Forgetting Things on Top of the Car (WE #188)

in Weekend Experiences5 months ago (edited)

Weekend Engagement Prompt


Have you ever gained or lost something or someone because of a habit (good or bad) of yours? No fictional writing, this must be a true story. Remember to use your own photos.


The short answer to this question is almost. I went through a phase where I was placing things on the top of the car as I was helping Gabby up into the car or buckling her into her car seat. Sometimes I would remember to take them down, but sometimes not. Of course, the times I forgot was the couple times that it was the keys to the house. The first time it happened, I even heard the keys slide down the back of the car and into a crevice where the rear windshield meets the top of the trunk. As I was driving, I thought to myself what was that noise? Then, when I arrived at my destination, I saw the keys miraculously still on the car.

Another time, a fellow driver was kind enough to honk at me and let me know the keys were on top of the car. I had to pull over in a safe spot to get them off the roof of the car. After the second incident with the keys, I decided my habit needed to change. I made a conscious effort to put the keys either in my pocket or fanny pack while helping Gabby into the car.

My most recent object forgotten on top of the car was Gabby's water bottle from school. I drove only a short distance back home before I heard the clunk of the water bottle toppling over. My new car is a Subaru Outback and I love that it has the cross bars on top. They serve as a reminder for me not to put things on the roof. As soon as my hand goes up to set the object on the roof, the cross bar serves as an excellent barrier that makes me snap out of my unconscious routine.

Sort:  

I kinda have a bad habit too, well you are already outgrowing the habit has your change of car has made it possible to do so

I'm curious what your bad habit is?
Haha yes the new car makes it more difficult to complete my previous bad habit, luckily.

My bad habits? Hmm I will have to think about it.
Yeah

Hello me lovely. 😊

Umm, speaking of lovely, your posts always are and they usually make me smile...something about the way you present the images (refer above) and the text of course. Always nice and always appreciated.

Thanks so much ૮ ˶ᵔ ᵕ ᵔ˶ ა I figure it's a little more artistic and presentable than a literal picture of keys on top of my car.

I appreciate it...and I'd appreciate it if you didn't put your keys on top of the car...it might damage the paint. Lol.

I'm working on it 😅

#WIP (Work in progress)

Stay the course. 🤪