Trying out my Inflatable Kayak at the Ardèche | France

in Pinmapple9 months ago (edited)

1000014966.jpg

The Ardèche is a beautiful area in France where I have been quite a few times as a child. The area is good for hiking, but as well for Kayaking and swimming in the beautiful river.

A bit earlier this summer, I bought an inflatable kayak for some fun adventures on the water and this day was a perfect day to put some air in and see how it works out. It came with a pump and the paddles included. I found a parking as near to the river as possible and within a few minutes, the kayak was bloated and ready to go!

1000014958.jpg

1000014959.jpg
Before and after. I put the air in on the parking lot and could carry the paddles in my roll-top bag.

1000014992.jpg

1000014986.jpg

1000014981.jpg

I was carrying it awkwardly and a man stopped and offered me a ride as he was heading to the campsite located directly at the river! Always nice to encounter nice strangers!

I threw my ship in the water and was surprised how comfortable it went! I peddled downstream but aware that I had to peddled back as well, therefore I didn't go to far. It felt so nice and so good to be out at the water! I felt like getting a kayak is a good choice and lots cheaper than renting all the time.

1000014983.jpg
I put the kayak back on land to have a break before heading back. I put my feet out in the water and relaxed

Being out there made me feel like I wanted to take the long kayak tour, deflate it at the end and take the bus home with my kayak in a shopping bag but I couldn't as I left to late and my aim was to just see if it at least floats well. Besides, they predicted thunder and heavy rainfall so heading home too late did not sound wise. The next day I had to work again so doing it the next day wasn't possible as well, and I had to head down the next destination to meet Samuel, but I know I have a reason to come back here together with my awesome kayak!

1000015023.jpg
After I while I arrived at a point where I could get my kayak at some "dead point" of the river in the shade, where it wouldn't drift away. I enjoyed the shade and just layed down for a while, with the kayak just going with the movement of the water*

1000014967.jpg
When I looked up the sky, I saw beautiful birds flying over, on the hunt for some mouse or other snack. There are quite a lot of those birds here in France

After I returned at the starting point I felt burning hot, which makes it even nicer to jump in the water! The water was cold but nice and refreshing. I also talked with some family at the beach. They started to speak in Dutch about my kayak, that it looks so comfortable, not knowing that I was Dutch as well (even though I look so Dutch following most people).

After a really nice, relaxing day at the river, I went back to my campervan and drove to the parking lot of the Lidl supermarket, since it was free parking and unlike the river parking, it had good internet connection. Vanlife is good but not always beautiful like in social media, but sometimes I am happy to just enjoy some ugly supermarket parking lot. And it are the days like this one on the river which make it so worth it!

Thank you for reading my blog!

Regards,
Sascha

Sort:  

I've wondered what those inflatables are like actually; seemingly not too bad. I haul my kayaks with a trailer which works great however if I'm towing my camper trailer I cannot also tow my kayak trailer so I leave them home. A decent inflatable would allow me to stow it. Hmm, I might have to look into what I can find.

Have you seen these from my country? https://au.orukayak.com/pages/compare

I personally don't know the brand but they look good and more professional than mine. Mine has the vins underneath but I just bought it at Lidl (German supermarket chain know for cheap stuff with decent quality). But a kayaking guide told me that the pro of an inflatable kayak is that they bounce back if you bump against a rock. I'm not a profi so I honestly don't know. I only know that we always had cheap inflatable boats (like 30 euros) as a kid which always broke down. This one feels a little bit stronger though.

I figured it was a cheaper option, I've seen similar here that are also available at places like Lidl and Aldi. I'd it does the job then that all you need right? Enjoy.

Yes it does! Thank you!

Your inflatable kayak looks comfortable to lie on as second to the last picture implies. 😊 The place is serene and maybe you could try coming back, explore more of its wonders when your schedule permits. And oh, I agree, it's good to encounter nice strangers!

Thank you for sharing this experience of yours @xsasj 🥰. Stay safe!

Oh yeah it actually was! Felt like it would be so comfortable to just sleep on it overnight if I would tie it well and it doesn't rain. It's even more comfy than it looks like

What a beautiful place!! Kayaking there must have been amazing!!

Hiya, @pinmapple here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #1992.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Awesome. Kayaks are the best ….
Enjoy !!!!

IMG_3612.jpeg

Oh yeah it is!

Hello @xsasj
You are doing great! Kayak while seeing beautiful sky

I really enjoying your post with your beautiful pictures

Greetings

Thank you! I am glad you enjoyed my blog :)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I guess this a less expensive way to go kayaking... But how much is it btw?

I paid around 200 euros but renting is often around 30 euros for a few hours in France so it makes it a good choice :)

Indeed it was.. And you can bring it anywhere too..

Great that's amazing place

Yeah it was! Thank you!

Welcome dear 😊

It's a beautiful place!

Your adventure on the Ardèche river with the inflatable kayak sounds like an incredible experience! 🚣‍♂️ The serene surroundings and picturesque waters offer a perfect setting for kayaking and relaxation. It's great to hear that your inflatable kayak worked out well, providing an affordable and convenient way to enjoy the water.
The photos you've shared capture the essence of your journey, from inflating the kayak to gliding along the river. The moment when a kind stranger offered you a ride to the campsite adds a heartwarming touch to your story.
Exploring the river, taking breaks in the shade, and observing the local wildlife must have been truly rejuvenating. Your willingness to share your genuine experiences, even the less glamorous moments like staying at a supermarket parking lot, makes your post relatable and authentic.
Thank you for taking us along on this exciting adventure, and I hope you get to return with your awesome kayak for more real-life adventures in the future! 🌊🛶😊

We got an inflatable SUP for a cheap price. It was struggling for me to use the pump when it reached 12 SPI, should make it to 15 SPI to complete the inflation. Your kayak is more comfortable than our SUP. Haha! And you got a nice 360 camera. :D

Kayaking is still on my go-to list and looking at how fun you had it, I want it too! What would be the biggest challenge of living a Vanlife? I am considering doing that but with my parents and seasonal.