Colorful festivities of my town Latacunga, Ecuador

Días sabroso (1).png

Last Sunday there was a parade through the streets of my house, which I took the opportunity to be close to take some pictures of the colorful clothing that is very traditional in my country, Ecuador. I had been waiting for this day, not because I am a fan of the festivities of the people, but because my entrepreneurial spirit that sometimes comes out and wanted to sell food such as "emborrajado and corviche", national dishes very similar to fast food. However, due to organizational issues it was suspended, even so, at home we were all encouraged to enjoy the parade, being the first experience of watching an event of this type, from the comfort of the sidewalk at home, which I was excited to see from beginning to end.

Unfortunately, the weather, quite cold and rainy, played against those who participated in this event, such as dancers, musical bands and especially in the street food vendors, since in these cases there is little amount of a spectator public. In the case of having started selling fast food I would have gone bankrupt.

What I have always liked about these parades is that it maintains the tradition of the typical dress and dances in the highlands region of Ecuador. It is a very epic type of choreography in which they are prepared from the clothes that as you can see in the picture covers almost all the colors of the rainbow and then also catches my attention the makeup of women, makes it possible to highlight the feminine beauty, and also women strive to wear a good hairstyle windproof, sun and rain.

IMG_4684.jpg

IMG_4697.jpg

IMG_4717.jpg|IMG_4747.jpg

IMG_4751.jpg
IMG_4733.jpg

IMG_4726.jpg

IMG_4725.jpg
IMG_4724.jpg

IMG_4739.jpg

In short, I like to see the effort made by each participant and representative of the organization to make this event a reality, to be honest I would never participate in an event like this because for me it is not fun to give me the time to attend the rehearsals and then walk a stretch of about one kilometer dancing to the sound of the band, no, I would not do it even for economic exchange. However, here you can see the passion for dancing.

The people of my town like it very much because each participation usually comes with their own musical artists, that makes them dance and when they are lucky they get totally free bottles of liquor sponsored by the dancers, so there is no excuse for anyone to have fun. In my case I spent the first few hours taking pictures and when I got tired due to my pregnancy, it was better to sit down and enjoy in peace and quiet.

IMG_4782.jpg

IMG_4783.jpg

When I was sitting I understood why so many people attend the parade and the reason is that they receive gifts from the people who parade. No matter how simple it is, for me it is exciting to receive, I was very happy when they came to give me candy, fruits like tangerines, oranges, even a bottle of homemade liquor and what I loved the most was when I received a tomatodo, which I am already using, I really needed it. Sharing is something that is still alive, and this fact especially motivates people to go, so that these traditional events do not become a memory of the past.

IMG_4769.jpg

As for what I did not like was that at the beginning the cold weather did not accompany the excitement of everyone, and also that it ended sooner than expected, I have no situations to criticize for now, on the contrary, I enjoyed it very much. This has been my experience in the parade of my people, thank you for joining me on this journey called life.

All images in this publication are my own photographs, taken with iphone 12..


¡THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG!

Gracias (1).png


Sort:  

The traditional costumes of your country are very beautiful. The color combination makes them look incredible. Greetings ☺️.

Yes it is a spectacle to see the clothes, they are used to be filled with all the colors of the arociris 😄 thanks for stopping by and commenting, I appreciate it very much 💞