There will always be smells that shake your soul.(Week- 203)

in Weekend Experiences16 days ago (edited)

Scents are like bridges between yesterday and today, between nostalgia and reality.
-Claudia Cárdenas

Sometimes you think it is easy to talk about simple things and it turns out that it could be something complex, especially if it involves evoking memories related to the smells that have marked you the most throughout your life, I could mention right now some that define my values as a person but I would rather be honest with myself and meditate for a moment.
I close my eyes and try to find those smells that are more clinging in my mind and yes, there are many but...some more than others.

5.png

  • The smell of milk

The first of many is quite peculiar to me, the smell of milk, it reminds me my mother bringing me the bottle at the young age of 4 or 5 years old and drinking it with delight lying on the cold floor of the portal, and it is strange, but I still feel how my forehead was moistened by the warmth of the liquid.

From that point on I began to idealize milk, the sensation of well-being, warmth and satiety thrill me when I see it, smell it, drink it...it has been something transmitted by years of consumption.
Long after, I still wake up when it is boiled in the mornings and as it happens to many with coffee, it is the ideal reason to start the day.

The smell of milk also reminds me of a newborn baby, and the mixture of both causes me hallucinogenic sensations, not because I know about drugs, no way! but believe me the smell is incredibly disturbing, maybe it's just my maternal instinct, but those silky and tender skin make me want to eat them smeared with milk.... of course... it's just an expression ok, don't make me crazy.

5.png

  • The smell of earth.

If I don't say that the rain is before, it's because when the first drops fall and moisten the dry earth, the smell of wet earth transmits me a very particular energy, really beautiful, you don't know why, but you just don't want it to end.
The first impulse is to approach the window to feel the hit of earthy smells, that unmistakable smell reconnects me in a very strange way to nature, it is as if I could understand the language of the birds, the trees and everything that lives outside the rigid walls of my home. That feeling that everything is clean and renewed again is pure joy for me and for everything that harbors life.
Although, and I don't know why, I can also be invaded by a feeling of nostalgia and loneliness for some memory that time has taken away, or some old longing that is there latent.


5.png

  • The smell of the sea.

The sea and its breezes are pure joy, vacations mean sea, I guess that's why the analogy. The smell of the sea floods your lungs with its own strength, the smell of the sea can be terribly sticky and transforms your hair in a single blow, and when you dive into its salts you smell totally of shells, seaweed and seahorses... although there is also something of dead fish, ugly but true.
The smell of the sea relaxes me, calms me, and floating in the denseness of its waters allows me to totally disconnect from the absurd and mediocre problems of this world... the sea is so immense that it can listen to us and sustain us all.
The sea is my refuge, the place where I can sit facing the sea and feel the eternal air caress my face while it whispers to me that everything will be alright...but what I love most about the sea is that it stays on my skin, and I can return to my home, to my life, that I will be smelling of the sea for a few more days.

5.png

The world is a paradise of strange things, all connected with the human being, I could have talked about simple smells that bring back horrible memories, sometimes they come as deja vu and surprise me but they are not worth mentioning.
I preferred to take the opportunity to remember distant and almost forgotten details that fill me with joy and refresh my soul.

Thanks to my friend @galenkp for bringing us this beautiful theme, I will be happy to participate from now on every weekend.

Thanks also to all those who decide to read me almost for the first time, I will be giving back to you, nice Sunday with the family for all of you!

Pictures Redmi Note 9C
Presentation and Banners created in Canva
Translator used : Deepl Translate

Sort:  

Congratulations @adaluna1973! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 100 comments.
Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

Thank you very much

That's great @adaluna1973! We're excited to see your accomplishments on Hive! We keep cheering you on for your next goal!

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Done!!!

Thank you for your support @adaluna1973, much appreciated!

My duty and pleasure!

Oh, I enjoy the snell of earth. Particularly the smell of water meeting earth. It can be very pleasurable. Very calming. It just does something to me.

It means that the smell traps you and until its last gases dissolve in the air it keeps you almost unconsciously connected to it.

Again the bacteria dominate us, to them we owe the blessed effect....

Beautiful way of seducing us nature

Talking about smells is really sad for me because I lost my sense of smell long ago and can only enjoy it for a very short time sometimes. I miss the smell of everything. Aigooo. Smell of milk is nice, that's my favorite drink but I can't smell it whenever I have my milk.

I recently read about it, we lose our sense of smell and it automatically affects our sense of taste, I understand you, it can be frustrating and sad....

But the flavors are registered in our receptors, so we keep the trace lived in order not to lose the emotion while you drink a cup of milk with coffee or chocolate...

Aigooo, I have a Korean friend, or who likes the Korean wave?

Or was it just the translator?...😄

Fresh milk on a farm always brings along charming memories of visiting, sitting in the field enjoying it so fresh when young, it makes long for some again.

Bottled or powdered milk no impact at all.

Yes, I fully agree with you, fresh milk has no comparison and its flavor will depend on the herb the cow eats.

You know, I am an agronomist by profession and one of my dreams if I didn't live in the city is to have a little house in the country and raise animals, but most of all: cows...I love dairy products and between butter and cheese I wouldn't be able to make enough.... I still dream about it, maybe one day.

Powdered milk is almost an obligation to consume it....only a few times I get it from the fields...

Thank you for reading me, it gives me great joy!

Never lived, stayed on farms for a couple of weeks at a time, early to rise, work all day good meals and lots of fun around the table at meals times.

One farm had such a mix in animals, most food supplied on the farm making it self-sufficient. I hope your dreams come true, eventually obtaining small piece of land to produce what you yearn for.

I loved the phrase you used to start the post, that's exactly how I feel about smells, they bring me past memories and gave me a sense of nostalgia but at the same time happiness. I also love the smell of the sea, it's the best feeling in the world.

Querida Wendy, que alegría que te gustará la frase, y que coincidimos en el gusto por algunos aromas y por supuesto mezclados con los recuerdos y sensaciones de nuestras vidas..
Un enorme placer coincidir contigo por acá, me encantan tus publicaciones, son sinceras y me transmiten siempre una positividad muy reconfortante...🤗

El placer es mío 🤗, un gusto leerte, ya te sigo 😊

El olor al mar, la playa, la costa, son mis favoritos una exquisites de aromas inigualables para mí. Exelente @adaluna1973

Graciass, creo que sí hicieran varios equipos sobre la tierra, nosotros seríamos Equipo Mar.

Me encanta lo que haces igual.