If only I could...

To think of things that will never be possible but our mind fantasizes about them; is to take once again to the limit of our creativity and bring out a little of the madness that we carry inside and characterizes each person. Such is the case of weekend engagement proposal #169where I identified myself with: if I could talk to and understand animals.

Definitely, I would be totally lost; it's easy to visualize myself on the street with a bunch of animals: dogs, cats, birds. Since amphibians and insects I respect them I think I would just say hello.

Animals possess the purest feelings; because yes, I am convinced that they do. They don't need to pretend or make someone believe that they are dear to them, they are genuinely them and that's it.

Early Saturday morning I heard some barking from a fight between dogs and then barking in pain, to this I could not be indifferent; however, I could not see in the street what was happening. Later, I found everyone's pet on the block called "chimó" with a mark near his snout as a result of the street fight. He is a love of dog is like a melted chocolate, extremely sweet, loves to be petted if it were up to him, he would be like that all the time. In spite of that, he is very territorial and doesn't like everyone who is new on the block; just like his sister Gina, she is a purebred, only because of this she receives better care from her owners, what a "chimó". So, I would have liked to know for himself, what happened to him and if I could help him.


IMG-20230902-WA0033.jpg

"chimo"


Imagine being able to listen to all the animals you meet; especially in Venezuela where you see cases of people who profit by selling the offspring of breed dogs or who have animals in the saddest conditions and the weight of justice does not fall on them.


20230902_123142.jpg

GINA


Animals have memory, they are faithful and loving. In the yard of my house there are turtledoves, pigeons and a type of bird called "tordo", it is a bird with black plumage, there are also others called "Cristofue", "cucaracheros", all the names are very colloquial and autochthonous. All of them are very surly, they only arrive when there are very few people and remain without making noise.

One rainy night, we found a little dove that was sheltering from the downpour, it seemed strange to us because they are habit forming. My husband took it and gave it food, it was very hungry, we put it in a cozier place and the next day it was gone. That happened more than a year ago and she keeps coming to the yard in the mornings and afternoons for the food we always leave for her.


20230903_201845.jpg

our rescued pigeon "palomino".


If we could understand them I know I would love their stories because they must be endless and I bet they are all very wise.

The photos are my property.

Translated from Spanish to English by DeppL ( free version)