How I created my own set of NFTs for less than 100 USD

in LeoFinance2 years ago

You may know, as I did, that hive-engine allows the creation of NFTs on HIVE. Many tribes have implemented this technology stack and now you can even mint NFTs using the tribal tokens.

Since there are no great guides or documentation, I took it upon my self to figure out more about this process. I started by looking into which tribes allowed this possibility.

image_2022-03-24_102428.png

So we have some options right now, beyond paying in BEE we can pay in PAL, SPT, CINE or others. Of course if we are going to be publishing NFT's in someone elses tribe, we have to consider the concept of relevance. I doubt that NFTs of my face would go over well in the SPT-splinterlands talk community.

But luckily we have CINE, and I have some experience with Film and Television, so I came up with a wonderful test case for these NFTs within the CINE tribe.

image.png

As I dug into the 'how' to create NFTs, I looked over the interface for clues. Most of it seemed straight forward....

image.png

Tribes can set their own pricing, and the price structure was misinterpreted by me at first glance. The first of any token costs 101 CINE, and each edition of the same token costs 1 CINE. I am making a collection of 8 NFTs, with 20 editions each, so in the end my total cost for these 160 NFT tokens of 8 different types is 960 CINE.

This converts to a 80.5 HIVE price, or about 75 dollars at the time of writing.

image.png

We have the option to upload audio, video or image NFTs, and I am going to go with images, as I have spent some time clipping my face out of some of my film and web series appearances.

Take note - the thumbnail does not need to be the same image as the NFT, and currently these NFTs, once created, cannot be edited by anyone. If you need editable NFTs, for gaming for example, you will have to look into the BEE minting options, like dcity.io does, for example.

image.png

In the next section, we have a number of options, including the name of the NFT and the collection. Collection is a way to group NFTs, and I am using 'EcoInstant's Theatrical Collection' to group all 8 of these current NFTs I am making.

An important note that I discovered, the total characters (including spaces) of the Name + Collection Name + username of minter cannot total more than 100 characters. I initially tried to submit this NFT with the full name of the episode title, which is - Señor Stevia or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bean, and the result was that the NFT wasn't printed. After contacting support, the tokens were refunded - currently there is no warning on the front-end, but looks like they will be working on creating just that warning.

image.png

The description is also important, it is where I am sticking the youtube links for people to go check out the content that these NFTs come from.

Rights is also an interesting category, this gives you the chance to including content in the NFT that you are allowing 'limited production rights' to, this might be like merchandising rights or others. My NFTs will be private, in that owning them does not give you rights over my face, but will instead look to give value to these NFTs in other ways, more on this later.

Don't forget to set the number of tokens in the edition, I am doing 20 for each of the 8 editions in my collection.

image.png

At the end you will also have to click a bunch of check boxes, these are terms and conditions stuff. One of the reasons I selected my own face for my NFT collection is that I can easily give consent for my own face and likeness, while including other people would require actual work - like talking to people type work.

Once you hit mint, it will spin a bit and then let you know that your new token is available!

image.png

Which brings us over to the market - you have to list the NFTs on the market to allow people to buy them.

But why will people by your (or my) NFTs?

This is the real question. As we have reviewed today, the technology exists for anyone to easily mint, so the only thing that is left to do is give these tokens some value. I have some ideas, and the first one is to give a prize to the first person who assembles a full set of these.

image.png

15 INCOME token prize to the first person to assemble a full set of my NFTs!

I have some other ideas with these tokens, but I think this is a great first step. Its like a race, because only the first person wins.

15 INCOME tokens (shares in our Synergy Fund), can currently be purchased for 5.3 HIVE each, or 79.5 HIVE. These tokens are each backed by more than 7 HIVE in assets.

I have set the market price for the first 4 sets of my NFTs at 120 cine each, for a total set cost of 960 CINE. This is approximately 80 HIVE if you buy the CINE up from the swap pool here: https://beeswap.dcity.io/swap?input=SWAP.HIVE&output=CINE

So the first person to buy a set will get basically a full rebate in INCOME tokens!

What are some other ways to add value to NFTs? Let me know some of your ideas in the comments for a chance to win one.

Freedom and Friendship!

Sort:  

So a set of multiple thousends is basically just one NFT with 10k editions and the pic file as an attribute? I still have no clue what's going on. I'll just go over to Solana or Polygon and create there since they have full sets of documentation.

yes, the blocks just store the link to the info, whether its a pic or a video or an audio. Remember that an NFT cannot make information private nor valuable, but it can confer 'rights' and other benefits.

If I ever learn how to create them on scale like Hive PunkZ did, I‘ll make a Video tutorial. Can be very challenging to get a grip on it, while I bet it‘s fairly easy after getting first hand experience.

Thank you so much for sharing this! I love step-by-step real-life guides on how to create things!

!PIZZA

Thanks for the step-by-step guide. I don't plan on making my own but it is good to know how.

What an informative post. Bookmarked for when I need to mint my own NFTs. Hopefully soon🤞

I had no idea this functionality was available! Do you know if it's possible to impose any kind of restrictions on tribal minting, or is it simply open season but with that tribe's settings?

!1UP

Each tribe manages their own whitelist of people who can mint, you just have to apply.

That seems like an interesting way to try out an NFT experiment. Just wondering but it's pretty much 100 CINE for the NFT creation and 1 CINE for each NFT minted right?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, but for each edition (type), not each collection.

This is incredible @ecoinstant - sorry I'm late to the party. Thankfully, my use of ListNerds will not allow me to completely let amazing content like this slip through the cracks.

I'm rather dense in the head for stuff like this, but a step by step gives me hope.

Hope all is well.

Nicely done and helpful, thanks for taking the time to write this up. One question, do you know if these outposts allow for royalties/percentages from sales after the initial sale?
!LUV

@ecoinstant, @crrdlx(1/4) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUVbot will soon require that no other ! commands accompany it. Details here. Hivebits (HBIT) has already employed this.

Awesome post! I've started planning my own as a result Thanks for the inspiration.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 98 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
6

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating your Leo power to @india-leo account? We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
stickupboys tipped ecoinstant (x1)
@generikat(2/10) tipped @ecoinstant (x1)
curation-cartel tipped ecoinstant (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Don-1UP-Cheers-Cartel-250px.png

You have received a 1UP from @entrepidus!

The following @oneup-cartel family members will soon upvote your post:
@oneup-curator, @leo-curator, @bee-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator, @neoxag-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the family on Discord.