Let's Camp at Hidden Gem by Lake Como | Italy

in Pinmapple8 months ago


Let's Camp at Hidden Gem by Lake Como, Italy


This free parkingplace/unofficial Campsite is located on a penisula at the lake Como, in the North of Italy. The lake is surrounded by mountains and the location is just Stunning and peaceful. Next to this hidden gem you can find an Abby, which I shared with you in my previous blog. This is truly one of the most amazing, simple places I have been. Life feels so simple and back to basics. It is in the middle of nowhere and there is nothing but everything you need.

1000023684.jpg

What was supposed to be a couple of days became one week at the lake. The area was stunning, with not much to do, just a place to be and reconnect. There were many younger people parked here than in most places I visited. In most places you find mainly retired Germans and Retired French people with campers. I am sure the average age at this lakeside was at least 50 years lower than most places I stayed.

The people I have met there were really cool, some living in their van, some escaping reality from their busy work or university life back home. I met a German guy who just bought a tiny tiny van just the weekend before, and left. His van fitted a mattress and nothing more but was good for some holiday. I met a Czech couple who went on a one month road trip and we shared stories over some beer, and there was an Italian guy living fulltime in his van with a giant dog. It seems really nice to share Vanlife with a dog though. My direct neighbors were a German family who camped there every year with their tents. They did this already for 30 years, a beautiful way to truly connect on their daily games night.

1000025339.jpg
The parking lot when I just arrived. I took later the spot of the camper at the left, as that one had the most beautiful view

1000021658.jpg
*The view from my window I know I should clean them some time but not today

1000021528.jpg
This picture is taken from my favourite spot where I used to sit every day before and after my swim. It is just majestic, this beautiful lake surrounded by mountains. In my head I already mapped out some mountains I wanted to hike. I didn't make it to hike any as I had some appointment in Austria but it is another reason to come back here

1000029142.jpg
The Abbey next door. I wrote about this place in my previous blog. It has a watertap and toilets, that is one of the reasons the spot is so popular as many campers don't have a toilet. Here, many of the campers Used the abbeys toilets

1000021527.jpg

Morning routine, getting some water at the Abbey

1000021485.jpg
After work, chilling in my luxurious bath

1000023640.jpg

1000023646.jpg


Look at this cuties!

1000023648.jpg

1000023684.jpg


The view from the camp

1000023682.jpg
A photograph I took during a little walk in the area

1000021663.jpg
*My neighbours came with their cars and tents, going fully back to basics!
Since I work while traveling, I did spend a good amount of time behind my laptop but it felt amazing to throw my laptop aside after a long workshift and dive in the lake for a refreshing swim and stay at the lakeside for sunset. I felt like I had everything I needed right there. This felt for me as a ''much needed holiday'', as I have been working quite a lot while still traveling every offday, often eating my dinners at 22PM or even later sometimes, eager to see and do more and make the most out of my free days. Although I am truly grateful for everything, I realize I should sometimes take one step back as traveling is already like a ''fulltime job'' on its own, and taking care of myself always becomes my last priority. Here it wasn't like that (okay I still forget to eat sometimes but that is fine I guess)

1000021657.jpg

Inside my slightly messy Van

I am sure that this scenery and livestyle, Jumping in the lake everyday Instead of showering everyday.
It is one of the places I will desire the most to go back to when I am back in Holland. That is the curse of traveling. It doesn't matter where you are, there is always a place you felt home and wanna go back to. But I will cherish the beautiful memories and the feeling with me, forever in my heart.

Thank you for reading my little blog. I know I should have taken more pictures to truly share my experiences but I hope I could still transfer an image of this amazing hidden Gem at the Como lake to you.


See you next time!

Regards,
Sascha

Sort:  

Just imagining the camping van life, for sure is awesome. I really don't mind traveling alone as long as the basics are there. But my husband prefers to have a nice bathroom, at least. XD hehe!

Hey I have a nice bathroom as well!!(It only doesn't have water on the moment 😂 I really get what you mean. Vanlife is beautiful but nothing luxurious)

Hehe, a nice bathroom would be awesome. Coz my husband and I just have different personalities in terms of traveling. When we met, I was the backpacker staying in hostels. He was on a different level, more on convenience but reasonable. He needs a good mattress for his back pain while I can sleep on a simple little mattress on the floor. I can sleep anywhere with no problem. Indeed, van life is beautiful. Also, in the Philippines, we find this a luxury but maybe it is just me. <3 <3 <3

I would love to one day live that experience of traveling in a van, the place is beautiful and relaxing, the landscape of the lake and the mountains in the background inspiring, it must be great to share and meet people of different nationalities in such a beautiful place.

I can only recommend it! It is beautiful to just decide where you wanna live for the week or even for the month

I really enjoyed the Lago di Como region when I was there, it's so beautiful and there's amazing things to see there. I interspersed it with a trip to Milan as well, a completely different vibe, and was happy to come back and spend some days in and around the area. I even took a float-plane flight over it and the the Swiss Alps...Amazing.

I'm not surprised you liked it so much, it's a really beautiful part of the world.

That must have been an amazing experience with the plane! Also the Alps are like no other place on earth. I would love to spend some more time there next summer.

I think this Milan-Como area is my favourite here in Italy, it has literally everything. The city is one of the best in Europe, with a few hours you are by the sea and with just a little train ride you are at Como. I could literally live here.

It certainly was, such great views and, of course, the float plane itself was kind of cool.

It's a really great area, as you point out, and has a nice balance, a really great vibe and is pretty easy to get around from place to place. I think I could live there too...Maybe we should go halves on a villa? Lol.

a Villa with swimming pool sounds pretty good!

I'll start saving my pocket money. 😋

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Travel Digest #2008.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you so much!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, I loved the River, I love bathing in rivers around the world. Your van looks amazing on the inside, it seems to have everything you need.

Wow, this place looks really interesting 🙂 Very top photographs. Thank you for sharing a little of your day with us 🙂

It's a beautiful place and that camping spot you found looks like a nice place to catch some views of it. Waking up in the morning to views like this would never get old.

Becca 🌷

Yeah exactly! I am so glad I found this spot!