Zeitz Mocca Art Museum - Cape Town

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Hello all! This is my first time using Pinmapple so I hope that I am doing it right! All these photos were taken by me on my camera phone!

Zeitz Mocca is a striking building that is easy to spot as you drive into Cape Town's Waterfront area. This is at the Cape Town docks where the tourist area has encroached on the working docks area. This museum was opened in 2017 and it is specifically a non-profit art museum.

But do not fret, I cannot show you the art in my photos. That's someone else's IP. This post and my pictures are however focused on the building itself and the architecture involved!

This structure was actually originally a Grain Silo built in the 1920s! They took this very industrial building and turned it into a literal work of art. It houses a museum, a hotel, and a restaurant!

As you can see the area around the sile is now also part of the tourist attractions in the V&A Waterfront with shops, restaurants and hotels being its nearest neighbors.

img_0.2941913372559074

Above is the entrance shed structure that leads to the entrance of the silo/museum. These gates "1" and "2" would be where trucks would drive in to collect and deliver grain. This silo was likely used to house grain before shipping it out of the country.

This front area have a lot of the origional machinery that was used in the Silo.

img_0.7406212908175246

Inside we can see that this tightly packed collection of silo tubes were cut away to make a sort of honey-comb effect! Not only did they cross section this structure, they did it in a bubble curve! Amazing!

img_0.8077113214627546

Look at those long curved cuts. This is really hard concrete but this would have needed to be cut and observed over a period of time to get it so smooth and uniform!

img_0.1497523981764426

Above is what you will see if you right to the top. Those glass panes are what keeps the rain out of the tube structures I show further up! This is right next to the restaurant. Don't worry, it is safe to walk over!

img_0.5950400661145482

There you can see my boot...

img_0.6418898021717604

Here you can look in the direction of the Metro and Table Mountain beyond. On the other side of this, it looks out onto the ocean.

img_0.9571729561206785

The structure still goes up from here, but this section is the hotel. Very distinctively is the steelwork and glass windows that make bubbles. Together with the rounding of the outside silo structures, this is a structure that stands out due to those many curves on its surface.

img_0.7099328905338843

A view of Table Mountain!
Unfortunately, this is not exactly a view that any visitor would be able to see from the museum. I was able to go onto the roof because of work! This is what you can expect on a clear winter day. Usually Cape Town gets a lot of rain during the winter, in between you still get wonderful days like this!

img_0.1720972305698115

Thank you for checking out my first location pinned in Pinmapple! Hopefully I can add many more!

Cheers!
@zakludick

Sort:  

Awesome post and write up/ photos to give a great feel of it @zakludick.

I am no art/museum, waterfront type big visitor (was a different story during my Cape Tech study days with night time visits to the docks and Berties Landing type establishments lol.) but I went and saw it(the revamped silos/ building) and the then current art display about four years ago when it was still pretty "new" with my eldest sister & my brother in law who were out for a visit from New Zealand.

My work life has been in construction since national service after school and with a bursary from Group 5 for my studies (myself or my parents couldn't afford the fees etc.) I had had to work for them for 5 years afterwards as payback for it. My work with them involved larger type construction including a couple of buildings in the Waterfront & the Members Pavillion stand at Newlands cricket ground and more which all involved pretty high tech concrete structural work .....so......when I went to the silos...

My mind was blown away with what must have been the initial construction and more so with what they have turned it into & added....incredible! Everyone involved, from blue collar workers, white colour workers and professional teams must have sweated getting that right.

These days I am just a handyman trying to scrape together a few bob to go go out for a beer once every few months lol.

Thanks for sharing that....it awakened old memories and sorry for the long response :)

Your response is greatly appreciated!

You should consider doing some posts for STEMGeeks!

Lovely architecture and nice photos. You captured the essence of the structure designs at amazing angles.

Also, I love the backdrop of Table Mountain displayed from the roof.

Thanks for sharing.

Read from LN

!LUV
!LADY

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1630.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Cool! Thank you very much!

I haven't been here since it became an art museum! I have several friends who have been and have found some of the art exhibits quite harrowing and dark - luckily you can move onto the next room and find things more to your taste - maybe they were just extra sensitive!

Apparently a lot of the exhibits change all the time.

I haven't seen a lot of the current stuff. I was there less than a month ago doing a survey on their equipment.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Zeitz Mocca

Those are really huge silos and it's so beautiful on the inside and bigger.

I'm sure this place will be part of the tourist centers in cape Town, it's really so attractive.

Thank you so much for sharing these amazing shots with us sir, it's just so incredible.

Thank you very much! I am glad that you liked it!

You're welcome Sir, I enjoyed the walk with you 🤗.