Indoor Trinketcore (WE #189)

in Weekend Experiences4 months ago (edited)


Weekend Engagement Prompt


Outdoors or indoors this weekend, what's your preference and why? Remember to use your own photos.


Yesterday we got a small amount of snow in our area, which is pretty rare here on the Eastern Shore. The weather finally feels like winter and it's about 25 degrees Fahrenheit outside. The freezing cold weather, icy sidewalks, and gale warnings are keeping us inside today.

We received Candy Land for Christmas and have been playing literally twice a day for about a month now. It's a great game for kids learning how to play board games, but as you know, it can get pretty stale. We went grocery shopping at Walmart this morning and, knowing we'd be inside today, I decided to check out the board games they offered. Gabby and I recently started doing the I Spy books together, which made me nostalgic since I read those as a kid. I was happy to see they had an I Spy game at Walmart, so we ended up choosing that one.

I recently was researching the I Spy book series because I really liked the cozy, whimsical, and fun aesthetic of the photography. It was interesting to see how the photographer staged his photos and got into making these books. It turns out, the I Spy aesthetic has its own name: Trinketcore. Of course, I'm now a fan of Trinketcore along with other -core aesthetics like Cottagecore, Forestcore, Grannycore, Cabincore, and Fairycore.

I didn't only choose this game because of my love for Trinketcore; I saw it as an opportunity to teach Gabby about the concept of time. It's something we've struggled with for a long time. Her patience is definitely something we've been needing to work on. The sand timer that comes with the game allows players to take 15-second turns, and I thought this was a fun way to teacher her this concept.

The game turned out to be a lot of fun and I recommend it to any I Spy fans. Gabby got really into the game and there were even some tears when she couldn't accept that her 15-second turn was over. Patience is certainly a work-in-progress around here 😅

We went for a very short walk outside in the afternoon. We quickly headed home once our eyes started watering from the wind. Our day will be spent inside with me drinking coffee and Gabby drinking hot cocoa while I try to keep her entertained.

Thank you for reading my blog and happy weekend ✩₊˚.⋆☾⋆⁺⋆⊹

⊹♡ Laura

Sort:  

Gabby is cute and lucky to have a mummy who tries to keep her entertained no matter the weather.

Thank you, I try to get creative with what we have around the house ˶‘ ᵕ ‘˶

She cried! Poor Gabby.
She must have felt cheated. But that's fine. It'll take only a little while before your attempts at working on her patience are manifested.
You did well with the entertainment too

Yes, she gets upset when she has to wait for anything 😅 Everything is "Now, now, now!"