Fungi Friday - Off to the Northwoods

Here's a redux post of fungi pictures for this #fungifriday by @ewkaw
20200820_192339.jpg

I'm headed up to Wisconsin and Michigan to hunt for mushrooms in the upper peninsula.

20200822_203302.jpg
There will be a few days of camping and hiking with hopefully many new fungi finds.

20200820_070837.jpg
I will definitely be searching for this pink tipped coral again as it grew in the campground I stayed at last time.

20200820_071602.jpg
In fact the whole campground was covered in strange coral fungi.

20200820_070417.jpg
Most of this coral isn't edible but the pink tipped and crown tipped coral are.

20200820_132914.jpg
I checked the weather and it is supposed to be a bit humid on a couple of the days I'm there, this means lots of well watered mushrooms should be out.

20200822_180606.jpg
Plenty of amanitas should be out as well.

20200820_085632.jpg
Hopefully there will be lobsters too.

20200820_190734.jpg
Given the time of year I expect to find quite a few chanterelles out too.

20200822_173929.jpg
If the mushrooms are hiding at least there is plenty of opportunities for hiking and swimming.

More fungi soon... Happy #fungifriday

Sort:  

I'm so envious! Have a marvelous time UP there!

I hope it doesnt get too cold or rainy...

Fingers crossed for you! I've been up there when it's cold and rainy. Hoping for sunshine and no bugs..

 3 years ago  

Mushrooms, of course, are interesting. But the river!!!! This is simply divine!

Hope it will be warm enough for swimming.

 3 years ago  

Good luck!

I found a few but not that many edibles. Too early in the season.

 3 years ago  

👌

Hello @sketch.and.jam
Interesting types of mushrooms. Sitting around the campfire in the evening and relaxing is great.
This post will curating manually by hive-117778 < CampingClubHive vote trail with value 100%. for good work.
Best Regards
Camping Club Hive Community CCH

Thanks, I'll definitely contribute more to this community.

chanterelles !! wish you filds of chanterelles :P

and a !PIZZA when you are back home

@hive-166168, sorry! You need more $PIZZA to use this command.

The minimum requirement is 20.0 PIZZA liquid, and 0.0 PIZZA staked.

More $PIZZA is available from Hive-Engine or Tribaldex

All the mushrooms that you show are really very beautiful.

Thanks I found a few new ones on my trip to the northwoods forests.

Yes.
It is very cool.

I also like to draw and play an assortment of stringed instruments and drums! And psilocybin.

Awesome, just be careful not to permanently change your brain chemistry with psilocybin.

I thought that was the goal.

Lol I know a guy who grew his own and ate them everyday now he is living under the bridge trying to take bites out of rocks thinking they are apples.

Wow that is some strange behavior. I'll do a bunch at a time, but only a couple times a year, if that. Everyday seems like you'd never bring what you learned back to your life.

Truth! I never understood People who did em all the time. You loose the benefits and can do damage long term in my opinion.
Obviously I’m talking the special kind 🍄

Best to let your brain have a chance to refocus a bit.