In the company of...

in Weekend Experiences13 days ago

"Whosoever is delighted in solitude is either a wild beast or a god." - Aristotle


The things I like to do and the activities I enjoy alone? Anything and everything!

Because if you can't understand or enjoy it when you're alone, then you can't really enjoy it with others.

Whatever I do, whatever I love, 9 out of 10 times I do it better when I'm alone. It's simply because my vicinity is unoccupied, and I don't have the responsibility or burden of another on my shoulders. This way it's much easier to tap into the flow state and get things done efficiently.

Now, of course, there are things better done with a team of people involved. Yet, a few extra people won't help much; unless there's unparalleled synergy involved. And I'm all in for team play and synergy.

Because...

If You Want to Go Fast, Go Alone. If You Want to Go Far, Go Together - African Proverb

And I know I'm in it for the long run. Yet, assembling the dream team takes time and quite a bit of luck; whether it be a team needed for work, or a group of people to share your hobbies, likes, and interests with.


PXL_20240429_200637442.PORTRAIT~2.jpg

ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉˢ ᵃⁿᵈ ᵒᵛᵉʳᵃˡˡ ᶜᵒⁿᵗᵉⁿᵗ ᵃʳᵉ ᵐʸ ᵒʷⁿ ᵘⁿˡᵉˢˢ ᶦᵗ'ˢ ᵐᵉⁿᵗᶦᵒⁿᵉᵈ


These days whenever I'm alone during my free time, I'm mostly pondering the matter of the present and future, and also evaluating my efforts, changes, and development over the past few years; the things that I've done right, and the things that went wrong.

Now, whether the outcome was right or wrong, fruitful or misfiring, there's always an underlying lesson to be learned in every experience.

For every milestone I've hit, for every achievement that I've secured, I have a souvenir that reminds me of that moment and journey. A token that gives me hope and confidence, to not fret about the future and what it holds.

Wherever I am now, and however I am now, if just two years ago someone had told me about my current state, I would have never believed them. Even if I did believe it, I would always have a sliver of doubt, floating around somewhere in my mind and heart.

So, these days during my free time, I sit down and appreciate what I have. The things I've learned, and how I can make better and more efficient progress from here on. Sometimes I take some of these souvenirs, whether it be a memory, a picture, a video, or an item, and appreciate the fact that my efforts weren't all in vain. It is kind of like a meditation session, one that keeps me grounded, yet hungry for more. It is that solitary wild beast, I guess, the one Aristotle mentions in his quote above.

A beast that is satisfied with how far it has come; yet, striving to do better every single day, out on the hunt with a better outlook and approach, the very next day.

These sessions are usually late at night when the world is sleeping, and it's the quietest of the 24 hours we have. It's around 2 AM to 3 AM, I reserve this moment for myself; at least once a month. I will have some sort of "soothing" music on, which in reality is considered quite hardcore; yet, it's quite soothing for my ears.

And I will ponder and reminisce, as long as my eyelids can keep up...



1.png


Sort:  

I think there is a kind of focus you usually have when you are alone doing what you love. I also do things well and better anytime I’m alone. At first, I thought this rule applies to only me

It applies to many, mine just works best when I'm working.