You are more productive when you do what you like to do - Weekend Engagement 107

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago
Authored by @@doudoer


Choose a job you love and you won't have to work a day in your life.

Kung Fu Tzu

Throughout my life, I went through many jobs, I was a salesman, cashier, security, worked in customer service, worked as a technician, even worked as a pharmacy assistant for many years, many of these with good pay and others not so much, whenever I took a job I was dedicated to a thousand percent, but in the end I ended up leaving it after a few years.

Little by little I was disappointed, for one thing or another, I ended up quitting, after so many paths taken, one day I decided to work in what I like and, the most important thing for me, was to work by me and for me, I always wanted to be my own boss, when I decided, I left everything and started on my own, I must say that it was not easy, there were months in which almost no work came, but the little that came I did it with pleasure, because I felt I was doing what I liked and that filled me.

I made a large clientele, or at least enough to always have work, everything went well for a long time that way, but not everything lasts forever, a few weeks ago we decided to move, because of problems we had to leave our previous home, and we moved far away from the sector, this has brought me many problems, because simply to get to this new place no work came, were two chaotic weeks, luckily I always have savings and I could solve almost everything so far.

I spent many nights looking for a job, I even took some resumes, I went to several job interviews during this week, all of them were excellent, but the problem was not the jobs or the positions, it turned out that in this case it was the salary, since it is so low in Venezuela that with it I could not even afford the cost of gasoline to go to the working days, Only in one of them, a pharmacy, they offered me something better and with good pay, I had an excellent interview, and they opened the doors immediately, since they wanted immediate availability, I asked the person in charge to give me one more day because I had other interviews and I would decide.

In the end, I attended all of them, they all turned out well, but in the end the problem turned out to be myself, even in the pharmacy where they were waiting for me on Monday, a good position with good pay, but after thinking about it so much, I remembered that for many years I worked there and I did not like it, I did not want to fall into the same thing again and I simply sat down with my wife, we had a long conversation, since all my decisions and theirs, we always consulted as a team, after telling her about the situation we were going through, the money running out and the job options on the table, I exposed my doubts and after a long conversation I told her that I would not take any of those options, simply because I do not want to work in something I do not like just for money, because I will not perform at my best, and at my age I can not afford to be a bad employee, I decided not to accept any of the options.

After two bad weeks, many of my former customers have messaged me, I told them all that I was no longer at that address, and simply several have gone here, my new home and the others simply gave me the option to go through their homes in search of equipment to repair, I guess being responsible has made many of them trust me, things are getting better, maybe not as I would like, but I simply think that this change is to blame, but I also know that everything will improve, I will not be enslaved in a job that I do not like, I will not return to the same pattern as before and continue doing what I really like, because it is simply what fills me and this feeling I will not change it for anything, I like to be my own boss, have my own schedule and do what I do well and with pleasure.

Los Tejos

Without further ado I say goodbye friends, until next time.


Text translated with Deepl and image edited with Canva

Sort:  

WE THX IM.png

Thank you for your entry in the original #weekend-engagement concept conceived by @galenkp and featured in THE WEEKEND community

The image belongs to @galenkp

Hi Douglas

It's awesome that you were able to look back, acknowledge that you don't want to work in a position that you don't like and make the resolute decision to carry on with what you have. Running your own business especially in the current financial situation around the world is a hard task. It takes a lot out of you and with nobody above you to say "you're doing well, carry on", it can also be very discouraging during stressful times.

I am glad that you've got some of your orgininal clients coming back to you, ask them to spread the word and your services will speak for themselves in your new area as well. Keep the faith.

The best is to always go for what you love doing so you can derive pleasure doing them for so long. One would keep moving from one job to the other if you only do what you aren't passionate about just because the pay is high.

I agree with you, I prefer to do what I like even if I have to break down several barriers.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @doudoer.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more