Re/Member Japanese Horror Movie [Review]

in Movies & TV Showslast month

Image created using: CANVA.

Today is Thursday, and it's a boring, hot day for me. Yesterday night, I had a lot of plans for today. My first plan is to go to La Union. I saw a Facebook post about a lot of tourist spots I could visit. The second is to go to Baguio to visit my younger cousin, who is studying at UC. She is not going home here, and as an older cousin, I want to visit her because she is our first younger cousin in the first batch of cousins. Looking at her story on her social media as a volleyball athlete at their school, I can tell that she's doing great. I don't need a companion because it's just a nearby place, and unlike Manila, it was so very far to travel for 5 hours. But my plan was ruined because of my laziness. All my plans vanished in my head when I woke up. All I want to do today is lay on my bed and sleep more for a whole damn day.

Oh, sorry for the nonsense ramblings. I know that it is not related to the topic I will write about today, but please just consider that as a warm-up to get my energy to gather all my thoughts about the movie I watched today.

Instead of going out, I decided to just watch a horror movie. What's new? If you notice, I have always watched horror in recent days. Well, sorry, but I loved watching horror movies. Hehe, I love it when I feel the excitement, and it's fun to feel nervous. I also enjoyed watching when the backstory was interesting.

So for today's movie review... I chose to watch the Re/Member Japanese Horror movie.

Image Source: Google

I don't remember the last time I watched a Japanese horror movie. But there's this one scene in a Japanese horror movie that I watched before, but I don't remember the title.

I thought that this horror movie was new. Because this is the first time I saw it on the Loklok app movie lists, and I also noticed that the horror movies that I watched in the past few days are always US-made. And this one is a Japanese horror movie, so I decided to watch it.

1000029487.jpg

Okay, because of my excitement, I thought that this was already the beginning. But it turns out that this is just an introduction to the company name. I don't know what it was called.

Warning: The images that I will upload here are rated SPG. Just skip it if you don't want to see it.

1000029479.jpg

At the beginning, I was amazed by this young girl's act. She is really good at acting scared. I wonder if she's not scared of ghosts. At her young age, she agreed to be the main character of this movie. I also tried to be the ghost in one of our roleplays way back when I was in grade 11. The feeling of being a ghost is very scary because I didn't know myself at that time and I needed to act very scary. I hope that this kid was fine.

1000029476.jpg

All I can say about the opening is that the director made a wise decision by making the first scene feel scary already. It made me feel excited to continue watching it.

1000029474.jpg

What just makes me smirk is this scene. Like girl? Which student leaves her bag open? It's okay to bump, and the bag just fell. Why is it necessary to have a scene like this? All I need to watch is something scary; there is no need for romance scenes. Charought!

1000029469.jpg

Do you see what I see? Hahaha, this is a movie that I am looking for. It makes me feel excited, and I can feel my heart beat fast because I thought the people who own the hands would come out.

I just want to share my experience with this scene. I also have the same experience. Here in our province, we have a water well where we get water, and every time that I look at those wells in our area, I always imagine when I was a kid that there's a ghost inside and coming out every night. It didn't make me scared when I looked down, and I didn't see anything but darkness. I'm just scared when I imagine myself falling and going down. How can I get out because I feel that the well is deep?

You know, I screamed and spilled the censor words when I watched this scene. My gosh! This is what I like about Japanese horror movies. They are so good at filming horror movies, and they look realistic! My bravery was gone when I watched this. And you know a horror movie is more scary when a person who acts as a ghost is a kid.

1000029460.jpg

It was a good thing that this handsome man saved me from my heart attack. LOL

1000029457.jpg

1000029412.jpg

While I was focused on the story, I noticed this guy was a creep. I feel like this guy is Sus. My first prediction is that he was the kid's father, and he was the one who killed the kid. Hmmm...

1000029441.jpg

For the second time, I feel scared because of the unexpected happenings. I haven't seen the ghost face yet, and I feel nervous already.

All I can do while watching all the scary scenes is shout the words that I wanted to say as if they could hear me: "GIRL RUN!!!" "The ghost is near, dumb! At your back! Hurry up and leave!" But it was fun because that is really how we watched horror, right? I mean, when you feel excited and scared, you can't stop your emotions and annoyance toward the character because of their dumbness.

1000029420.jpg

As a fan of horror movies, of course, there are also some dumb characters, and I get used to watching them be funny. But this one is different. He is handsome. I know that, but what's the point of switching the lights on if their opponent is a ghost? As humans, we all know that ghosts have the power to scare. to be able to handle and control things that we do not know. Right? There is no difference if the light is switched on or off. The ghost can still find you.

But then, I remembered that this guy was confident because, from what I understand, they can still go back to life in the morning and the scene will just repeat itself a lot of times. It's just on them to see how they can change the happenings.

1000029410.jpg

1000029405.jpg

The only thing I really don't like every time I watch horror movies are the overreacting scenes. They disturbed my excitement. as if after being scared, suddenly, back to reality. When they have a scene like this, you can think that it's not real and that it's just a movie; they are just actors.

I seem to have lost my fear—the feeling that should be there until the end when I watch something scary.

1000029403.jpg

These are the only parts and thoughts that I can say about this horror movie I watched.

But of course, as a final thought about this movie, I am not satisfied with the last parts of it. This movie is almost a perfect horror movie for me, but the story is a little disappointing; there is a lot of lack of information, and it left me with a lot of questions that I thought, at the end, I could find the answer to.

But what I liked about this movie is that it managed my expectations a little because I felt scared. The excitement and nervousness that I felt watching made me enjoy it. At first, I showed my real emotions, like the usual way of watching a horror movie. Unlike the past horror movies that I watched, So my rating is 8.5 out of 10.

Am I that picky about the horror movies that I watch? Sorry, because all I want to watch is a horror that you can feel until you sleep. Because that is the role of horror, it should be scary, and it will lead you to the situation where you will beg to stop watching it, not the horror that will make you laugh and make you feel that you forgot that the genre you are watching is a horror and not a drama.

So! This is all I can say for today's movie review. See you on my next blog when I watch something again.

THANKS FOR READING!

Sort:  

I liked this movie because it reminded me of horror films from the 80's like the ones starring Freddy Kruger, I mean "A Nightmare on Elm Street".

The other thing I liked is the design of the creature and the deaths that are very bloody, but I agree that the story or the ending could have been more satisfactory because there are things that seem not to be explained well, just that made me think about reading the manga which is based on the film, but I did not end up motivated to read.

I don't know if you know, but that film has an important post-credits scene which gives hope for a sequel that I don't know if it will be made.