Entrepreneurial Lessons From My Past

in LeoFinance9 months ago

My new career gives me plenty of time to reflect....

While I'm not listening to podcasts, I'm usually deep in thought about a variety of things. This afternoon, I had my career as an internet marketer on my mind...

When I got started in the online marketing business, I surrounded myself with as many books as I could get my hands on. It was part of my personal growth plan, and still is to this day.

But back then, I was a fiend for knowledge. I wanted to learn everything I could about effective marketing, advertising, sales and brand building.

Jeffrey Gitomer, Al Ries, Dan Kennedy, Zig Ziglar, Brian Tracy....You name the author, I was nose deep into their books.

One recurring theme, while not always directly stated was the power of going slow and steady. I really took to this advice, because to me...Rome wasn't built in a day.

So anything, in my mind, that was worth owning took time to build. You should do it the right way, with good old fashioned effort and patience.

What was fascinating to me, and this is what I was reminiscing on this afternoon, was how many people in my field didn't believe in the 'slow and steady' approach.

I used to get into debates with people in my own circle that argued you should adopt a 'fast and steady' in online business.

Speed was important, for sure. First to market, top of mind. All that good stuff...

But to me, everything I wanted to build needed time to develop. Needed time to grow. And needed time to mature. That was not limited to online businesses either. My thought was this was one of the greatest character traits of successful entrepreneurs.

The urban legends where plentiful....

John Wooden coached for decades before he won his first NCAA championship. Now he is regarded as the greatest college coach in history.

Starbucks didn't open their second franchise for years after first launching the brand. Now they have franchises everywhere.

Wal Mart, same kind of story. It took them years to open their second store. And so on...

These stories to me, highlighted the importance of a slow and steady approach to building anything online.

And it holds true for my journey here on the blockchain as well. I very much consider myself an entrepreneur. An investor somedays as well lol But my approach here hasn't changed since the days of my internet marketing endeavors.

Everything that's worth anything of value....Always takes time to develop! Slow and steady will always win the race in my books!


Posted Using LeoFinance Alpha

Sort:  

Time is very critical thing indeed. Like say when you want to grow in life. Having a good approach towards the things that are meant to be done as you age kind of makes you desperate for making business quick, making family quick, making kids quick. I guess time is very important but it does not let us have things instant.

It just makes sense to me, to take your time with everything. Helps secure a solid foundation.

My hats off to you. I get sleepy when I hear people talking too much, so I can't really do podcasts while I am driving. Usually we only listen to them when my wife is in the car with me and she can keep me awake. It's kind of sad because I know there are some really good ones out there, but I'd rather listen to music. I don't read many books, but I read a lot of articles. My wife always complains that it is like Vegas at night in the bedroom because I am on my phone reading and learning about new things.

ha ha ha yeah i try to stay off my phone at night but alas...wikipedia always has something to read about lol

I hear you! You can't win!

How do you pass the time when driving? Is it just mainly podcasts?

Podcasts, talking to my wife and kids, audiobooks...Lots to pass the time!

As they say, the hard thing is to win the first million!

True, very true!

Starbucks has now been a place where people think that they gain statue by buying just a coffee.

Yeah the point of the example was that it took them years before they launched their second store. That being said, I'm not a fan of their coffee at all.

Congratulations @jongolson! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 530000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 540000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 13
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - July 2023 Winners List
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12

Congratulations @jongolson! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 50 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 2 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 13
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - July 2023 Winners List
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12

Man, love it!!

Thank you for this one, a good reminder too.
Slow and steady, keep showing up...!!

Success and Respect
Sig