Saturday Savers Club | Week 19 | Saturday 11 May 2024 | ListNerds, anyone?

in LeoFinancelast month

IMG_20240408_180740897.jpg

Pegwell Bay, Ramsgate and the estuary of the River Stour, at low-tide.

Weekly Savings Round-Up

EDS eco-system breakdown and model

There's a new post with all things EDS, my favourite token. The delegate-to-mint EDS service offered through @eds-vote is doing well with 300,000HP in the kitty. It's a great way of encouraging newbies to build their HIVE POWER and use it to grow their EDS stake, which in turn produces a weekly HIVE income. I guess that's a win-win-win scenario?

ListNerds

You might remember ListNerds and the crazy summer of 2022 before it all went down the plug hole. Oh, how we laughed.

ListNerds is an email marketing thing, it was actually a good way of finding new content and people to follow.

It has a free subscription service where you can post one email a week promoting your account, provided you have read enough of other people's emails yourself to build up your little stock of mail credits. You didn't need many mail credits to be able to reach everyone who was on there.

At its height, I don't think there were more than 1,200 people and I found it easy, maybe ten minutes a day, to build my mail credits. I ran a couple of evaluations and found near its height, using ListNerds would garner 200% more views of the post I was promoting.

I thought it had a lot to offer newcomers and accounts, like creatives, that were looking to build an audience.

Sadly, it came to a sticky end. I'm not sure what happened but the inflation was a bit crazy, and there was a paywall, intended to kickstart the economy, with ListNerds at 2 HIVE. Well, that created an absolute frenzy. It you were receiving a thousand ListNerds for a marketing email and each ListNerd was priced at 2 HIVE, well, you would get a little active, no?

The paywall was a fine example of "once its gone, its gone" and it was. The first accounts to get their unstaked ListNerds sold, sold, sold and then the price dropped to zero and everyone was stuffed, stuffed, stuffed. What a lesson that was.

Apart from that fundamental problem, it never quite worked properly, there were issues with the paid subscriptions, the verifications counter never moved, and now it seems the inflation distribution for staked ListNerds and CTP have stopped. Teething problems, I don't know what, but once the price hit the floor, ListNerds followed soon after.

Now, I understand there's a new operator and I thought I'd see what's happening. Well, my email was sent to 203 people and you can easily stack up 200 mail credits over the course of a week. I should have said "say, 'I came from Listnerds'in a comment" but I forgot. It was a bit of a joke back in the old times, that little catch phrase.

So eighteen people opened the mail I sent on ListNerds and eighteen of them clicked through to the post I was promoting. I got some upvotes on the ListNerds site but they wouldn't have been enough to earn me any ListNerds (2.602/20). Interestingly, I only appear to have 14 unique views on that post, in spite of the 18 clickthroughs from ListNerds.

The majority emails are from conventional affiliate marketing people, rather than promoting Hive content. They would have been downvoted to oblivion when the site was active. Checking this morning, there are about fifty emails, three of which I would be interested in reading and clicking through.

I'll try again, asking for the catchphrase and offering an incentive. Have you tried ListNerds? Any thoughts? Let me know below.

image.png

Savings Goals

Let's see how we're doing:

AssetGoalStartLast WeekTodayProgress
Hive Power115,000100,400105,840106,08592%
EDS4,6003,2993,8063,83183%
HSBI1,00074195595995%
HBD10,0005,3747087227%

2024 Savings Goals

Progress

  • EDS, EDS-VOTE, EDSD - Everything going well here, massive increase in delegations to @eds-vote, lots from Saturday Savers which is fabulous to see. We've also set up a curation trail for eds-vote which supports Savers so a nice circular economy. I'm buying EDSD with my earnings from my side-hustle and posting. (More about side-hustles).

EDS Income Token | Fixed and Variable Savings Plans
EDS Dollar (EDSD) Release Post

  • Blogging - Soon!

  • Saturday Savers Club - 2024 Launch and FAQs. Fifty-four registered savers now. Anyone can join at any time by commenting with their goals on the weekly post on the @eddie-earner account (also follow @eddie-earner for news about EDS). Our first subscription savings plan is on point too!

  • HSBI - HIVE basic income - I'm growing these through sponsoring HPUD and other challenge posts over on Saturday Savers Club. It'll have a nice boost this week.

image.png

What's New

It's been another busy week. This time I was staying in another part of the country, sorting out various things and working. I'm feeling a bit shattered now, some of the organising is a bit wearing, but I'm planning a quiet afternoon, once my Saturday Savers Club duties are out of the way.

Have a good week everyone!

image.png

Sort:  

Hey Shani. Pretty sad, the ListNerds story. I confess I never felt like spending enough brain juice to understand the mechanics behind .... but the unravelling... would it be unwarranted to say that this is what happens when people are anonymous and care a lot more about their wallet than about being part of a community?

I'm not sure about anonymity? The team ListNerds was well-known, many of the active HIVE subscribers were, too.

My view is that there was a very high degree of naivity, both on the part of the operators, and on the part of subscribers. I understood the idea behind the paywall and it was financed by the operators. HIVE at the time was averaging .50 USD, so the cost of the paywall was in the region of 100,000 USD, a substantial investment ... and incentive.

Many of the subscribers purchased a specific package which allowed them to post a couple of marketing emails a day (and other benefits), so there appeared to be the potential to earn something like, let's say, $14,000 a week (earning 1,000 LISTNERDS x two emails a day, priced on the paywall at 2 HIVE at .50 USD). The ListNerds server now appears to have stopped working altogether, but I believe the subscriber package with the most benefits was priced at $98 or $198 - a small investment against the purported rewards of $14,000 USD - plus there was a seductive "one-time" offer of a reduced rate for the best package when you signed up.

The monthly subscriptions would have helped to fund the paywall, assuming they weren't needed for anything else like the living costs of the operators, so maybe the operators broke even.

Many subscribers for the top package seemed to be under the impression they were signing up for a job, for which they expected (felt entitled) to be paid, rather than ListNerds was a marketing tool to help them build the audience for whatever product they wanted to promote which, for most Hivers, would have been their blog.

But anyone could have worked out that a paywall of 100,000 LISTNERDS when subscribers, lots of them, are receiving 14,000 LISTNERDS a week, is not going to go very far. Fortunately, due to the "one-time" offer of a reduced rate, some subscribers losses were limited to about $200 dollars in subscription fees.

Another commenter has just noted that ListNerds was superseded by CPTX, I'm not sure of the CPTX model but I think the idea was about finding and promoting content and being rewarded for doing that.

Both models involve quite a lot of grind. For ListNerds to work well, it needs a lot of consumers (who are creators marketing to, otherwise), but consumers (readers of emails) were not rewarded well. Hive is much better model.

So yes, I guess, in answer to your question. 😁

Are you considering going HiveFest in Split this year?
I'm waiting to hear about accommodation.

I think Listnerds is really dead especially since CTPX came up. I tried to post a few times on Listnerds but the results are not the same as in the beginning.
!ALIVE

Yes, I agree. Do you use CPTX? Is it still active?

I use CTPX sometimes but the site did not load a few minutes ago when I tried. I'm not sure what happened to the site. I used it last week before I went to holiday.

List nerds isn't loading either.

Sounds more of a server side problem. The guys behind CTP are in the market for many years. I can't imagine they will just disapear.

I thought they had sold CTP to another operator?

Really? I thought they just sold one part of it. hm Sure, could be the CTP part.

@shanibeer! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ chaosmagic23. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Hi @shanibeer,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I haven’t even heard about ListNerds before
I’d make more findings about it though
Thanks for sharing

This is the perfect way to write your Savings post... Now I got it clearly... Thanks 🙏👍

No idea about Listnerds...

Loading...