"Ghost Busters: Frozen Empire" by Gil Kenan Review: Can it Capture the Magic of the Original?

Greetings!

Ghostbusters is one of the most famous and beloved film franchises ever. The first film was Ghostbusters in 1984, followed by Ghostbusters II in 1989, five years after the original film. Then it was remade as Ghostbusters in 2016, then Ghostbusters: Afterlife in 2021 which has mixed reactions from fans alike. And now Ghostbusters: Frozen Empire seeks to recreate the magic of the original film which stars Bill Muray.

I do love the first two films. I watched them multiple times and lost track of how many times I watched both films on free television and cable TV. The first one is magical and the sequel is good enough to make a fan love the franchise more. Watching them after a couple of years still gives you that amazement at their creations, it's a classical masterpiece.

"Ghostbusters: Frozen Empire" is all about the ascension of a dark entity that was imprisoned on an orb by the Firemaster more than a century ago. The dark entity harnesses freezing ability and the only one to stop him is the Firemaster.

I love the opening scene

I like the opening scene very much with the plot immediately establishing what we will expect in the remainder of the movie, below-freezing scenes. What I like very much in the opening scene is the presence of the orb and the one that holds it inside a room where all are frozen except for the one entity that holds an orb which is revealed to be a containment device and the one holding it is the Firemaster who was able to imprison a dark entity called Garraka.

The orb which is on the hand of the Firemaster on the opening scene (source: screenshot from Ghostbusters: Frozen Empire)

Mysterious character

I also like the sneak peek of the movie's villain when it is shown that it is indeed inside an orb that the firemaster holds and is patiently waiting for more than a century to escape and rule the world. The sneak peek which shows only the eyes of the villain is very nice. And I must admit that the opening scene did capture the magic of the first film.

Sneak peel of the villain of the movie, this sneak peek happened in 1904, exactly 120 years today (source: screenshot from Ghostbusters: Frozen Empire)

Love the reference to the original

I also love the reference to the first Ghostbusters in 1984 which Bill Murray was the leading protagonist. The movie even shows a clip of the team from 1984, the now-famous scene where the four Ghostbusters were running side-by-side. To be honest, I am not expecting to see some clips of the original Ghostbusters team from 1984. I was surprised when a clip of the four original Ghostbusters was shown, and it was good.

The original Ghostbusters from 1984 (source: screenshot from Ghostbusters: Frozen Empire)

I love the new cast

I must admit that I love the new cast of this movie. I think the production team has done a good job choosing the stars on this one. Of course, it was also nice that three of the original Ghostbusters were included in this movie.

Playing chess with a ghost

I also like the scene where one of the protagonists played chess against a ghost. And unbeknownst to me, the ghost was actually a henchman of Garraka.

Conclusion: the end of the post, final thoughts.

All in all, I love this new iteration of Ghostbusters. The opening scene is great, the production team has done a good job in establishing of the plot and the villain's sneak peek. All the scenes lead to the finale of the movie. I am sure any Ghostbusters fan will love this movie. The only thing that I think that this movie lacks in the final scenes is the intensity of the battle (the battle between the villain and the heroes were short a best).


That is all for now guys, catch you up with the next one. Wishing you all safety, good health, and abundance.


Thank you very much to all of the Hive Ecosystem Curation Teams/Individuals, I am very grateful for the upvotes/curation/support. God bless you all!


I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, and farming (rice/vegetables), and I have two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Sort:  

I did see the 2016 Ghostbusters and I enjoyed the adventure so much. I'll check this one out. Hopefully, I'll like it too.

This one is good, check it out.