You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 62: Skills you have or want

If you're already hip to Italian, Spanish will be easy. There's cultural Spanish, though, like English here vs UK. Spanish in Costa Rica isn't like Spain. You know that.

Puras Spanish is stellar, far better than mine, but I was pleasantly surprised how well we could communicate in Italy because of the Spanish we she knows.

Where did you stay on the Mexican border?

Oh, good morning, sorry... Where's my manners?!

Sort:  

It was in Del Rio by the Sea. OK, now I am being silly. It was a desert wasteland. It was just for 6 months. I was in Phoenix and a short time in Tuscan. I have two sisters in law that are Spanish. One is from Puerto Rico and the other Mexico City. So yes. But, I can remember it for the moment and ask me in ten and it will have vanished!

Please, just speak French or German or Italian to me. My Godparents were Italian and spoke no English. My grandfather and family only spoke bastardized French and lived in the US and I lived in Germany and had to learn it to mainstream with life.

Good morning from here!

That's an exciting upbringing.

Did you say Tucson? That's what you meant by near the border?!

Great Mexican food doesn't count. 😉

LOL No. Del Rio and El Paso are right on the border. I also lived in New Mexico and San Bernadino for a quick blink.

Not my upbringing, but, after I left home. I was born and raised on the coast of Connecticut.

Great Mexican food should count!