You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: After dedicating 5.5 years to Hive/Steem, I've been informed by KING ACIDYO that I added no value

in LeoFinance2 years ago (edited)

I don't think it's that bad but burning and shifting away from one payout are two different things and voters ought to be able to do both. If voters think more should be burned overall (that is, that the overall collection of posts is not deserving of payouts, as opposed to particular ones), they can vote for burn.funder posts the way we can vote for hbd.funder (burnpost used to do this). In your example, if you think the 100 is getting too much, either before or after the 1000 is downvoted, then go ahead and downvote that one too!

That said, I don't think burning is terrible.

Sort:  

That's true, and less emotionally triggering, voting burn.funder would serve the same ends.

I propose the change to the curation math should be made in pursuit of a more horizontal distribution of the rewards, the top posts are getting enough, imo.
My reading of arcange's posts says that the largest accounts are maintaining their share of the inflation as a percentage of the whole, thereby not reducing the centralization caused by early adoption and brownnosing of the ninjaminers by milquetoast authors.

I think burning flagged rewards presents a better proposal for the newbs, too.
Rather than allow characterizing the flaggots as enriching themselves, it ends any thoughts in that line and increases the scarcity of all coins, equally.

Maybe it gets folks to flag more stuff by demonstrating the benefits to all, rather than the few at the top.
The crab bucket is failing the trending page, and the distribution, imo.

At some point the rubicon is crossed, future inflation won't be enough to unseat the oligarchy created by the designed control features that favor the top earners, has that point been reached, already?

Like I said, I don't hate it but I prefer the way it works now. When we downvote overpaid stuff in the top 100 (which is nearly if not 100% of what I downvote, and I suspect a large portion of total downotes), it is increasing the rewards all the way down the line, even comments.

@smooth, you’ve recently downvoted a post of mine for a total of $80. I am full-time on Hive and spend so much time curating and commenting that I often find little time to post.

As Hive is my life, I’d appreciate it if you at least take the time to comment and provide a reason why when downvoting, otherwise it feels like a personal attack, and more so I’d just lazy.

If you care about Hive so much, take some time to engage with the posts you upvote and downvote, otherwise you see like an out of touch elite too good to interact with this beneath you.

I am downvoting this comment because you have downvoted my content without reason or even taking time to engage. Take some time and please understand that people in poverty live a different life than you.