SCARED


Image by ijeab on Freepik

You gain strength, courage, and confidence from every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, 'I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.' You must do the thing you think you cannot do."
Eleanor Roosevelt

I have this theory that I think to be true, it says; every human on earth at a point in their lives had hoped for a future so bright, what ever the results of that hope are, not Minding the depending factor the hope was drawn form, there would always be a breaking point which would make the person give up knowingly or un-knowingly or succeed and find something else to hope for. But whether one succeeds or fail is dependant on their fear factor and how they deal with it.

I have seen a lot of people around me try and fail in a lot of things, and it's quite easy to conclude that it's not easy for a person to rise from just being an average human being. I must confess I look at people with intellects and know I could be more than I have become, I could even be more than they have become, but I'm still limited in certain things. I believe that time and chance happen to people, but then when time and chance lack preparedness, it will just be a waste. And that's what I'm afraid I don't have.


Image by Freepik

If there's anything I'm scared of, is being unprepared for anything. Be it exams, a little speech to a group of people, meeting new people and talking with them, or even writing. I want to be always prepared and stay on top of my game as I wait for my chance, but then I'm scared that I waste time in some places. Today was the matriculation for new students in my school, as school president, I was tasked with less than a week's notice to prepare for logistics for the occasion. Although the occasion ended up fine, I would admit I panicked at every single point in the preparation, because I was thinking about everything that could possibly go wrong that I haven't prepared for. From reception to the weather condition up to students showing up for their own matriculation. I hate working under pressure, but I often find myself a lot of the time under pressure because I lack preparedness. So I'm Always afraid that my unpreparedness wouldn't cost me something tangible in the future.

I have tried so many times to tackle it with discipline, but knowing myself, I strive more with an accountability partner by my side, I love working with a team and growing. But I think I'm not disciplined enough, so having someone disciplined to work with will do me a lot of good. I'm also afraid of my strength when I get into a cruise mood, it's usually hard to stop me, I hardly see my mistakes when I'm in that mood and I go all in at risky times. Another reason I need an accountability partner who I can trust to always put me on track. Perhaps I don't need an accountability partner, how then do I become more productive...

Thanks for stopping by my blog today, until next time

Sort:  

Nice to see that someone approached the fear prompt from a more psychological angle.

When I saw your cover, I thought your fear would be about darkness or something of the sort.

My problem with preparedness and discipline is largely due to my procrastination. I don’t do anything until I absolutely have to. That could be a start for both you and I. Start working on things before deadlines. That’ll always keep you prepared and ahead of time.

Yes you are right. I tried it last week and it worked, this week however, I went back to my default setting😂

I experience this same thing on a daily, and I need to stop cos it's affecting me but I dunno how

Majority of people do. I just try to do the best I can. Someone once told me that sometimes consistency isn't doing something over and over. Sometimes it means getting up each time you fall short

Hmm true talk bro I'll work on that thank you

The fear of flopping, especially when it comes to very important issues, can be very devastating. Thoughts on how well you would have performed if you prepared a little bit would flood your mind but in such cases, the best thing to do is ace the next performance.

I like the quote you used at the top.

Came in from #dreemport.

I'm glad you liked it

You bet I did

The need for an accountability partner is important if we must stay true and disciplined on our journey to becoming productive. Also, it is important one prepares ahead too. Though sometimes fear comes in especially when you feel you haven't prepared enough.

Yes you right, and when you can't find an accountability partner, it's always difficult scaling through on your own

A good number of times, we are prepared for life's assignments. It's always good to take life one step at a time.

thank you for your good script

Yes we should take life one step at a time, but sometimes it's as though we don't do enough