I will take you with me on an ordinary Vanlife day spend near Genoa, at the coast of Italy. I found a very peaceful and quiet parkingspot on Park4Night, the camperapp I use to find (mostly) free spots for the night. There was space for just 3 vans, it was a dead ending street so no traffic and trespassers, Just a quiet spot by the ocean. Finding this kinda spot always makes my day! And to make myself even more grateful: I had a really cool neighbor as well!



cln0pics403x38aszgemo44xe_IMG_20230718_093319_361-01.webp
At this spot I met Karolina, a awesome fellow Vanlifer. She just started traveling together with her Dog. She dreamed of this life since she was a little child, worked 3 jobs to acually make it come true and bought Miles, her home on wheels! She is currently starting her own jewelery brand to support her travels. Meeting people like Karolina who work so hard to make their dreams come true is always so inspiring! I love her hippy-soul!
cln0piivw041i1oszgyut1jsp_IMG20230717145829.webp
The yellow Van is mine as most people probably know by now, the white Camper is of Karolina, my Neighbor for the day. Isn't it a cool parkingspot? Sometimes I can still not believe that I can just decide to live here. Vanlife brings so much freedom with it!
cln0pimwx040v15sz1zb9gnz1_IMG20230717152710.webp
The view from the window: Just the ocean!
cln0piskr03vt6uszf6p9algl_IMG-20230717-WA0000.webp
In the morning, I made myself a smoothie to start the day healthy and tasty. I really love smoothies and they really make the start of the day much better! I should definitely make more smoothies though! Just sip it while looking at the ocean. Life feels complete! But to be honest, I eat more often desserts for breakfast than smoothies. I love desserts for breakfast
cln0pixic03u89ysz7ef3h7az_IMG20230716181047.webp
Laundry needs to be done sometimes as well. I try to do a handwash once in a while between the machine washes. I don't have much clothes so it is nice to have something fresh. The stairs at the back of my van are the perfect drying rack for some T-shirts.
cln0piw4t03z8awszdduk8kfy_IMG_20230718_093314_086.webp
After the simple chores like breakfast and washing is done, it is playtime! I love it how the light falls on the ocean and the view is endless. We did some snorkeling to explore what was below the surface and I can tell you: Not much to see but still fun!
cln0pizhm03rf7xsze9td59mn_IMG_20230718_093317_000.webp
Funfact: I used to be 15 kilos heavier and fat floats so it used to be very hard for me to dive without weights, I would just float. I am really happy that I am able to do it now and practice more for when I am in the nicer waters with lots of life to see
cln0pj8wr03u04jszd4zod1ld_IMG20230717152713.webp

Thank you for reading my little story. At first I thought I didn't take enough pictures to share but I am actually really happy to see how my story turned out and I feel like I have given you quite a nice impression in a day of Vanlife! Let me know what you think!

Regards,
Sascha


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

This looks like a great spot and it's cool to meet someone who has the #vanlife in common with you, I imagine you'd meet many such people though. I laughed a little about the fat floats comment, I didn't know that and had images of someone bobbing around on the surface like a cork, arms flailing trying to get under the water. Thanks for the laugh. ✅

Haha I think it wasn't that bad, I have always be fine with my weight and the fact that my Filipino friends nicknamed me big girl (partly because I am tall)

I actually didn't meet so many cool Vanlifers since I didn't really went to the Hotspots until now (I'm in Sardinia, I'm so much behind on my blog) Most time before I spend in France where the people with campers are most likely already retired. However, I met so many cool people since I am in Sardinia and today I even met the most beautiful Vanlife couple I have ever met. It truly warms up my heart.

Ah ok, you're posting after the fact about things that happened in the past.

So, retired people aren't cool? I think there's so much to be gained by interacting with people who have lived much more life than ourselves, one can learn from their experiences, gain wisdom and have the chance to apply it. Maybe that's not cool, but I think it is.

I totally agree with that, I loved the time in my old job were we had beer friday and I was between all older people since the young people were in school. But Germans and French people usually just speak their own language and I might just not be social enough to start like a conversation with them. Had some conversations in very very broken English with french people but it is just tiring if you can't really talk. It's not a real conversation if you get what I mean. The young people do usually speak english and are comfortable to speak in a foreign language.

Yep, the Germans and the French are like that. In all my travels I've always tried to open every conversation in the language of the country; they realise pretty quickly I can't speak much (although I speak some French and Italian) and they revert to English mostly. I guess they respect that I tried.

That sounds like a good way! But most French people with campers I encountered really don't speak a word of English. It is better under the younger generations.

You had a great time relaxing on that cool and quite coast, thank you for showing your place to us. Surely it took all my stress by looking at the beautiful pictures you have shared.

I am glad to hear that! Thanks for passing by :)

Omg! I also live this kind of life, with full of adventure and travels. Whoa, whoa (人 •͈ᴗ•͈). Just thinking that I can go visit different place if I have my own van like this is enough to excites me. (✯ᴗ✯)

Yeahhh it is highly recommended! It gives so much freedom!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, what a wonderful place. great place to spend a great day. Thanks for sharing 🙂

I don't have a van but your post made me want to buy one. Freedom is an important value and your post reminded me how beautiful it is.
!LUV

So much fun. Enjoy!!

Nice place and nice pictures, thanks for showing us that place.

Are you a full timer or a weekend warrior? I just finished a 4 year full time #vanlife adventure myself. Had some great experiences, and learned more about myself and what I can handle than in any other life situation. I can say though that it's not always a picture perfect lifestyle, lol. It's messy at times, lol. Wouldn't have traded that time for anything now that I am looking back at it. Unfortunately my transmission on my van died and it was going to cost WAY too much to fix so I had to say goodbye. Now I am back on family property and starting my #homesteading journey!

4 years! That sound like quite some experiences indeed!
For me it has been "just" 4 months now. I don't know yet if I am gonna be a real fulltimer as I might wanna go to Asia for the Winter season.

It is a beautiful lifestyle, but also getting used to a shower to little, running out of everything and toilets being full when you need them the most. I love it but it is definitely not for everyone. I have so many places I still wanna visit. Next year I hope to make it to Iceland or Turkey (with all its beautiful stops on the way like the Alps and Tatras and much more)

Yeah, I didn't travel like that, just stayed in the US. As far as showers and such, Planet Fitness or Anytime Fitness is your friend, lol.

USA is pretty much like all of Europe together! From Holland, I can cross through Belgium, Luxemburg, France and Switzerland all the way to Italy in just one day. The countries are lots smaller here.
And for showers, I don't do fitness, but I actually have a shower but don't use it daily. Here it is harder/impossible to find a fitness chain which has so many locations.
I'm currently in Italy wondering where to throw my Garbage 🤣 literally drove around the city but failed. Tomorrow is working day so hopefully I can get rid of it on Monday. For today: I failed. Cheers to vanlife

Yeah… the biggest problem with Van life is waste … what to do with it …

I’d like to move to Sardinia some day. When I retire… 😂

You are living the dream. I am so jealous <3 and I miss snorkeling/freediving. The last time I went snorkeling was in the south of Spain. :D