πŸ˜πŸ¦‰ The Zoo Master: Athena's Owl πŸ˜πŸ¦‰

in LeoFinance β€’ 12 days ago

As I have mentioned a couple of times in the past, I love animal themed coins! Of course I prefer them when they are on silver...But since I usually go for close to spot priced pieces, I don't have much saying on their design. Beggars can't be choosers after all πŸ€«πŸ˜‚

As a result, I don't have many silver coins with animals. But coin collecting isn't just for the investing hussle, it can be fun and educational too. And with that in mind, I recently started building a world coin collection of animal themed coins. My very own little zoo if you like πŸ˜‚ And other than fun, it's super cheap to build since these are just regular coins that often end up gifted away or given for scrap!



Anyways, enough with the intro. Let's get on with the first coin on the series. This is probably my favorite one and is an animal I have mentioned a couple of times in the past due to owning a bunch of silver coins from Niue islands with an almost identical design! πŸŽ‰

Let's see it:

Messenger_creation_d0fbfc9e-d869-4825-9390-f78b324c9c05.jpeg

So, here we have a 1 Drachma coin from 1973, depicting Athena's owl. In Greek mythology, Athena's owl is often associated with the goddess Athena, the goddess of wisdom.

The species depicted is a little owl (Athene noctua) and since the ancient Greeks it has come to be a symbol of wisdom, foresight, and knowledge in the western world.

Mochuelo_ComΓΊn_(_Athene_noctua_)(1).jpg
source

Back in ancient Greece, the owl would accompany Athena, perching on her shoulder or flying alongside her. In coins, it first appeared the Greek tetradrachm (5th-century b.C.):

Complete_strike_of_Athenian_tetradrachm. (1).jpg
source

As for the actual coin in my hands, it's a small standard circulation coin made of Nickel brass (79% Copper, 20% Zinc, 1% Nickel) with a weight of 4 g.

On the other side we have another animal, although this one is a mythical one and one you have probably heard off. The phoenix, the bird that rises from its ashes!

Messenger_creation_0465e717-72e7-4f00-82c3-d2bd0ca92807.jpeg

As a sidenote that won't probably interest many of you, the phoenix was a symbol that was heavily used by the military junta of Greece and appears in most, if not all, coins minted during those times.

Pricewise, this is a super cheap coin. You can probably get one for 10 cents or a UNC for 2 $.

Here are some more quick coin specs from Numista πŸ‘‡

Issuer: Greece
Period: Regime of the Colonels (1967-1974)
Type: Standard circulation coin
Year: 1973
Value: 1 Drachma (1 GRD)
Currency: Third modern drachma (1954-2001)
Composition: Nickel brass (79% Copper, 20% Zinc, 1% Nickel)
Weight: 4 g
Diameter: 21 mm
Thickness: 1.7 mm
Shape: Round



Ok, friends. This concludes my first post on the series! See you soon with more worthless yet beautiful animal themed coins πŸ’•



Silvergoldstackers Re-blog Lottery
Looks like cheap hive is back on the menu which means it's a good time for me to start accumulating HBI again! I will be drawing every day one winner with each new post. 5 hbi, one winner takes all. Feel free to re-blog this post for a chance to win some for free. My only condition is that you are an active member on the silvergoldstackers community here on hive or discord!

Yesterday's participants were:
@adeade123
@thisismylife
@willendorfia

And the winner is...

Screenshot_20240426-170636~2.png

Thisismylife!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort: Β 

Wooooooppppp I felt lucky today, thanks @trumpman!

!PIZZA

Looks like you will win again lol

I'm ok with that as I'm not at my 5k HSBI goal yet !LOL

I know my wife loves it when I tickle her
She laughs while I'm tickling and is angry at me when I stop.

Credit: reddit
@trumpman, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thisismylife

(1/2)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

If I don't win it's rigged!BBH !LOL !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@bitcoinman just slapped you with 10.000 PIMP, @trumpman.
You earned 10.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 3/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@trumpman! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (7/50)

2000 people die at sea every year.
Let that sink in

Credit: reddit
@trumpman, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of bitcoinman

(5/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

If you don't win I'll gift you some anyways. It's 1/2 so far lol

I like that little coin, I'll have to pick one up one eBay one of these days. Animal coins rule!
!BBH

If you can't find one let me know, I'll send you a freebie!

@trumpman! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (7/50)

Aight, I did the thing. I joined the SGS Discord. YOU made me do it! πŸ˜†

I still don't know if I wanna post about the silver & gold coins I have though, since my collection is so sparse. And right now isn't a good time, financially, to be increasing my stack. le sigh It feels like I'll forever remain a pleb. πŸ˜‚

It's fun to ogle your stack, though, and I always learn something from your posts!

!PIMP
!PIZZA


You must be killin' it out here!
@willendorfia just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @trumpman.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Haha, great to have you!

I still don't know if I wanna post about

Please do !

Pretty little coin!

Yesssss πŸ€—πŸ’•

I love how the modern coin used the same design from the 5th century - its pretty awesome !

Yes! Wish there were more modern, ancient like coins ^_^

Β 12 days agoΒ (edited)Β 

The owl was on many ancient coins. If you look up the ancient Roman & Greek coins I’d say most have an owl or a spartan.
!pimp


You must be killin' it out here!
@silverd510 just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @trumpman.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

It's a nice coin but sometimes it makes me wonder if they exaggerated the eyes. The eyes on the coin look a bit larger.

It is a zoo where the animals are treated better, I suppose you take care of them, clean them, keep them in an ideal place, these animals in the coins are better treated than in a real zoo.
I wish you a happy weekend

Hehe, yes my own little zoo 😊

You received an upvote of 81% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

https://inleo.io/threads/trumpman/re-trumpman-2j9yae3ja
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( trumpman ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Β 12 days agoΒ (edited)Β 

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@willendorfia(1/15) tipped @trumpman
thisismylife tipped trumpman

I personally like this type of coin the most, especially the one with the eagle design on it.

what's up this is a cool coin and thanks for the glimpse of history (: