My First Functional 3D Print Out Of The Factory!

in LeoFinance3 months ago

I am really excited to be jumping in head first into the 3D printing game. It's a huge learning experience as there are so many details that you have to pay attention to. But after some issues in the beginning, I was able to get out my first functional print which is a little phone stand that allows me to either stand it up or use it in landscape mode! With the new standby feature on the iPhone where it turns your screen into a clock, I thought this was a cool thing to print!

I printed it with some old PLA film that my buddy gave me so I was wanting to test that out on some personal stuff so I didn't waste the PETG filament that I got to use for hydroponic tower production. The filament was a bit on the moist side, and I didn't dry it, so between that and the fact that I really didn't know how to get the right level settings on the printer, I had a difficult time getting things started. But I finally got things running!

I had put on a movie to watch while this thing printed, but I couldn't help but to sit and watch it work. The sounds of the printer are fun too. Kind of like an old dot matrix printer, but way cooler. Needless to say, I didn't watch much of the movie, haha.

As I watched it build up, I got to really see how things worked, and I will say, I am going to have a blast with these things. Seeing how the infill forms and the layers work is an education in itself.

As it built up over about a 4 hour time period, it started to look more and more like what it was supposed to be. It's kind of like building something awesome, but watching a robot do it, haha. These printers will make great little employees once I get it all figured out, haha.

And the finished product looked great! The best part about it, I made it at home and had it the same day! I didn't have to make an order or go to a store! This is what decentralized manufacturing is all about! I love DIY projects and these printers are about to be put to some serious work making thing I need for the homestead farm! My plan is to start a business selling 3D printed hydroponics towers, and small countertop hydro or self-watering units. I have some cool designs already downloaded, but I have some in my head that I want to design and try out too! That's the beauty of 3D modeling and printing, if you have a need, you can solve it on your own!

I feel like this is going to be a new posting genre for me as I go along this journey, so I hope you all don't mind! I have some other ideas that I want to go with this whole industry, like actually becoming a printer and filament dealer, and selling it all for crypto, so we can use decentralized money to do some decentralized manufacturing! What do you think? Would you spend some HBD, BTC, BCH, or XMR on some 3D printer gear and supplies from the Hivelist Store?

Until next time my dudes...

Be Cool, Be Real, and always Abide!

The Logical Labs Projects

https://logicaltrading.academy | Helping anyone become a trader in the financial markets
https://hivelist.io | @hivelist | Classifieds, NFTs, DEFI Pool, Online Retail
https://coin-logic.com | @coinlogic.online | Live crypto market data, news, and research
https://blocktunes.net | @blocktunes | Music NFTs, DAO, Downloads, and more

Video Channels

View ALL my videos on my channel on 3speak.tv, a video platfrom for a free speech society on the Hive blockchain!
https://3speak.tv/user/thelogicaldude

Learn to trade with the Logical Trading Academy on YouTube!

https://www.youtube.com/@logicaltradingacademy

My musical alter-ego on 3Speak:
https://3speak.tv/user/groove-logic

Other Ways To Support

Hive Engine Witness

If you like what I am doing, please consider voting for my Hive Engine witness with your staked WORKERBEE!

https://tribaldex.com/witnesses

Trade with me on Robinhood and ApolloX

Trade stocks, options, and cryptocurrency with me on Robinhood and pay no commissions! Use our link to sign up, link your account, and get a free stock!

Or go full degenerate and leverage trade with me at Apollo X on BSC. Use the referral link and support the dude!

Sign up For Splinterlands

Get started playing Splinterlands, the top blockchain game in the world, today!
https://splinterlands.com?ref=thelogicaldude

TLDnewbanner copy.jpeg

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Now I can say that I have an idea of what decentralized manufacturing is
That’s fantastic

Just doing it all on your own. Taking the power away from the corporations!

When I was in high school, I had a major that taught us how to design parts. I didn't choose that specialty, but some friends did. It was really interesting, and he had access to a 3D printer. We had a lot of fun with it.

Right now, I'm following a guy on YouTube who's really interesting. I think you might like it, although it's in French.

It's mostly electronics, but every time there's a 3D printer part: