My Financial Situation as a Student: Investment, Crypto-Earnings, and Business

in LeoFinance15 days ago

I am a financially broke student.

But despite my situation, I am stopping myself from spending my HIVE earnings because I treat this as my investment and business. I had an investment before off-chain where it pays well, I can buy my own things, I can pay my expenses for school, and I never asked for money from my parents.

Today, that investment had a problem and now I am struggling financially. I live in a middle-class family. My father works a normal job and it doesn’t pay well.

My mother has no job, I don’t know how we are surviving in our current situation. My aunt somehow helps us financially and I am grateful for that.

As of now, my main income comes from the Hive community. I write long-form and short-form posts on threads and earn a decent amount of money.

But as I always said, I consider my earnings as an investment, thus, I am not cashing out anything from my account.

I am compounding it so I can benefit more in the future. My main goal right now is to stake more HIVE and increase my Hive Power to increase my vote value and take advantage of curation rewards.

I always monitor my stats on Hive using Hivestats and it helps me to track my progress on-chain. As of now, I am earning about $16.55 from author rewards and $2.14 from curation rewards in the past 30 days.

image.png

I have slow progress because I am publishing blogs inconsistently but I am always doing my best to write and show up every time. This is why I love the microblogging feature of InLeo which is the threads. I can write short-form posts and still earn from them. Or at least increase my “social currency”.

So aside from Hive, what is your current side hustle?

I have this little business in our boarding house where I am becoming the third party to send and receive money for my customers. I am getting a little fee from them for my service.

This is a profitable business, but the earnings are just a few but still high when you save them well. I will write more about this in my upcoming blogs!

Overall, I have no investment now aside from HIVE. Having lack of money is killing me as I cannot buy what I want and I always feel that I have limited resources for things.

I know that my parents are doing their best to support our needs but when I am thinking about our current situation, I can’t stop myself from overthinking about it.

Nevertheless, I am always looking for a side hustle to earn money.


This post is my entry for @leotasks yesterday, May 11, 2024, about crypto-earnings, investment, and business. This is a bit late but I just find the topic interesting so I still want to share my thoughts about this prompt.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

There are ways to increase your Hive income if you tried reflecting on what you're currently doing versus what others are doing that you deem a success. It's just that it takes more time and effort than the actual payoff but that's really the investment here since I also had that phase but reap the benefits only a few years after.

So aside from Hive, what is your current side hustle?

Ghost write.

if you tried reflecting on what you're currently doing versus what others are doing that you deem a success.

I am always looking for strategy and learning more about the platform to increase my income. What can you suggest?

Ghost write

Which platform do you use to find clients? Do you write informative blog posts like...on what point of view you write them?

Which platform do you use to find clients? Do you write informative blog posts like...on what point of view you write them?

No specific platform, I'm just ghost writing for another ghost writer which takes a lot of cuts but I'm only doing it for kicks and giggles to not get rusty rather than for financial reasons. Informative and generic, sometimes less personal since it's business tone, or just some underpaid working student like scenario when a prof client wants me to create their powerpoints for them, cheeky bastards.

What can you suggest?

I don't know your situation to be confident about giving blanket advice. So I'm going to ask what is the most specific goal you want to accomplish that's realistically doable at your current situation? I could tell you the fastest way to earn more is trading but that's risky stuff and you may just not have the capital to even engage in it so that's a useless suggestion. I could tell you to engage more, but that's already what you're doing but less efficient imo, the way to improve this part would take up more time and can you afford to splurge more time on the platform? see what I mean? my suggestions work for me but it's a hit or miss for you.

Thanks, got your point. So I think I am on the right track, just less efficient.

Thanks for the comment!

Compounding is the best. Took me two years to compound enough to actually do something to change my income. You’ll get it and don’t fret about not having enough to buy more investments. For now, focus on what you know

Thank you for your insights. Yes that's what I am doing right now, keep grinding and continue what i am doing.

You're still doing a good job though, considering how busy you are in school stuffs and all. Having to write here as a sideline is like a baby step to your success. Slowly, pero surely, as long as you are making a progress then yohoo, haha. Kidding aside, you're doing great laulau 💪. I also had a hard time before as a student pero never ko naisip mag sideline, coz wala akong diskarti, sadly ತ_ತ.

Thanks ate ruffa! Hirap lang talaga ng buhay kaya baka naiisip ko 'to hahaha

Congratulations @anonymous02! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 23000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

It's a great training ground. Fighting.

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

Mahirap talagang maging broke pero kaya mo yan tiis tiis nalang ng kaunti talaga.

Hanggang kelan ba 'to HAHAHA