You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Embrace activities that don't look like work, it's where great ideas come from

in LeoFinance3 months ago

Having worked in corporate as well, I think it depends on the type of work. If I work in IT DBA, and ask for funds for dinner with friends, then I also won't get approval. That is because management only cares about things that directly relate to my work. They don't care about my mental health or stress, maybe only up to a point. But managers and procurement that have lunches with vendors can easily get funds, since they can say it is work related. I think it is a matter of being creative with it.

For an IT DBA, it is looking for Trainings where they can skip out a bit on their work. These trainings are paid for by the company, you get to relax and learn outside of the company, and the lunches and snacks are paid for.

Stephen Covey's quadrants are helpful. In a busy workplace, I think being in a non-toxic work environment is important. Being friendly with coworkers can be helpful, and having drinks or dinners with friends from time to time is good.

Sort:  

Yes, you're right. Budgets to take clients and vendors out to dinner is one thing, but perhaps I'm talking about time to create, to innovate, to come up with ideas.

Businesses often need creative spaces to develop new products or drive innovation. Other times (or maybe other areas of the business ) we focus on efficiency.

Walks, conversations, activities that often seem like we're "doing nothing" are often what sparks creativity and innovation.

Yeah I agree. Unfortunately, not a lot of companies provide that to their employees. I have seen some about Google, and a few employer posts here on Hive. Some even have guidelines like no lunch on workstations, to force employees to get up, maybe eat with coworkers, and have conversations with others.