"Last Night in Soho" directed by Edgar Wright: An Unexpected Twist

in Movies & TV Shows15 days ago

Introduction

I have seen a lot of "Last Night in Soho" this month but it was not enough for me to watch. I skipped past this film many times in favor of I think more appealing films. But because one of the protagonists is Anya Taylor-Joy I finally decided to watch and make a review that I can share with the community.

The Film's Narrative

The film's story is about a young girl whose dream is to go to London and study fashion. There, she was forced to leave a dormitory to live alone in another place. Little did she know what would happen next would have a profound effect on her future and her future in fashion design.

Thoughts

"Last Night in Soho" captured my interest (which I am a bit surprised) because of the uncertain future of Ellie. At the beginning of the film, Ellie sees her mother in a mirror. I thought she would continue to see her mother in her dorm or after she left her dorm but it wasn't. Instead, she was pulled into something unexpected.

Below is a screenshot of the advertisement that Ellie saw and she immediately went on to check the place.

The real story of "Last Night in Soho" started when Ellie slept for the first time in the room that she rented. In her dream, she was drawn into "Cafe de Paris". Inside, she saw a beautiful blonde named Sandie that is dreaming of being a singer in the club (Cafe de Paris).

Below is a screenshot of Sandie while she is asking the whereabouts of the owner of the club (Cafe de Paris).

Though "Last Night in Soho" lacked more happy scenes it did great the portraying the sorrowful journey of Sandie who instead to become a singer was being pimped by the mod she met at the club.

The cinematography of "Last Night in Soho" is brilliant especially the side-by-side scenes of Ellie and Sandie while both are walking down the stairs. I don't know how they made the scene but it is brilliant.

Below is the screenshot of the side-by-side scene of Sandy and Ellie while both and walking down the stairs.

Right after the first meeting of Sandie and the handler of girls, the scene is all but uncertain and sad. I do not know if this film is really made to be sad or it is just my perception. Nonetheless, the film is very effective the portraying the sadness of the character of Sandie right from the start of her scene.

Conclusion

For those who want to watch a sad film with a twist, this film is for you. The majority of the scenes are sad and it makes you think of the uncertainty of the character until the end of the film. It did a great job of portraying the sadness of the film, though. There are some scenes that make you say, "How they are able to do that?".

I am not going to spoil this film any further, if you want to have a glimpse of the music of the sixties, this is also for you.


About the Author

@chenee is a bartender by profession, a plain housewife caring for my family. I love pancit, I love to play online games, and I also love to sing and dance

Thank you all for the support.
Sort:  

Hello friend, this was a movie that when it came out gave a lot to talk about because of the way they managed to recreate that entire plot and above all to be able to give it that touch of mystery. I really liked the way everything turned out and even more so seeing the presence of that great actress who is the best and without her nothing would be the same. Great that you enjoyed that great classic.

I thought I was not going to like it, but it is the opposite, the mystery is what makes it great. The real plot is not very obvious (that the truth is she killed the men, instead of her being killed).