Collecting Coins and Banknotes vs Stacking

in LeoFinancelast month

I just picked up another old Japanese banknote and was going to write a post about it, but I ended up writing too much about collecting vs stacking, so I thought I'd move that talk to a new post and do the banknote later.

So... are you a collector or a stacker?

Both have their pros and cons.

With collecting you are generally paying inflated costs for the coin or banknote. With old coins/notes, unlike say baseball cards, the demand usually doesn't vanish for certain ones so you don't have to worry about that, so that's good at least. And that also means that unless you bought blindly (without knowing what you should pay) and were taken advantage of, you will probably be able to sell any collectable piece for the same or more in the future. Then we have the biggest potential negative of collecting—that collectors tend to become attached to their pieces and don't want to sell, even if the price goes up a lot.

With stacking, well, the market can be fickle and those prices can swing all over. This could be good or bad, but it does mean you should probably pay attention to the charts when buying—or buy from someone you trust not to take advantage of you. Long term the market usually moves up, so selling shouldn't be an issue. But if selling short-term, you need to be careful or might lose money.

And of course for both collecting and stacking, you need space. With stacking and with collecting too if your collection is valuable, you might deal with security concerns as well. This could involve figuring out a good place to hide them at home or storing them off site.

Although I do stack, as I have shown in the past, I am probably more of a numismatist: a collector and someone who studies currency. That's probably no surprise to those of you who have read all my Japanese coin posts where I give tons of details about the coin/note and a lot of historic info. I love these kinds of details.

How about you? Are you a collector or a stacker? Or both? Let me know your feelings in the comments.

Hi there! David LaSpina is an American photographer and translator lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time and searching for the perfect haiku. He blogs here and at laspina.org. Write him on Twitter or Mastodon.
Sort:  

Definitely both, before stacking I had my father's collection and enjoyed it spending time piecing together fun facts, trivia, and wondering what was behind the coin had a place in this collection. There is a pattern regarding coin dates and places where the coins came from.
The buying of the odd numismatic started after I was well into Stacking. @punkysdad hooked me up with local coin club for Meetings, auctions and shows.
Now my latest craze Asian Junk silver, and a unbelievable 1756 Ferdinand VI Ship wrecked 2 Reales I just acquired.
Lining up my future show & tell posts later this year.

You received an upvote of 89% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

How about you? Are you a collector or a stacker? Or both? Let me know your feelings in the comments.

I'm sort of both, I began a collector but gravitated towards stacking. I still have some key date coins and some historic pieces, but I'm also happy with simple bars and rounds.

Stacker with a dash of collector 🤣 !BBH !PIMP !LOL !ALIVE


You must be killin' it out here!
@bitcoinman just slapped you with 10.000 PIMP, @dbooster.
You earned 10.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 3/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@dbooster! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (9/50)

@dbooster! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ bitcoinman. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Did you hear about the kidnapping at school?
It’s fine he woke up.

Credit: reddit
@dbooster, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of bitcoinman

(3/10)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

@trumpman, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (2/3) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @dbooster gets !HUG from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

@hiq.smartbot, sorry!

You are out of hugs for today.

You can call the HUG bot a maximum of 2 per day.

The current call limits are:

HUG in walletcalls per day
01
12
103

I am shitcoin connoisseur!

I'm probably more of a collector at this point simply because I don't have the funds to buy anything in bulk. If there is a day that I am not just buying a couple of rounds here and there, then I might finally be considered a stacker. I'd love to get my hands on some of those 10 oz pieces one day!

If I have money, I will keep buying gold and silver at this time because the demand for these two things will increase in the near future.

I'm a bit of both! I've never got into note collecting because of all the nuances of what makes bills valuable. But I usually hang onto any errors or star notes I come across here in the US. Coins and metals have always been my focus since I was a kid, and now crypto!
!BBH

@dbooster! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (10/50)

I'm a collector trying to stack in my second year.

And I draw your attention to other more collecting risk. "Fashion" also changes in collecting. Back in the day, almost all boys collected stamps. Few people collect them today. Those valuable stamps become even more valuable. But the average, ordinary ones have become worthless. Now, coin collectors prefer perfectly preserved pieces. Any damaged pieces are sold poorly.

In times of inflation, various political dangers, people try to invest in anything including coins. Conversely, when there is a period of stability, prices fall.

!HUG

Dear @dbooster, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @trautenberk.
(1/1)

In relation to your question, I am still NOT either of the two, but if we talk about cryptocurrencies, I accumulate cryptocurrencies
As I say in some posts, I'm looking, then I buy hahahaha.
Jokes aside, for now I am with cryptocurrencies, but I like to comment on your posts, I learn and laugh a lot, there are very nice people that I follow among the silvergoldstackers

I don't know. But all my gold (except AGE and Tudor) are pre-1933 American gold, 1800s 20 Frans, and sovereigns. I guess I am both?