Weekend Experience: A Day Ends In A Cafe

I'm still waiting for summer, I'm waiting for the constant sunshine. It can caress me as much as I want. The saddest thing is that those jobs follow jobs wherever you wouldn't end up. And you have to tame the city, understand it, love it, well, not necessarily, but I need it. I am such a person that after working all day, being in the noise, among the multitude of ever-changing people, I want peace. I don't just want to eat, then lie in bed and finally get a good night's sleep... No, I understand life a little differently. I want to turn the evenings into a kind of compensation, although somewhat responsive to internal needs.

Therefore, I need some kind of quiet place which I do not find immediately. In the city where I currently work and live, I already have benches. I found them where I can sit after work. From one bench, I enjoy the view of the sea, the cafés are full of tourists - foreigners. From another, I watch the ships, I dream of where I sailed on them. Another bench stands in the deep shade of the trees, where it is always cool and windy, and I really need it. I have another favorite place, a small, compact old town, with various colorful small houses, narrow streets and sidewalks that you can barely get enough of walking. When I walk through these streets, I feel like I'm in a fairy tale adaptation.

I may have tamed these places, the benches, the eye-pleasing views, but soon there will be another city and everything will be all over again. Of course, there is a considerable advantage: getting to know a different city, area, and people more closely. And this weekend, after exploring small towns to our heart's content, we went to eat at Sef café in Kalamata. While I live here, in Greece, I like to visit different cafés and try new dishes, even though I have a favorite café near my house too. This time we combined the tastes of the children and the dishes we ate were not new.

There are no problems with food in Greece. You can go to any tavern and enjoy yourself, and now, along with family-run true taverns, there are many “fast food” establishments with grilled Greek food.

Café Sef has 2 establishments. One of them is located right on the Kalamata embankment. This is the main place, very popular among tourists and local young people, noisy, crowded, with a large outdoor area. The second point is located in a residential area, works, as I understand, mainly for takeout and fulfills on-site orders. We weren't there, we were just passing by. But we had dinner with the whole family at Sef on the embankment.

It’s not difficult to find, the café itself is located on the first 2 floors of a building on the first line, right on the embankment, across a narrow roadway from the city beach and walking area. The sign is large, although not bright.

You can eat in 2 places - on the 1st or 2nd floor of the café itself. There is not much space here, but there is a toilet, and somehow it’s a little more free. Mostly, locals hang out here. And across the road is their main location - an outdoor area, large, paved, with trees and lanterns. There are many tables of different sizes. Most tourists sit here. We decided to eat there too.

Café Sef does not have its own parking lot. But in Greece and Kalamata in particular, there are practically no dedicated parking lots anywhere, everything is narrow and compact. You should try to squeeze the car in by the side of the road on one of the neighboring streets.

The menu at Sef offers food in the Greek style. Kebabs from various meats, salad, gyros, and so on. And all this is so worthy of taste! And at the same time - without inflated prices and with large portions. It’s not for nothing that more than 50% of the visitors here are young locals. And local middle-aged families, including those with children.

We liked the food. Nourishing, tasty, adequate in quantity, affordable, without questionable ingredients or odors. The meat is soft, the vegetables are not limp, the tortillas are not dry or soggy. Therefore, despite the shortcomings in the form of long service and noise, I liked it. But just not for romantic get-togethers.

💝💝💝💝💝💝💝💝💝💝

With love @madeirane
Photos are taken by me.
© 2024