We were smart but Mum was smarter.

in Comedy Open Mic7 months ago

Last week we had power failure for 4 days, the pole carrying the electric cable supplying light to our street fell down as a result of the heavy breeze that came before the rain, although it didn't rain much afterwards but the breeze caused havock, and trust these NEPA people it took them four days to come and fix the pole and reconnect the light. I felt safe initially because of my power bank ( the only trusted bank in Nigeria hehe).

On the second day of the power outage, my power bank drained and so did my phone, I quickly told my younger bro to go put on the generator so I could power my phone as I can't stay with my phone's battery being flat for the whole day. I must say I feel so great being able to give such an order right now hehe.
photo-1688396059871-bf3481ca67f9.jpeg
Image here

There are certain things only adults can do in my house like putting on the generator for any reason, I could remember back in the days as younger boys growing up, we did most these things hidenly without our parents knowing. like putting on the generator to watch movie when they go out for work, or sneaking out of the house at night through the back door to go and buy fried egg and indomie from the Meshai guy down the street hehe.
things we can do freely now as adults.

During that period when Merlin was the raining seasonal movie, I remember how we would put on the generator once our parents are away for work and we would make sure to put it off just before they come back. On one occasion mum nearly caught us. It was as if she suspected we were waiting for her to go out so we would do something and she was bent on finding out. Trust me as children we all thought we were wiser, but our parents knew us very well and every move we made passed a message to them.

On that faithful day mum purposely left her handset as they call it, and came back like 30mins later to pick it. It seems she was already suspecting that we were using the generator when they go out for work because of the way the fuel finishes fast these days.

Trust children, we made sure all the outside lights were off, when we heard a nock on the gate I was the small one then so I was sent to go check it out, on discovering it was mum, I ran back to the house to signal my elder ones who quickly went to off the generator, but mum's suspicion was already high, when she came inside the house she was looking at our faces as to find out what we were doing hehe, but trust boys, instead of us to tell her make heaven come down hehe.

somehow she noticed the position of the younger ones on the cushion as they were all facing the television, but she couldn't say anything because no evidence hehe.

Back in the days when it was those pregnant TV's with elongated backsides, not the plasma TV we have everywhere now. she just went to touch the back of the TV to check if it was hot, and boom! we knew we have entered soup hehe. my elder bro quickly began to explain that the television is doing over heating and it's probably the heat from previous night hehe but trust me, it was already late. hehe, the woman purposely left the ceiling fan inside her room on, so she went directly inside her room to see the ceiling fan still rotating, at that point my elder bro who was doing the explanations just gave up trying to formulate more lies as he knew that they don finally catch us hehe.

you want to know how the story ended hehe, I didn't receive any punishment as I was not involved in any of it, of course y'all know that I'm a very innocent child hehe. but my big bro and the one following him received the beating of their life later in the night when my Dad the Iron man came back from work hehe.

Ok, I'm here giving command that they should put on the generator even with Mum and Dad present in the house hehe, you can't try it back in those days. Being a child is one very boring time of someone's life, I know you don't agree but I still like the fact that I'm an adult, omo I just dey pity small children hehe.

Thank you for reading through.

pls do well to drop a comment, tell me about your childhood experience that you tried acting wiser than your parents, also tell me if you succeeded hehe.

Sort:  

I never had any experience as such because I am and still remain the head of the siblings. So no such drama. But at some points, I broke my dad's second car windscreen and someone else was punished for it. May God forgive us for our youthful childishness. Smiles.

Amen bro 😅 I believe God has forgiven us already because I regret most of those things with all my heart, but they are funny when we remember them now.

Surely funny, because I remembered laughing when I was falsely vindicated. We've done things.

lol… when we have power outages

I would secretly go and on the generator when my parents are not around and would time when they would return

Just like us 😂 we had our unlucky day, although it did not stop us from doing it but we became more careful.

Well, at some point I did and was successful. I commited a crime and I removed my eye lids and placed on my Mons chair. After that I thought she would have forgotten. Immediately she said you are still going to be beaten 😭 I could not laugh nor cry because I thought I was saved lol

Haha 😂😂 there are some crimes that you commit that your parents only get peace of mind after they have punished you, I guess it was like that for most homes.

Yeah, you are very correct. One can't resist that

😂😂😂 99 days for the thief, 1 day for the owner.

Mine happened this way. Mum went out and I fetch the baby milk and started licking, pour some for my kid sis. Just when we were having a good time, I heard my mum's footsteps approaching the door.

I quickly poured the milk that was left in my hands and wipes my face. Went and did same for my kid sis just for her to start crying.

She went and reported me that I threw her milk away. That was how I got caught 🤦🏻‍♀️

😂😂 this is funny seriously 😅
Your little sis ended up exposing you. And the worst is that in such situations you'll have to bear the punishment alone. But you sef why did you throw her milk away 😂

I was trying to clean my track oo. That was where I messed up.

Like you know. I took the cross alone.

As expected 😅

Congratulations @stevewealth! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners

Thank you so much

You're welcome @stevewealth.

If you like our badges and us keeping track of your achievements, we need your support too!
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on our proposal page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248. It won't cost you anything!
Thank you.