"Lift" directed by F. Gary Gray - A Cliche Yet Entertaining Film

in Movies & TV Shows17 days ago

Introduction

I have been reluctant to watch this film simply because it doesn't have a huge hype surrounding it or because I don't have much interest in it. Kevin Hart is one of the actors that I like watching but this film didn't have that pulling power to make me watch it when it was released. But today, I found some spare time to watch and I found it a bit of a cliche but still entertaining.

The Film's Narrative

The film's story is about a group of thieves who like to call themselves "saviors of arts" from undeserving owners. Unbeknownst to them, they will be recruited by an Interpol agent who is hot on their track to subdue a notorious criminal and put him in jail.

Thoughts

"Lift" was able to take my interest slowly, the opening scene is rather flat but the presence of an Interpol team makes it a little interesting. And then succeeding scene made me more interested because of the auction scene that included an NFT with its creature wearing a mask to stay anonymous. The NFT will be created with a mask fitted with lots of cameras.

The screenshot of a mask with lots of cameras below will record the time of its sale and then create the NFT.

"Lift" is brilliant in the way that the "staged" kidnapping of the creator of the NFT called N8 made the value of the NFT skyrocket from $20 Million to $89 Million. This scene made me more interested to continue watching the film.

However, it failed not to make me think that most of the scenes of this film are somewhat clicked because, to be honest, I have seen similar plots before but still I continued to watch it because it is still interesting.

"Lift" may lack originality when it comes to some of its important scenes like when one of the protagonists is explaining the technology that they are going to use to cheat the radars it will still make you interested in watching because it can make you think that something special is going to happen in the next scene, which it did.

Below is a screenshot from the film as one of the protagonists is explaining that the technology that they are going to use is cheating the radar.

I do admire some of the scenes of the film like the one when it was revealed that the two main protagonists (the boss and the Interpol) knew each other before the Interpol recruited the boss to do their bidding in exchange for their freedom.

A twist is also included in this film. We were led believe that one of the supporting casts backed down and did not continue with the mission but then it was revealed at the end of the film that he was not left, he was just assigned a different role on the mission. Another one is the switching of gold which. Although both of these scenes can be very familiar to old viewers it is still very interesting to watch.

Conclusion

Just like I said earlier this film is a bit cliche it is still very interesting. Without the twist and some spicy scenes and past events, it wouldn't have been a good film. With that being said, I can say that this is a very light movie to consume, it won't stress you out and it will entertain you.

About the Author

@chenee is a bartender by profession, a plain housewife caring for my family. I love pancit, I love to play online games, and I also love to sing and dance

Thank you all for the support.